Vodacom Super 14

Plumtree threatens suspension

2010-03-09 23:31
Email | Print
John Plumtree (Gallo Images)

John Bishop

Sharks head coach John Plumtree says he will suspend his players if they are yellow-carded in future Super 14 games.

Plumtree was reflecting on his team’s 25-21 loss to the Waratahs in Sydney when two Sharks players, prop Jannie du Plessis and flyhalf Andy Goode, were sin-binned in the first half. The Sharks have now had five players yellow-carded in four games and Plumtree said this was unacceptable.

“I was very annoyed with our discipline and have been for a while,” Plumtree told the Sharks website. “I read the riot act to the guys in our post-match analysis on Monday night.”

Plumtree said he would take action against players who are sin-binned in the future.

“I told the guys that the next player to get a yellow card gets a red card from me. When you are down on your luck, and trying really hard to get out of a hole, you can’t then make it tougher for the team by getting yourself binned. It is just silly and stresses the team unnecessarily.

“This has been creeping into our game now for a while and it has to stop right now. We were always a side that prided itself on discipline both on and off the field.”

The Sharks met the Brumbies in Canberra on Saturday and then head back across the Tasman ea to New Zealand to play the Hurricanes and Highlanders in their last two tour games.

Plumtree admitted “the big decisions” that had gone against the Sharks in the final three minutes – the knock-down of Stefan Terblanche’s pass and the penalty for lineout obstruction - had “seriously cost us”

“Everybody has been talking about the slap-down of Stefan’s pass to Ryan which would have been a try but for that act of cynical play from Kurtley Beale. There was also a pass to Bismarck du Plessis that was called forward which on analysis was shown to be legitimate and again we would have scored.”

He added that there are decisions in rugby that can be controlled, like discipline, and others that are beyond the players” control.

“We have to move on from decisions that don’t go their way and which crop up every now and again and are a part of the game.

“It happens and we are not focusing on it in our post-match analysis.”

From the playing point of view he said there were signs that the Sharks were starting to improve but they were still not accurate enough.

“If you can keep hold of the ball and remain accurate with it, enough to take advantage of the quicker ruck ball, you can really put the opposition under immense pressure and eventually tire them out.”

He was also encouraged by the character in the team which had seen the Sharks fight back from 25-14 down against the Waratahs to almost win the game.

“We will just carry on fighting until we get that first win and hopefully then get on a roll.”

The Sharks have been boosted by the arrival of tall lock Alistair Hargreaves as back-up to Johann Muller and Steve Sykes but flank Keegan Daniel could be ruled out of Saturday’s game with concussion.

Daniel took a knock to the head against the Waratahs and will undergo a concussion test later in the week.

Wing Odwa Ndungane is also being troubled by a slight hamstring strain.

Saturday’s match against the Brumbies is at 10.40 am and will be handled by rookie New Zealand referee Garrat Williamson, who is from SANZAR’s reserve panel.

