Vodacom Super 14

Smit to prop Sharks scrum

2010-03-11 14:17
Email | Print
John Smit (Gallo Images)

Gavin Rich

Durban - The need to give all the players the game time they want has seen the Sharks shift John Smit back to tighthead prop for Saturday’s Super 14 clash with the Brumbies in Canberra.

Smit captained the side from hooker when the Sharks went down narrowly to the Waratahs in Sydney last week and on the televised evidence he is starting to head back to the condition that made him one of the best No 2s in the world when he captained the Springboks to World Cup glory in 2007.

However, Bismarck du Plessis was the Springbok starting hooker for much of the past two years, and after sitting on the bench last week, he was due another start in this game. His return is at the expense of his brother, Jannie, who played tighthead last week and drops to the bench.

Ironically, this time last year there was pressure on Sharks coach John Plumtree to give Smit game time at tighthead prop as it was deemed to be in the national interests. Prop was where Springbok coach Peter de Villiers wanted to field him in the series against the British and Irish Lions.

It is understood that has changed this season, as the Boks have taken cognisance of how much better the scrum went when Smit was returned to hooker with BJ Botha at tighthead in the final test of 2009 against Ireland in Dublin. It is anticipated Smit will wear the No2 at international level again this year, but now he finds himself flitting between his preferred position and tighthead.

The virtually unchanged Sharks team is a vote of confidence in the combination that produced a much improved performance in Sydney. Wing Odwa Ndungane and reserve flank Rory Kockott have both recovered from minor injuries that prevented them from training fully this week.

Andy Goode continues at flyhalf, which means that Ruan Pienaar is getting another chance to get reacquainted with his old scrumhalf jersey. However the partnership may not last for long as it has been learned that Goode will not be available for the Sharks after they return to South Africa due to the procedure that would have to be followed to secure him a work permit.

Teams:

Brumbies:
15. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14. Pat McCabe, 13. Stirling Mortlock, 12. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Francis Fainifo, 10. Matt Giteau, 9. Josh Valentine, 8. Stephen Hoiles (captain), 7. George Smith, 6. Rocky Elsom, 5. Mark Chisholm, 4. Ben Hand, 3. Salesi Maafu, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Ben Alexander

Substitutes: 16. Huia Edmonds, 17. Guy Shepherdson, 18. Justin Harrison, 19. Mitchell Chapman, 20. Patrick Phibbs, 21. Matt Toomua, 22. Tyrone Smith

Sharks:
15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Adrian Jacobs, 12. Riaan Swanepoel, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Andy Goode, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johann Muller, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. John Smit (captain), 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Beast Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Jannie du Plessis, 18. Alistair Hargreaves, 19. Jean Deysel, 20. Keegan Daniel, 21. Rory Kockott, 22. Waylon Murray

