Vodacom Super 14

Spotlight on Brüssow successor

2010-03-11 22:49
Email | Print
Deon Stegmann (Gallo Images)

JJ Harmse

Pretoria – The vacancy left in the Springbok team due to the injury sustained by Heinrich Brüssow has shifted the focus to his possible successor.

After two productive years as an openside flank, the Bulls’ Deon Stegmann tops the list to take over from his former school- and team-mate.

In fact, he won his duel with his former Grey College class-mate when the Bulls and Cheetahs played in the opening round of the Super 14 this season. Stegmann also impressed against the Brumbies.

Coach Frans Ludeke gave Derick Kuün game time against the Waratahs, and in terms of an earlier agreement, Kuün will again start against the Highlanders at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday, with Stegmann set to start on the bench.

Kuün was impressive in his first game as an openside flank in two years and will be breathing down Stegmann’s neck as he gains confidence in the position. However, Stegmann definitely leads the national race.

“Our team is happy with the rotation policy and everyone has bought in to it. Everybody understands that the team comes first,” said Ludeke.

“Steggies is definitely in the picture, but the race for Brüssow’s place will play out over the next few months.”

The Highlanders have omitted loose forward Adam Thomson and flyhalf Michael Hobbs after they broke a team curfew.

Hobbs has been replaced by Mat Berquist and Thomson by Tim Boys.

Teams:

Bulls:
15. Zane Kirchner, 14. Gerhard van den Heever, 13. Stephan Dippenaar, 12. Wynand Olivier, 11. Francois Hougaard, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Fourie du Preez, 8. Pierre Spies, 7. Dewald Potgieter, 6. Derick Kuun, 5. Victor Matfield (captain), 4. Danie Rossouw, 3. Werner Kruger, 2. Gary Botha, 1. Gurthrö Steenkamp

Substitutes: 16. Bandise Maku, 17. Rossouw De Klerk, 18. Flip van der Merwe, 19. Deon Stegmann, 20. Pedrie Wannenburg, 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22. Jaco van der Westhuyzen

Highlanders:
15. Israel Dagg, 14. Ben Smith, 13. Kenny Lynn, 12. Jason Shoemark, 11. Fetu'u Vainikolo, 10. Mat Berquist, 9. Sean Romans, 8. Steven Setephano, 7. Alando Soakai, 6. Tim Boys, 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Josh Bekhuis, 3. Chris King, 2. Jason Macdonald, 1. Jamie Mackintosh (captain)

Substitutes: 16. Jason Rutledge, 17. Bronson Murray, 18. Hayden Triggs, 19. John Hardie, 20. Scott Cowan, 21. Robbie Robinson, 22. James Paterson

