Horwill punished for opinion?
Cape Town - SANZAR has completed an investigation into comments made by Reds captain James Horwill in an on-field post-match interview following the Reds v Rebels Super Rugby match in Brisbane last weekend.
The comment in question attributed to Horwill is: "In the end, once again we were robbed by a stupid refereeing decision."
SANZAR has referred the matter for a hearing in accordance with SANZAR's disciplinary rules.
In bringing this complaint, SANZAR will allege that the comment made by Horwill amounts to misconduct under Rule 10 of the SANZAR disciplinary rules and breaches the SANZAR Code of Conduct Section 8.3 (3) of the Super Rugby Tournament Manual, which reads as follows:"All persons shall not publish or cause to be published criticism of the manner in which a match official handled a match."
The matter will be heard by SANZAR judicial officer Nigel Hampton via teleconference next Tuesday.
Horwill was upset after Reds lock Ed O'Donoghue was sent off late in the game. Television replays appeared to show O'Donoghue running his fingers over Rebels skipper Scott Higginbotham's eyes as both players wrestled with each other on the ground.
Referee Steve Walsh took advice from the TMO and sent O'Donoghue from the field and awarded the Rebels a penalty which fullback Jason Woodward converted for a 30-27 win.
O'Donoghue was later in the week found not guilty
with the red card removed from his record.