Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Milestone match for Brüssow

    2012-05-09 10:45
    Bloemfontein - Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has brought back scrumhalf Piet van Zyl for the Bloemfontein side's Super Rugby clash against the Stormers in Cape Town on Saturday.

    GALLERY: Cheetahs in training

    Veteran Tewis de Bruyn was the coach's choice for the Cheetahs' last couple of games against the Highlanders and Force, but De Bruyn struggled to provide any magic on attack.

    Drotske will be hoping Van Zyl's return will spark something special against a Stormers side that are the clear favourites for the game at Newlands.

    "Piet is a very good attacking player," Drotske said.

    "He made a big impact from the bench against the Highlanders and Force and hopefully he can do the same starting against the Stormers."

    Van Zyl's inclusion is the only change to the Cheetahs side that struggled to a 17-13 victory at home last week against the Western Force.

    Drotske has again backed flyhalf Sias Ebersohn, even though he missed four kicks at goal against the Perth-based side.

    "Sias did well, especially with all the pressure on him after missing that vital kick against the Highlanders (the week before).

    "He will be back and we are confident he will have a good game against the Stormers."

    Springbok centre Andries Strauss was cleared to play early on Wednesday after picking up a rib injury against the Force.

    Lock Andries Ferreira is also available after he was cleared on Tuesday of foul play. Ferreira was cited for a dangerous tackle on Force eighthman Matt Hodgson, but was later cleared of all charges.

    Heinrich Brüssow will be playing in his 50th Super Rugby match for the Cheetahs.





    15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Cameron Jacobs, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Willie le Roux, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Justin Downey, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 George Earle, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen

    Substitutes: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Andries Ferreira, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Riaan Smit, 22 Philip Snyman

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.