Your Comments

Molefe3/13/2010 9:57 PM
@GP, so watching him "cock-up" this weekend. Are you still going to try tell me how classy he is? Give me one example of where he was effective of crossing the advantage line? One example of him securing possesion from opposition ball? One thing he did, except for give away a really stupid penalty?
GP3/13/2010 9:15 AM
Well said Cheetah. As a non Bulls supporter I have to agree that the Bulls are a quality side. The way that they are playing at the moment, they will be difficult for any team to beat. I only wish that they could educate their supporters as they are a total let down to a quality team. (1lt Brandy, 2lt coke, 3lt Ford)
GP3/13/2010 9:07 AM
Oh please Molefe. D. Potgieter and K.Daniels are nowhere near Schalk Burgers class. Yes I admit he does make too many stupid mistakes but his work rate is exceptional. .
Molefe3/12/2010 8:53 PM
Unfortunatly I see Schalk (The Thug) Burger worming his way back into the team. Sure there are more over rated players in SA. But not many! The guy is a joke! He has completely the wrong body position to be effective at carrying the ball up over the advantage line. He should be called "Loop & Val" Burger, watch him this weekend against the Hurricanes. All they have to do is tap him on the shoulder and down he goes! The man is a joke! Dewaldt Potgieter, Dwayne Vermuelen, Juaan Deysel, Deon Stegman, Keegan Daniels, Ashley Jhonson.... Any one of these youngsters can play circles around SB. And none of them has his penchant for dirty play either! Of all the players in SA there are 3 absolutely filthy players. Mr eye gouger SB, Jannie du Plessis and Wickus Blaauw.
Bliiksem3/12/2010 5:43 PM
@ Anti-Bul :As jy dink die Bulls is so kak , hoe dink jy hoe kak is JOU span hey ? hehehehe .... en ek dink die rede hoekom jy so groot anti-Bul is , is omdat hulle jou sker op die pawiljoen gemoer het . Wens ek kon dit sien .. Bwhahahaha
BULLS!!!!!!!!3/12/2010 5:42 PM
@Anti Bull - Do you watch rugby? Stegmann is the best flank we have in bruss. place!!!! Wake up and try and see past all the cups at loftus...You must be a shark supporter........How about win a match in the super 14 this year and then come back to chat to the people that knows about rugby ...idiot!!!!
Cheetah3/12/2010 3:27 PM
I actually find it hilarious to see supporters of the Stormers and Sharks bad mouthing the Bulls. We are all South African but we cant support the other teams, I’ve always put it down as jealousy because lets face it…the Bulls are the most successful South African team and has been for the longest time. They are the ones that we (the other SA teams) measure ourselves against. The way they are playing now (15 man rugby) and not the traditional Bulls rugby plan of forwards only is starting to panic the other teams. If they continue like this I doubt they will lose a single game this year. I applaud the Bulls as they are the best SA team, and yes…I am silently jealous!
Fetcher3/12/2010 3:17 PM
I must agree with those that feel that there are better flankers then Stegmann.With these new law interpretation, the fetching flankers are struggling considerably, and Stegmann is an outright poacher.And you just have to look at the stats (www.ruggastats.co.za) that even the world's best opensiders (Smith, McCaw, Waugh, Brusouw etc.) are not turning the ball over as much as in the past.Especially if you look at Smith,McCaw and Waugh, who have dominated the breakdown stats for the last decade in Super Rugby, does not have the same stats now as in the past.However, I must add that the more versatile opensiders like George Smith have done extremely well because he is also very good with the ball in hand and highly skillful.Even Brussow runs well with the ball.McCaw and Waugh I feel is struggling a bit it seems as they have been quite quiet in the games they've played thus far. My point is, if stegmann wants to excel, he needs to work on his attacking game and be a good link with the backs.If not, well then unfortunately, he will just be another ordinary player in Super Rugby.
the Raconteur3/12/2010 3:09 PM
This is a no brainer. Pieter Louw is the best in this posision. Stegman's o.k. But he's no Heinrigh brussouw. Pieters the man for the job.Stegmans average.
Big Blue3/12/2010 2:26 PM
The anti-bull supporters are a joke..!! ...He he he ..!!
StuartW3/12/2010 1:45 PM
@Anti Bull....I do hope that you are not a WP/Stormers supporter, because if you are, please get yourself another team, you are a disgrace to the rest of us who actually understand rugby...your language is that of an uneducated man, please stop or go and watch soccer....
assegaai3/12/2010 1:29 PM
