Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Alberts out of Newlands clash

    2012-03-01 11:32
    Cape Town - Sharks coach John Plumtree, in naming his starting line-up against the Stormers, has expressed the desire that not only will Saturday's derby match require commitment, but also the need to play clever rugby.

    According to Sharks website editor Michael Marnewick, there have been a few enforced as well as rotational changes, the pack taking on a slightly different look.

    "Upfront, we want to give Wiehahn Herbst an opportunity, he's had a really good pre-season and it's a good time for him," explains Plumtree. "It's the same with Ross Skeate who comes in to the second row. We've had to make a change amongst the loose-forwards obviously with Ryan Kankowski out and with Jacques Botes playing really well against the Bulls last week, he gets a chance.

    "It's disappointing for us that Willem Alberts hasn't made it this week, but Tera (Lubabalo) Mtembu has done pretty well in the pre-season, so it's an opportunity for him as well."

    Amongst the backline, there is just one enforced change at centre. "Fred Michalak gets another chance this weekend and hopefully it will go better for Pat Lambie. Unfortunately, Tim Whitehead is out with a groin injury so Meyer Bosman comes in with Marius Joubert named on the bench."

    With just one week's Vodacom Super Rugby action behind us, there is still time to provide a test of the team's depth, The Sharks coach explains. "It's still early days, just the second round and a good opportunity for the other guys."

    As with all South African derby games, another physical onslaught can be expected when the teams run at each other.

    "You have to bring physicality into the game, that's a big part of it," he adds. "But also being smart, making sure that we play in the right areas and in front of the gain line. Basic principles of rugby apply when you play against the big teams."


    15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nick Koster, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.

    Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Louis Schrueder, 21 Peter Grant, 22 Gerhard van den Heever

    15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Frederic Michalak, 8 Keegan Daniel (captain), 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Dale Chadwick

    Substitutes: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Lubabalo Mtembu, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Marius Joubert, 22 Paul Jordaan

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.