Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Aplon at 15 adds extra 'speed'

    2011-06-15 17:42

    Cape Town - The Stormers have decided to move Gio Aplon from wing to fullback for the Super Rugby derby against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

    Aplon replaced Conrad Jantjes in a backline that will also include the dangerous Juan de Jongh at inside centre instead of Jean de Viliers who moves to the wing.

    Allister Coetzee, the Stormers coach, said the selections for the weekend were as a result of a horses-for-courses policy.

    "At Bloemfontein there is a harder, quicker pitch which means that we may need extra speed coming from the back," said Coetzee.

    "With Aplon at No 15 it gives us another dimension on attack.

    "Jean (De Villiers) and Juan (De Jongh) have proved to be outstanding No 12s and it's important that you get your best players on the pitch for a match like this one.

    "Both have been playing really well this season and since it's a fast pitch we're preparing for explosive running along the backline."

    Stormers scrumhalf Dewaldt Duvenage did not train yesterday because he was feeling some stiffness in his upper legs.

    "We decided to rest Dewaldt today as a precaution," said Coetzee. "There is no injury concern, the break gives him a chance to shake off the stiffness but he'll be fine by Saturday."

    The Stormers seemed to made a break with the France-bound Ricky Januarie because he was not even named on the reserves bench and opted for rookie Louis Schreuder instead.


    15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Riaan Viljoen, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Barry Geel, 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Davon Raubenheimer, 7 Ashley Johnson, 6 Johan Wessels, 5 Martin Muller, 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

    Substitutes: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Lourens Adriaanse, 18 Izak van der Westhuizen, 19 Pieter Myburgh, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Corné Uys, 22 Riaan Smit

    15 Gio Aplon, 14 Jean de Villiers, 13 Jaque  Fourie, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenhage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw

    Substitutes: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 Anton van Zyl, 19 Nick Koster, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Johann Sadie, 22 Conrad Jantjes

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.