Your Comments

dronkie3/10/2010 3:47 PM
Luckily Schalk plays for the Stormers
@Bulls fan forever3/10/2010 3:24 PM
Shame, jy't ook maar min tussen die ore. @Ghwappie steek die draak (dit beteken 'spot') met vriend en vyand. En hy het dit goed gedoen
Bulls fan forever3/10/2010 3:05 PM
@Dragonpig. Way to throw stones from you glass house mate. What makes you qualified to testify that 90% of Bull supporters are to be disliked. Have you interviewed all of them? Pathetic! The way you people comment about Bulls fans is why WE hate YOU! There is only two words that comes to mind to describe you: INFINITE LOSER !!!!
BB3/10/2010 2:55 PM
@Robert Your last post proves exactly what I said in my first post. Yes I have been to Kings Park-you can actually enjoy your rugby there. The rubbish that you posted plus the name calling actually proves that "most" (not all) BB supporters sink to your level. By the way you still can't spell - Lulius Malema who is he???
SHARKs FOREVER3/10/2010 2:41 PM
@ Dragonpig - 100% spot on - bulls rugby good to watch....but that is all that is good about the bulls !!!....the Sharks will rise again ....
@ BB3/10/2010 2:40 PM
You sound just as cleaver as Lulius Malema. As Malema, you talk alot, but say very little and what you say is utter bull****. Crimenals damage cars, not RUGBY supporters. Have you ever been to Ellispark and Kingspark my friend. Alcohol flow more freely there than at Loftus, but hey - I suppose that wouldn't suite your little asshole story. Let me try and explain it to you this way asshole: The supporters of all 5 SA team are exactly the same - all comprise of some assholes (like you), some drunks, some cry babies always blaming the Ref and 90% wonderful or passionate supporters. The only difference is some support a winning team and some a loosing team - that also change year by year. It seems you might be one of those bad looser type of supporters backing a loosing team this year - always blaming the Ref, bad mouthing other teams, etc. Get a life asshole and please mature.
William Shakespeare3/10/2010 2:35 PM
@ Blue Jake; Ghwappie: Two Noble Kinsmen indeed!
Dragonpig3/10/2010 2:14 PM
@Robert Firstly learn to speak english before you decide to laugh at the sharks, right now anyone with half an education (so that includes Bulls supporters ;-P) is laughing at you, "through" = "throw" and "peopel" = "people" Now all that aside I actually enjoy watching the bulls this year, JP Nel and Marius Delport were the 2 players I hated in that team and with them not playing I find it easier to watch, I will never be a fan of the franchise nor of their supporters (their rugby is good but 90% of the fans are so full of bull [pun intended] that even the 10% that are decent people are looked at as A-holes, this is why all other supporters hate you). I am a sharks supporter but it's difficult to watch them continually shoot themselves in the foot. We can blame the ref, sure, he was TERRIBLE! But lets not be ignorant fools and say thats the only reason we lost. Every ref will make bad decissions, unfortunately his were all in crucial areas, but lets quote that old cliche "don't leave it in the referee's hands." Lets not be childish about it, we made too many mistakes. Sharks supporters, nut up or shut up. Bulls supporters we'll hear you squeal soon about a ref , and when that time comes try be MEN about it and concede that your team occasionally does lose without foul play by the ref. Now that being said, fantastic idea coach Plumtree. I would put one clause in there however, if for instance a player is yellow carded for something unintentional then obviously he doesn't deserve a suspension, That trip by Jannie was ridiculous, why would you do that, it's not even as though he was trying to win the ball ilegally or anything that would have helped the sharks somehow. Those sort of things definately deserve a suspension
BB3/10/2010 1:23 PM
@Dianne- Been through the same thing here in PTA. Had my car badly damaged by some Blue Bull supporters, it's a disgrace!! Don't go to Loftus anymore because most of the BB supporters are so tanked up before the match, that by the time that they get to their seats, they don't even know anymore where they are, never mind at a rugby match. @Robert You sound like the typical BB supporter, are you smoking your socks? Learn to spell before posting such drivel!!!
Bulls fan forever3/10/2010 12:52 PM
@SHARKY. So says the one who is the most likely to be one !!!
SHARKY3/10/2010 11:51 AM
@BULLS FAN FOREVER....YOU'RE GAY !!
White flag sharks3/10/2010 11:50 AM
I don’t think we can expect to see one sharks player in the Springbok team this year ???? if they stop playing the man, like the du Plessis brothers, which I think can point to being gay, instead of playing the ball, they might as well hoist the white flag??
Bulls fan forever3/10/2010 11:26 AM
@Ghwappie. That Liefling story is getting old like a vrot pampoen. To clarify, the song was Derick Hougaard's favourite song and the words are immaterial. What if Liefling was sang by a woman? If his favourite song was "Delilah" would it have made a difference because woman sang to it as well? Men as well as woman sang to it at Loftus, so it is also of no concern here who sings it. Get over your gayish behaviour and your obvious jealousy of the best there is: The Bulls.
