Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Ill discipline costs Jantjies

    2011-06-09 15:11
    Brenden Nel - SuperSport

    Johannesburg - Lions coach John Mitchell has punished flyhalf Elton Jantjies for breaking team protocol, and therefore returned Butch James to the flyhalf position for his side's last Super Rugby match of the season against the Sharks on Saturday.

    Mitchell indicated that Jantjies had missed a team appointment as the reason for the shift, where the young flyhalf was dropped to the bench for the game after some impressive performances on the tour to Australasia.

    While it was initially expected that the move was because of his poor defence, Mitchell offered a different explanation when announcing his team for the clash.

    "Elton broke team protocol while we were away so he has to face the consequences," Mitchell said in explaining the selection.

    "The leadership group made a decision about that, and that's the reason why Butch goes to 10."

    Asked to elaborate, he declined, and then did anyway.

    "No not at all, I think it's something that is kept within the team, and has more to do with punctuality. He missed an appointment."

    James's move was one of a number of changes as Cobus Grobbelaar returned to the openside flank position. Grobbelaar left the team early to return home because of a family bereavement.

    "He will start, he returned from New Zealand because of a family death and we've given him every opportunity to deal with that. He is now available,"Mitchell added.

    While Grobbelaar is bracketed with his tour replacement, Jaco Kriel, he will start the game. The same goes for Franco van der Merwe who has also been bracketed with David de Villiers. Mitchell is confident he will start the game but, if not, De Villiers is on standby to fill his position.

    Another change on the bench is the selection of Michael Bondesio for Rory Kockott.


    15 Jaco Taute, 14 Dylan Des Fountain, 13 Doppies la Grange (capt.), 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Deon van Rensburg, 10 Butch James, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar/Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe/David de Villiers, 4 Wikus van Heerden, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg

    Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 David de Villiers/David Bulbring, 19 Warren Whiteley, 20 Michael Bondesio, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Michael Killian

    15. Louis Ludik, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Stefan Terblanche, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Keegan Daniel, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Gerhard Mostert, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Eugene van Staden, 2. John Smit (captain), 1. Beast Mtawarira       

    Substitutes: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Alistair Hargreaves, 19. Marcell Coetzee, 20. Frederic Michalak, 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22. Adrian Jacobs

    Read More On:  super 15 elton jantjies

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.