Your Comments

Anti bull3/12/2010 9:11 AM
Smit should call it a day he is not at his best which I think has long gone find someone else. I think he is as much of the sharks problems as the coaching staff.
Obvious3/12/2010 9:03 AM
Ffs why are we losing another flyhalf?? Hernandez, Dumond, Pienaar, Goode, that Steyn lighty... Are we seriously looking for number 6 now? After 4 games?
Blue Jake3/12/2010 8:02 AM
@Christopher Marlowe. You are right, we do sometimes snort drugs at a brothel during away games. The one where your mother works is our favourite since it's the cheapest.
Nathan3/12/2010 7:52 AM
Once again, week in and week out another Bulls supporter shows why all the other teams disrespect them. The Bulls team is a bunch of good okes, brilliant players but never in my life will I shout for them, Why?? Because of their fans. Sharks for life, win or lose. Let's hope the ref has read his manual this week.
Chris in Oz3/12/2010 12:25 AM
With a hooker on the one side and an underperforming prop on the other, I can only see the Sharks pack going backwards at a rate of knots. This will make Ruan Pienaar look bad. So they'll move him to flyhalf where he is about 10% as effective as at scrumhalf. And I suppose the arrogant, useless Kockott will again be scrumhalf. How do the Sharks anticipate improving in this years S14?
William Shakespeare3/11/2010 9:57 PM
@George" Thank you for the kind words! Best of luck for the rest of the season. @Learner: No, the Bulls supporters are the most sophisticated of all. We even have our own Costume Department for those attending live theatre at the Palace of Rugby. @ Christopher Marlowe: Touche! You will be a writer yet! @VicJ: Why is our stadium lousy? Which is yours? And wha's wrong with a delicious glass of lovely Klipdrift and ice, coloured with a drop of Coca-Cola? @jannie: Nee, ons slaan nie ons vroue nie... anders wie sal vir ons ons bier skink? Aarde toe val? Ja, beslis. Ons verdedeging kan verbeter. @Jimbo: I'll write a sonnet if and when we raise the Super14 chalice! @ JonJacobJingleHeimerSchmidt:I am SO glad to hear you don't throw bottles at your TV sets. Huge relief to hear that in your homes you act nice and civilized. Keep it up! @Kudu: Ja nee, heeltemal verstaanbaar. Dis wat passie doen. @Dean: Thank you for cautioning me not to be smug. It's just that, right now, we Bulls supporters have a lot to be smug about. And the "drunk" Bulls supporters that you see are just play-acting to irritate the non-Bulls supporters who have little to cheer about! Fooled ya! @WTF?!? As soon as I have noticed that the Sharks supporters have desisted from bottle-throwing, I will pat them nicely on the head (figuritively of course!)
Sharks supporter3/11/2010 8:15 PM
In the 2007 Super 14, the Sharks had won their first six games in a row when we faced the Brumbies in Durban. The game was all over by half time, we lost miserably. So this time we will turn the tables after four staight losses - I don't see it happening with this Sharks team, sorry. Some of the foul comments / vuil taal on this site should not be published, it is an embarassment for any rugby supporter.
Ban corry3/11/2010 8:02 PM
Can sombody please ban corry he makes me think of J Malema the way he wrights and its just rugby we all know Smits best position is hooker but until they fire Plumtree he will stay there he probably promised Bismark he will start 90% of the season so that he would stay with the Sharks and not walk of to Province. Quess who shot him self in the foot.
Scottie3/11/2010 6:52 PM
SluimKAT. Dit is nie moeilik om van jou naam af te lei dat jy 'n Stormer ondersteuner is nie en op die walle van Soutrivier bly nie. As jy meer uitroeptekens gebruik sal dit beter wees want dan hoef 'n mens minder van jou snert te lees.
Terry3/11/2010 6:48 PM
Why? Why is Jean Deysel on the bench? :(
Jubulani3/11/2010 6:15 PM
Corry Watch your mouth, it's public forum
ruggabugga3/11/2010 6:11 PM
Smit must throw the towel in while he is still in the middle on the way down, otherwise he is going to cost the Sharks and the Bokke.He was good, but at this time there is a lot better and they need to be played.If he stays, 2011 could be an embarassing defense for us!
Corry3/11/2010 5:53 PM
oh christ, we're fkd! Smitty is NOT and I repeat, NOT a good enough S14 or International class prop. Bismarck will probably give away a few penalties and then get binned. But, alas, must still support the boys. Go sharks!
gee3/11/2010 5:08 PM
this site is for constructive criticism, not a slanging match between adults about the team you support. If you havent got anything nice to say then don't say it !!
Mark3/11/2010 4:24 PM
Go Smittie, if you play Prop, Hooker, Fly-Half or Wing, i doesn't matter to me, as long as you are there to captain the team, I'm fine by it
@Sharklands3/11/2010 4:20 PM
I'm afraid it's curtains for at least the Sharks for this year... don't worry Banana boys, we still support you.
BULL SUPPORTER3/11/2010 4:03 PM
Just wanna ask all the other teams' supporters to please ignore my fellow bulls supporters. Even I do not know what to say anymore. Go Bulls?, without pissing everyone off.
Mike3/11/2010 3:58 PM
Cristopher.......now that sir is a sense of humour....bravo
champ3/11/2010 3:58 PM
Bismarck is nogsteeds my HERO...ek love hom!!!
SluimKAT3/11/2010 3:58 PM
SHARKS Listen UP !!!!!! JUL SUCK MAN!!!! JULLE MA'S!!!! EN BULLE WORD GROOT JUL IS STOEPID MAN JULLE SPAN BESTAAN UIT MENSE MET VOEL KOPPE (MALLITS) Kom NET REG MAN!!! STORMERS IS DIE BESTE
Dean3/11/2010 3:52 PM
@William Shakespeare...well done William aren't you special. Just remember, what goes up, must come down.....let's see how many of your arrogant, smug posts we see here when that happens. Oh and BTW if that's what Bulls supporters do during away games, then who were all those blue painted, nose ring and mining hat wearing drunken bums staggering around the beachfront just before last years clash at ABSA at 11 in the morning?? Obviously not REAL Bulls supporters?
Sharklands3/11/2010 3:50 PM
