LIVE

    Aplon's pace leads to ref error

    2013-04-07 22:23
    Cape Town - Stormers wing Gio Aplon's unbelievable pace can be put down as a reason why a dubious Stormers try was awarded against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

    According to a report on the SA Rugby Referees website, the Stormers' second try by centre Juan de Jongh should not have been allowed, as hooker Deon Fourie was in an off-side position following a kick from Aplon.

    Late in the first half of the Super Rugby match at the Free State Stadium, Aplon launched an attack from his own 22m line. He chipped the ball and then re-gathered, before chipping the ball up-field again.

    VIDEO: Cheetahs v Stormers, highlights

    Stormers hooker Fourie was nearest to the ball but overran it. There were five other players ahead of Aplon when he footed it again towards the Cheetahs' goal-line. The ball then struck Fourie's legs when he was ahead of Aplon and rebounded back towards the Stormers’ side.

    Their prop, Steven Kitshoff, then gathered it and launched an assault on the Cheetahs line. The Cheetahs stopped him but conceded a penalty, upon which captain Jean de Villiers took a quick tap which eventually led to De Jongh's try.

    Referee Stuart Berry awarded the try, but according to SA Rugby Referees, he should have awarded a scrum to the Cheetahs instead. However, the report reveals that it was Aplon's pace which prevented the referee from making a correct decision.

    "The referee clearly did not have a good view of what happened," the explanation read. "When Aplon chipped the second time, the referee was left 20m or so behind play, which is understandable as many people are slower than Aplon and the kicked ball. Even Aplon got left behind!

    "The referee was at ground level and did not have a bird's eye view or a replay. Near the ball there were at least five pairs of legs and the action was quick.

    "Perhaps he could have guessed but referees believe that guessing is dishonest and imagine the uproar if he had guessed wrongly."

    According to the International Rugby Board's rules Barry could not have asked for a Television Match Official (TMO) replay because he had awarded a penalty to the Stormers after prop Kitshoff was tackled. However, had Kitshoff himself scored the try before the penalty was awarded, then the TMO could have been called into action.

    Despite De Jongh being awarded the try which put his side 15-7 up at half-time, the Cheetahs fought back to win 26-24.

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    125 comments
    Add your comment
    Comment 0 characters remaining
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read
    Commented
    /Sport

    Fixtures

    13 February 2015
    • Crusaders v Melbourne Rebels, Christchurch 08:35
    • Brumbies v Reds, Canberra 10:40
    • Lions v Hurricanes, Johannesburg 19:10
    14 February 2015
    • Blues v Chiefs, Albany 08:35
    • Sharks v Cheetahs, Durban 17:05
    • Bulls v Stormers, Pretoria 19:10
    15 February 2015
    • Waratahs v Western Force, Sydney 07:05

    Results

    02 August 2014
    26 July 2014
    19 July 2014
    12 July 2014
    11 July 2014
    06 July 2014
    05 July 2014
    04 July 2014
    28 June 2014
    27 June 2014
    31 May 2014
    30 May 2014
    24 May 2014
    23 May 2014
    18 May 2014
    17 May 2014
    16 May 2014
    11 May 2014
    10 May 2014
    09 May 2014
    03 May 2014
    02 May 2014
    26 April 2014
    25 April 2014
    19 April 2014
    18 April 2014
    12 April 2014
    11 April 2014
    05 April 2014
    04 April 2014
    29 March 2014
    28 March 2014
    22 March 2014
    21 March 2014
    15 March 2014
    14 March 2014
    08 March 2014
    07 March 2014
    01 March 2014
    28 February 2014
    23 February 2014
    22 February 2014
    21 February 2014
    15 February 2014

    Logs

    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Does the Waratahs' Super Rugby victory give the Wallabies an edge heading into the Rugby Championship?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    TAKE THE QUIZ
    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.