Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Brumbies change for Lions

    2011-05-12 09:26
    Canberra - The Brumbies have made four changes to their squad for Saturday's Vodacom Super Rugby match against the Lions in Canberra.

    Kick-off is at 11:40 SA time.

    According to the Brumbies' website, the team may still undergo changes, with Dan Palmer undergoing fitness tests on Thursday.

    In the second row, Ben Hand moves to the starting line-up with Mark Chisholm moving back to the bench.

    Henry Speight is also back in the squad, returning a week earlier than expected after working through an ankle injury he sustained against the Hurricanes in Week 8.

    The match will be a particularly memorable one for captain Matt Giteau who celebrates his 100th cap. In achieving that record, Giteau will become just the third ACT-raised player to reach 100 caps behind Stephen Larkham and George Gregan.

    Both the Brumbies and the Lions will be eager for a win on Saturday having had tough starts to their 2011 campaigns.

    The Brumbies returned from South Africa on Tuesday morning having gone through their tour without a win. They will be looking to turn their poor South African fortunes around with a win over the Lions.

    The Lions have won just one game in the last two years.



    15 Pat McCabe, 14 Andrew Smith, 13 Tyrone Smith, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 10 Matt Giteau (captain), 9 Josh Valentine, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 Colby Faingaa, 6 Mitch Chapman, 5 Ben Hand, 4 Peter Kimlin, 3 Jono Owen/Dan Palmer, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Ben Alexander

    Substitutes: 16 Huia Edmonds, 17 Salesi Ma'afu/Jono Owen, 18 Mark Chisholm, 19 Michael Hooper, 20 Patrick Phibbs, 21 Robbie Coleman, 22 Henry Speight

    15 Jaco Taute, 14 Lionel Mapoe, 13 Dylan des Fountain, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Deon van Rensburg, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Josh Strauss (captain), 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Wikus van Heerden, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg

    Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Kevin Buys, 18 Warren Whiteley, 19 Cobus Grobbelaar, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Jannie Boshoff
    Read More On:  super 15

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.