If BB supporters live behind the "boerwors curtain",then the Lions supptrs live behind the biltong curtain and Cheetahs supprts live behind the mielies curtain and of WPeners live behind the snoek fish curtain and obviosly the sharkies live behind the banana curtain......at leats everyone is got a curtain...
WTF?!?3/11/2010 3:47 PM
@william shakespeare Pleeeeaaaase, just get over yourself.... !!!
Dean3/11/2010 3:47 PM
@William Shakespeare...well done William aren't you special. Just remember, what goes up, must come down.....let's see how many of your arrogant, smug posts we see here when that happens. Oh and BTW if that's what Bulls supporters do during away games, then who were all those blue painted, nose ring and mining hat wearing drunken bums staggering around the beachfront just before last years clash at ABSA at 11 in the morning?? Obviously not REAL Bulls supporters?
wiledog3/11/2010 3:46 PM
to all those high and mighty, self-righteous Shark fans, dissing the Bulls the whole time. get off your high horsies.... just remember how YOU behaved earlier - throwing stuff a the ref and all.... wonder who the real scumbag thugs are...
KUDU3/11/2010 3:42 PM
@ william s ek weet van bb ondersteuners wat regtig hul tv stukkend gegooi het waneer die bulle veloor het.,
goose3/11/2010 3:41 PM
WTF does the du plessis brothers know about discipline. Drop them, play smit, beast botha
Sharks supporter3/11/2010 3:39 PM
John Smit should rather retire now and become the spokesperson for Kentucky Fried Chicken. LOL The guy is seriously obese!!!!
JonJacobJingleHeimerSchmidt3/11/2010 3:37 PM
@shakespeare, yeah that's right, climb that high horse of yours. In your little spiel, you forgot to add 'waving blue flags so no one can get a good view of the game'. And no, we don't throw bottles at our TV sets.
Thumbtree3/11/2010 3:35 PM
AND THE WEAKEST LINK IN THE BOK AND SHARK-TEAM IS, ........JOHN SMIT..!!
@ Vic J3/11/2010 3:34 PM
Why are you in pups in Pretoria, could you not find enough dogs where you come from?
Jimbo3/11/2010 3:31 PM
@Will...nobody will react to your blatant attempts at starting an argument because they are not in sonnet form (www.wikipedia.com/sonnet to look it up) I don't know why the Sharks keep persisting with John at tight head when he has been picked apart in that position by superior opposition on numerous occasions. I still think he is a world class hookers though! I'm glad Jannie is sitting out of the action after his yellow card for what was a stupid move on his part. Both Du Plessis brothers need to control their tempers or choose a different career as far as I'm concerned!
jannie3/11/2010 3:24 PM
@WILLEM WILKKELSPIES... en dan slaan jy jou vrou omdat jy te veel bier "gesip" het?... moenie simpel wees nie man, julle gaan nog hard aarde toe val
Vic J3/11/2010 3:18 PM
@Willy, your mother either dropped you on your head as a baby or you are a moffie. I've been at your lousy stadium and also in pups in Pretoria and before/after it's klippies and coke all night
Sharkie jr3/11/2010 3:15 PM
Go Sharks, rain or snow SHarks forever!!!!
@William3/11/2010 3:13 PM
At least is die sharks nie so common soos die BULLE nie!
champ3/11/2010 3:13 PM
Bismarck is my hero!!!!
Christopher Marlowe3/11/2010 3:11 PM
I was just wondering... what do Bulls supporters do during the "away" games? Do they snort drugs in a brothel while watching the game - as Bulls players do in their free time? We Sharks supporters have a braai in the garden while watching the rugby, possibly sipping a beer or two. Then after the game we discuss how the boys have failed to step up this year, and how the hell Paul Marks could ever be allowed to ref a rugby match again! But as us Sharks supporters are such a jovial bunch, we don't let the result get us down. All in all, it's a good afternoon with family and friends.
Sluimhond3/11/2010 3:11 PM
Die beste span in die hele wereld is NATUURLIK die STORMERS
Learner3/11/2010 3:10 PM
Clearly William Shakespere is from behind the "boerewors curtain"! Maybe you do but not everyone!
George3/11/2010 3:05 PM
Hoekom koop John Plumtree oorsee se spelers om geel kaarte te kry terwyl een van sy beste spelers (Kockett) langs die kant moet sit?
Gerrit3/11/2010 3:02 PM
Sorry vir julle, Sharks. Hopelik sien die powers-that-be wat met die Sharks gebeur het in S14 2010 waneer hulle die Springbok voorry kies.
George3/11/2010 3:01 PM
Hey William, I like your mail I am a sharks supporter, but the behaviour at Kings Park is not acceptable. Like your lunch scenario, in your dreams maybe?? or are the bulle mense becoming soft? Always had a spot for the bulls, when they graciously accepted Natal's first CC in 1990.
Floppy3/11/2010 2:55 PM
When will these poeple ever learn that John Smit is NOT a tight-head prop..? He should retire with immidiate effect..! .. .
Buffalo3/11/2010 2:54 PM
As long as there is a Du Plessis in the side,selected or on the bench, I will not support the Sharks.
Grant3/11/2010 2:54 PM
They can do what they like they still suck!
Grant3/11/2010 2:47 PM
They can do what they like they still suck!
Fred3/11/2010 2:47 PM
When will the Sharks learn. Smit is not a prop & will never be a prop. By playing him there, the whole team is put under pressure. You choose your best players in each possition, & if your captain is not chosen as part of that team, YOU CHOOSE A NEW CAPTAIN. I'm sorry to say but the Sharks are going to lose many more games like this!!!
Shark3/11/2010 2:40 PM
Ag nou gaan ons alweer verloor.
William Shakespeare3/11/2010 2:26 PM
I was just wondering... what do Sharks supporters do during the "away" games? Do they throw bottles at their TV sets? (We Bulls supporters sit nicely in front our television sets with our friends and families, have a lovely lunch, drink a toast to our team, then sip perhaps one or two beers through the course of the game, then compliment the victor at the end (no pun intended), perhaps drink another toast if we have won the game, then put the empties into the recycle bin.)
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Jakob Lensiesop 9/3/2010 10:05:06 AM

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Vote

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.