Daniel to earn 50th Super cap

    2011-02-24 16:06

    Durban - Flank Keegan Daniel will earn his 50th Vodacom Super Rugby cap for the Sharks in the only change to the Durban team’s starting line-up for Saturday evening’s second round encounter against the Blues at Kings Park.

    Jacques Botes suffered a knock to the hip during last Saturday’s win over the Cheetahs, and has been bracketed on the bench with up-and-coming youngster Lambert Groenewald.

    In his place, Daniel will form a familiar back row combination with Ryan Kankowski and Willem Alberts, with this trio having successfully done duty during the Currie Cup last year.

    Stefan Terblanche will once again lead the team, with John Smit playing off the bench despite having overcome a calf strain, with Craig Burden dropping out of the match-day 22.

    JP Pietersen has also recovered from an injury niggle, and takes up a place on the bench in place of Adrian Jacobs - who earned his 100th Super Rugby cap last weekend.

    Sharks v Blues, Durban - 17:05


    15. Louis Ludik, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Stefan Terblanche (captain), 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Alistair Hargreaves, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. John Smit, 17. Eugene van Staden, 18. Anton Bresler, 19. Jacques Botes / Lambert Groenewald, 20. Conrad Hoffmann, 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22. JP Pietersen

    15. Isaia Toeava, 14. Joe Rokocoko, 13. Jared Payne, 12. Benson Stanley, 11. Rene Ranger, 10. Stephen Brett, 9. Alby Mathewson (captain), 8. Chris Lowrey, 7. Daniel Braid, 6. Jerome Kaino, 5. Ali Williams, 4. Anthony Boric, 3. John Afoa, 2. Keven Mealamu, 1. Tony Woodcock

    Substitutes: 16. Tom McCartney, 17. Charlie Faumuina, 18. Kurtis Haiu, 19. Luke Braid, 20. Toby Morland, 21. Luke McAlister, 22. Sherwin Stowers

    Read More On:  super 15 keegan daniel

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Add your comment
    Comment 0 characters remaining
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    06 March 2015
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, Waikato Stadium 08:35
    • Brumbies v Force, GIO Stadium 10:40
    07 March 2015
    • Blues v Lions, QBE Stadium 08:35
    • Reds v Waratahs, Suncorp Stadium 10:40
    • Cheetahs v Bulls, Free State Stadium 17:05
    • Stormers v Sharks, Cape Town 19:10
    13 March 2015
    • Hurricanes v Blues, FMG Stadium 08:35
    • Force v Rebels, nib Stadium 13:00


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    From which country will the 2015 Super Rugby winner hail?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.