Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Cheetahs 'protecting' Goosen

    2012-02-23 07:42
    Cape Town - The Cheetahs made sure they surround young flyhalf Johan Goosen with enough experience for their first Super Rugby clash against the Lions in Johannesburg.

    Therefore they decided to pick Tewis de Bruyn and Springbok Andries Strauss at inside centre to ensure there's enough experience inside and outside Goosen.

    Earlier reports indicated that the Pieter van Zyl would start at No 9 for the central union. Strauss was picked ahead of the strong Philip Snyman for the season-opener.

    "Had we picked Pieter and Philip in the starting team, our 9, 10 and 12 would have no Super Rugby experience in their positions," Hawies Fourie, the Cheetahs' backline coach, told Volksblad.

    Van Zyl and Goosen have never played Super Rugby before, while Snyman has only played at wing in Super Rugby.

    "The season is still young and everyone will get enough playing time, whether it's in starting team or from the bench. Pieter should get enough of a chance against Lions," said Fourie.

    He admitted that the coaching staff discussed the issue long and hard before a decision was made.

    Meanwhile, flank Lappies Labuschagné had to, as expected, withdraw due to a shoulder injury. He injured his shoulder playing for Shimlas against Maties in the Varsity Cup on Monday night. He is replaced by Philip van der Walt, with Bok Ashley Johnson still amongst the reserves.


    15 Jaco Taute, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Doppies le Grange, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 James Kamana, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Joshua Strauss (captain), 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Wikus van Heerden/ Hendrik Roodt, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

    Substitutes: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse/ CJ van der Linde, 18 Hendrik Roodt / Stephan Greeff, 19 Warren Whiteley, 20 Tian Meyer, 21 Butch James, 22 Lionel Mapoe.

    15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Rocco Jansen, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Davon Raubenheimer, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane

    Substitutes: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Lourens Adriaanse, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Pieter van Zyl, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Willie le Roux

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.