You guys are gonna see what happins at the end of this season... and I for can't wait (you guys are arrogant! - we all know how that ends?) OK... and Mr JJ Harmse... last year News24 deleted my comment about your baised column and baised comments, so i'll keep my cool... Bulls will not lose tommorow, but they will lose... and when they lose, life is gonna get tought for the boys in blue... wie laaste lag... lag die lekkerste. ps. Stegman has never even been on tour with the Springboks? Wake up JJ! What about Potties? Much better all round rugby player...
Malema3/12/2010 1:11 PM
Poppie I dont wanna see a dessed up team and we lose..... Give me the strongest BULLS team I dont care if they are white black Coloured Indian or what ever as long as we win......
Boet3/12/2010 12:47 PM
@Nr1WP Supporter - Don't play Superbru.
News24 Admin3/12/2010 12:23 PM
@ANTI BULL - PLEASE STOP WITH THE INSULTS OR YOU WILL BE BANDED FROM THE WEBSITE! THANK YOU
@poppie crous3/12/2010 12:06 PM
its sad that losers like yourself always wanna play the race card f...ing idoit!!!
Dofile3/12/2010 11:55 AM
Select Luke Watson..!! He is a quota player..!!
Poppie Crous3/12/2010 11:13 AM
What rotation system? The rotation system is NOT for the people of colour! Ludeke(and everyone one at the BB) is racist! He never gives the players or colour a change! Mangweni, Adams and Mametsa! Like really. I agree, youngeters must be given a chance but WHERE ARE THE YOUNGSTERS OF COLOUR???!!! He makes me sick, the Bulls r racist!!! All they do is sign players of colour so the "stats r ok", we want to see them on the field.
Anti bull3/12/2010 11:11 AM
@ William Shakespeare WTF????? Do you even have a f***n brain? If you put 2 many bulls in the springbok team they will be called Spring chickens you dumb F*ck, why don't stay off the internet and go jump your mother or sister since that is all your bulls are good for.(hopfully you don't have a brother - poor guy)
andre3/12/2010 10:56 AM
To all “Anti-Bull” supporters – The F1 starts this week-end, you can now watch that if you are not interested in supporting the most successful team in S.A. – the soccer will also be here soon…
Anti bull3/12/2010 10:17 AM
What about Duane Vermeulen this lad is not bad and has got a work rate like an ox. I feel he deserve a chance. There are much beter players out there than Stegman.
GRANT3/12/2010 9:48 AM
The Bulls fans have the results on record to back their comments. I definitely believe Stegman will be a Bok one day but not now, but time is definitely on his side, he is still very young, Pieter de Villiers will stick with the experience of Schalk, Juan Smith and Spies as the loose trio, this is the reality of it all
My Choice3/12/2010 9:35 AM
JJ Harmse must wake up - he cannot see through those blue glasses he is wearing. Kuun is not even an option. Just too much run around and no play. (If any play it ends up in either losing the ball, wrong option or a penalty for the other side) Grobbelaar the same. My choice would currently be Schalk Burger with either Francois Louw or Deon Stegman on the bench. P Div already said he would play Juan Smith on the other side
jh smith3/12/2010 8:51 AM
luke watson. he has turned the bath season around. he is the way to go.
Bok4life3/12/2010 8:50 AM
@sexbomb - im afraid schalk has passed his sell by date!! These younger lads are kicking @ss and taking names! I dont know if im wrong (someone please tell me otherwise) but my opinion is that these other flankers just have better work rate and much more precision than schalk has! ill agree i used to enjoy watching schalk play but after they reprimanded him for playing like a complete beast and destroying other teams he lost something!!
CJ3/12/2010 8:40 AM
Nothing against Stegmann, think he is a fantastic player with a bright future. . . but he and most loose forwards have been outplayed under the new laws by Vermeulen and F. Louw. Think if i was to pick the Bok loose trio it would be: 8)Spies 7)Smith 6)Louw/Burger
Luke Watson3/12/2010 8:38 AM
I'm Available!! I will wear the jersey with pride after swallowing imodium.
FIDEL CASTRO3/12/2010 8:16 AM
Nice JJ Harmse. Good to see that you are still the biased one eyed person that you always are. As if all of the players worthy of being selected for the Boks HAVE to come from Pretoria. Have you forgotten about the likes of Jaques Botes, or Cobas Grobbler, or Duane Vermulen, or Schalk Burger? Oh sherbit sorry, I forgot. They dont exist because they dont come from Pretoria.
WP Fan3/12/2010 8:15 AM
FRANCOIS LOUW TO REPLACE BRUSSOW
Cheetah3/12/2010 8:07 AM
Jacques Botes
Bous3/12/2010 7:59 AM
At the end of the season the province will be looking around to see who they can buy again and their famous words will be as in the past years - Check ons volgende jaar.
Bulla3/12/2010 7:57 AM
Yes, Deon Stegmann is the man..!! ...Schalk (yellow card) Burger is a has-been...
sexbomb3/12/2010 7:43 AM
