Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    James back at flyhalf

    2011-06-09 12:58
    Johannesburg - Butch James, who was on Wednesday included in the national training group, returns to flyhalf for the MTN Lions’ last Super Rugby match of the season against the Sharks at Coca Cola Park on Saturday.

    Coach John Mitchell is obviously planning the career of Elton Jantjies carefully. Jantjies moves down to the bench following good performances on the Australasian tour where he also regained his kicking excellence by missing only one from 16 attempts.

    James’ place at centre is taken by Alwyn Hollenbach, who is promoted from the bench. Captain Doppies la Grange remains at outside centre where he fitted in with ease when James was moved to inside centre on tour.

    Up front, the originally selected pack to start against the Hurricanes last weekend has been selected. Last weekend’s team was subsequently changed as Cobus Grobbelaar returned home because of a family bereavement.

    He is bracketed at flank for the Sharks match with Jaco Kriel, who was flown out as replacement for the Hurricanes match.

    At lock, Franco van der Merwe is expected to play after sustaining an eye injury last Saturday. He has however been bracketed with David de Villiers. If Van der Merwe is unfit for the Sharks match, De Villiers will start with David Bulbring taking his place on the bench.

    Another change on the bench is the selection of Michael Bondesio for Rory Kockott.


    15 Jaco Taute, 14 Dylan Des Fountain, 13 Doppies la Grange (capt.), 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Deon van Rensburg, 10 Butch James, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar/Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe/David de Villiers, 4 Wikus van Heerden, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg

    Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 David de Villiers/David Bulbring, 19 Warren Whiteley, 20 Michael Bondesio, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Michael Killian


    15. Louis Ludik, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Stefan Terblanche, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Keegan Daniel, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Gerhard Mostert, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Eugene van Staden, 2. John Smit (captain), 1. Beast Mtawarira        

    Substitutes: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Alistair Hargreaves, 19. Marcell Coetzee, 20. Frederic Michalak, 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22. Adrian Jacobs
    Read More On:  super 15 butch james lions

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.