Higginbotham gets off scot-free
Cape Town - A SANZAR Judicial Hearing
has found Scott Higginbotham of the Rebels not guilty of contravening Law 10.4
(b) Stamping or trampling after he was cited following a Super Rugby match at
No further sanction has been imposed on the player.
The incident occurred in the 50th minute during the match between the
Crusaders and Rebels at AMI Stadium in Christchurch on Friday, February 13.
The SANZAR Judicial Hearing was heard by Adam Casselden via video conference on Monday, February 16. David Croft was the former
professional player who attended as a Judicial Technical Adviser.
In his finding, Casselden ruled the following:
"After hearing from the player and Mr Tim North QC and watching the video
footage a number of times, I could not be satisfied on the balance of
probabilities that the player intentionally or deliberately stamped his
"I accepted the evidence of Mr Higginbotham that he was attempting to jump
over his opponent who was rolling towards him when he miscalculated his jump
and made accidental contact with the opponent's head.
"This evidence was consistent with the evidence of Mr McCaw who stated
that Mr Higginbotham immediately apologised to him after the incident saying it
was accidental. Mr McCaw accepted Mr Higginbotham's apology as genuine."