Morning,Schalk still rules,they must find a predecessor for him,ja ek weet hy jaag nou en dan kak aan,maar hy gee sy alles,goodluck to all the SA teams this weekend,Sharks do us Stormers a favour and win(can't believe I am saying this)
William Shakespeare3/12/2010 7:37 AM
@Nr1WP Supporter: Dude, this is a rugby forum for genuine enthusiasts. Wild predictions and tongue-pulling wastes everyone's time. Look at the work of bulawayo-based-bok, for example, and try to copy his style. See how specific he is and how substantial his comments are. Hope this helps. Sincerely, WS.
William Shakespeare3/12/2010 7:26 AM
We are moving ever-closer to the Springbulls. That's why Frans Ludeke has a rotatation system in place: So that when the Springbulls are on national duty (i.e. the Bulls team puts on their green jerseys that hang next to their lovely blue ones) then he has a second team ready and waiting to get us into the Currie Cup semis. Any questions?
Fetcher Fan3/12/2010 7:24 AM
Stegmann adapted better to the new daylight rule than Brussow. He outplayed Brussow in the Bulls Cheetah derby. I would play two fetchers in the modern game, as Australia did in the Waugh and Smith era. Stegmann and Brussow ideally, but with the injury, Stegmann and Burger as destructor.
Blou oog3/12/2010 7:21 AM
Coming Semi's the country will back the Bulls at Loftus. @ Nr 1 WP supporter and Wake up! If WP and N tvl Rugby is strong and the contest close, springbok rugby florish. THe end of year tour should have learned us one lesson, we need Bakkies and Spies. Not to exclude Morne Steyn, FDP, Matfield. What do WP have to offer who came throw their ranks. Burger is a past ghost. Habana and Fourie the only stars who was products of the other unions. Bekker is 'n wing. For the past few years the only first start option is J de villiers. BUt as soon as the WP starts to win a game or two we are back at the old story. Watch us this season. Been their heard that and no result.
domsie3/12/2010 6:45 AM
Nr1WP Suporter I dont know what you are smoking but but it is affecting your brain???????
Big Dog3/12/2010 6:22 AM
Nr 1 WP Supporter - cut back on the medication - Hilton Lobberts ?? Maybe a third choice tighthead not open side flanker.
Leon3/12/2010 5:44 AM
Yes Nr 1, and piggs can fly! Such a stupid comment. Get a life, but first, get out of your room!!
19th Hole3/12/2010 5:39 AM
@Nr1WP Supporter...buddy, I am also a Province supporter, but WTF? buddy, stop making us all look like idiots...
Dank3/12/2010 5:31 AM
Nr1WP Supporter,you obviously know not much about rugby,just like that ''boxwine'' team of yours. I wont say nothing, just watch the game and see. My condolences, ''Nr1".
Tommygun3/12/2010 2:32 AM
Stegmann is top of the list without a doubt. Nr1WPSupporter pull up your pants and give your mouth a chance! Doos!!!!
Wake-up!3/12/2010 1:30 AM
Brussow was anyway net teidelik in Schalk se plek.Luister julle nie na Snor,die man in beheer nie?Thanks god jul kies nie die Bokspan nie want dit sal net blouholle wees waar jy kyk!Schalk het,soos meeste spelers beleef,n swak 2009 gehad maar sou anyway Brussow replace het SO Div soek net n reserwe no 6 flank.Stegman is goed maar met daai krimineel Kuun wat voor hom gekies is weet ek nie.Kom in elkgeval weg met die 6 en 6 ding dis k#k! Hul kan kies wie hul wil solank hul oe net oopgaan en ou hulpelose Spies "verbande" uitgooi!@NR1 WP Supporter dis n mooi droom,daai telling,maar ek glo nie!
martin3/12/2010 1:07 AM
Francois Louw is way better than Stegmann!!
bulawayo-based-bok3/12/2010 12:46 AM
hahaha......u wish loudmouth and Nr1WP supporter, i agree with Vermeulen and maybe Flo but Britz and Lobberts???......come on man, this is a serious rugby website :):)......and loudmouth Grobbelaar is only capable of producing good games, he never sets the world alight with his play, derick minnie is a possible contender.......he has been playing like a man-posessed recently!!!
Nr1WP Supporter3/11/2010 11:41 PM
I am back to educate the bulls Any of Schalk Burger Pieter Myburgh Conraad Britz Francois Louw Hilton Lobberts Duane Vermeulen and Pieter Louw is far better than Stegman. The Bulls were lucky in their previous games. Otago Highlanders will runn you to pieces, you will loose the next 4 rounds of the competition!!!!! Shame and you dont know it!!! OHighlandrs 43 Bulls 12
loudmouth3/11/2010 11:25 PM
Its time for cobus grobelaar. its time for the loins captain to show his mettle for his country. even better than stegmann,
bulawayo-based-bok3/11/2010 10:56 PM
Stegmann is as good in the loose as Brussow, but as yet isn't quite as good on the ground as the breakdown bonanza :)......and i like this whole rotation business saving Wannenburg n Steggies, the bulls should take this at a canter esp. with the landers being without Cowan, Thompson and Hobbs.......BULLS BY 11
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide