Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Sharks' Michalak suspended

    2012-02-15 15:09
    Durban - Sharks coach John Plumtree has made a couple of late changes to the side to play the Southern Kings at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on Friday evening.

    According to Sharks website editor Michael Marnewick, Charl McLeod replaces Frederic Michalak at scrumhalf which means that Cobus Reinach is elevated into the match 24 where he will play off the bench.

    Michalak has been found guilty for a late and dangerous tackle on Elton Jantjies in the Currie Cup final last year.

    Due to the fact that Michalak left for France immediately after the final, his hearing was delayed until the start of this season. The Judicial Officer was Dekker Govender and the Citing Commissioner Freek Burger.

    The hearing took place on Tuesday evening with the suspension valid for one week which makes him available to play as of 22 February.

    This means he will be eligible to play against the Bulls in next week’s opening game but misses Friday night’s match.

    Flanker Jacques Botes was also pulled out as a precautionary measure.

    Botes has an infection on his leg and it was felt that a more prudent decision on his inclusion would be to rest him this week so he would be ready for next week’s Super Rugby opener.

    “With the injury to Jacques Botes, it gives me an opportunity to play Marcell Coetzee at six where I think he could have potential,” said Plumtree.

    The decision to rest campaign captain Keegan Daniel was about giving other players a chance with Daniel having already got game time under the belt in the pre-season hit-out matches.

    “Keegan has played two full games, so I’m happy to give him about half a game and it gives Bismarck du Plessis an opportunity to captain the team which is good.”

    Marcell Coetzee will now play at six with Lubabalo ‘Tera’ Mtembu brought in at seven.


    Kings: TBA

    Sharks: 15. Riaan Viljoen 14. Odwa Ndungane 13. JP Pietersen 12. Tim Whitehead 11. Lwazi Mvovo 10. Patrick Lambie 9. Charl McLeod 8. Ryan Kankowski 7. Lubabalo Mtembu 6. Marcell Coetzee 5. Anton Bresler 4. Steven Sykes 3. Jannie du Plessis 2. Bismarck du Plessis (captain) 1. Dale Chadwick

    Subsitutes: 16. Craig Burden 17. Julian Redelinghuys 18. Wiehahn Herbst 19. Pieter-Steph du Toit 20. Ross Skeate 21. Keegan Daniel 22. Cobus Reinach 23. Meyer Bosman 24. Paul Jordaan.

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.