Selma3/10/2010 11:16 AM
Jannie and Bismarck are loose cannons. I am not suggesting that one should allow oneself to be bullied or intimadated on the field but these players need some anger management. The Bulls seem to have the answer and do not allow themselves to be suckered or drawn into fights by their opposition. Maybe Bismarck and Jannie need to do a Bakkies and rather compliment the instigaters in the opposition on their 'lovely blue eyes' or plant a wet one on them - that will teach them. It is easy to critizise from the sideline. The overseas teams are getting away with murder by not releasing tackeled players, interfering with players without the ball, especially in the rucks. They are targetting our players who have a reputation for short fuses, such as Schalk Buger and the Du Plessis..........
Blue Jake3/10/2010 11:16 AM
@Ghwappie. He he he he he he he. Very very sharp. 10 Points for you.
Koos Kots3/10/2010 11:10 AM
HAHAHA Koos ek sou ook op jou kots my broer, jou patetiese naai, jy het dit verdien om op gekots teword....Hardlines
Rag3/10/2010 11:04 AM
Its a sad day in South African sport when fellow South Africans get a kick out of seeing one of their provincial teams losing. I'm a sharks supporter but support the other SA provincial sides when they aren't playing the Sharks. Anyway to all those nay saying non-sharks supporters, how sad is your life that you have to post comments on an article that isn't even about your team. Please find a hobby.
Boondokker3/10/2010 11:03 AM
Interesting comments about sharks supporters behaviour at home games. Let me tell you that my mates and I (staunch sharks supporters) have not been to the stadium this season because we have become embarrassed by the treatment of visiting teams and thoroughly hacked-off by the general loutish behaviour of sharks supporters. Frankly, I didn't know that so many yobs lived in Durban.
Navarac3/10/2010 11:01 AM
Hopefully Plumtree has a rethink because the ref's interpretation is not always compatable with the (losing side's?) coach.
Rugby1013/10/2010 10:32 AM
Good concept.............................Tough decision. I think it will be good if players are held responsable for their actions.I also realise that it will need to happen on merit since the refs tend to get triggerhappy in certain games. Respect for Plumtree.......................Coaches will sometimes come up with the dumbest diplomatic answers in the media to try and show their support for their players allthough the whole rugby world have eyes in their head and knows the truth. It takes a pair to go up against your players behaviour and admitting in the public eye that it's a problem and should be adressed. I am a huge sharks fan and sit weekend in and out supporting them. I appreciate the zero tolerence approach by the coach. Good luck guys we will keep on supporting you. Ps. What do you guys think of Ruan Pienaar's performance?
SCOTTIE3/10/2010 10:17 AM
You guys can puke a lot of snot about nothing. Can you not FOR ONCE appreciate a good game of rugby without your negative comments? "Looks at the scoreboard" that old toppie used to say. Because the Sharks let themselves down they want to blame the ref....and the Bulls are suddenly angels? Grow up.
Ghwappie3/10/2010 10:16 AM
@Blue Jake: Most of William Shakespeare 's plays are about rugby: * A Midsummer Night's Dream - A book about the Sharks 2010 S14 aspirations * The Tempest - The story of the Stormers * Richard the Turd - Dick Muir's biography * The Merchant of Venice - Rassie's biography on how to buy players * The Comedy of Errors - About Paul Marks * Julius Ceasar - about the 2010 SARU elections (beware the Ides of March!) * Much ado about nothing - about Schalk klapping Mark Lawrence * Hamlet - about the IRB (something is rotten in the state of Denmark) * Romeo and Juliet - a story about men wearing horns and singing "Liefling" at each other * (Sorry, just had to slip the last one in ;-)
@ Monty3/10/2010 10:10 AM
Kanko was running back to where the line-out was forming, NSW had a quick throw-in, so he just kept going as he was coming from an on-side position, intercepted, humiliated the defence and scored... chop...
Blue Bull Supporter3/10/2010 10:02 AM
Great action if the player really deserves it. The refs also play a part in this and we know by now how these guys can ruin a game. Plumtree , next time keep this for yourself because you are going to "pluk 'n lat vir jou eie gat " Not everybody always deserve a card
Ryper3/10/2010 9:49 AM
I agree Frankie 4 fingers,Jannie is an absolute mullet can not beleive a doctor has so little between the ears.He is a useless player and even more useless in the scrums and this discipline(hulk hogan) bravado"s with him and his brother will not stop.They are politicians and should be sent to another province ala pukey watson,they are negative players and disruptive. Can we pls get a flyhalf and proper centres.
Ryper3/10/2010 9:42 AM
I agree Frankie 4 fingers,Jannie is an absolute mullet can not beleive a doctor has so little between the ears.He is a useless player and even more useless in the scrums and this discipline(hulk hogan) bravado"s with him and his brother will not stop.They are politicians and should be sent to another province ala pukey watson,they are negative players and disruptive. Can we pls get a flyhalf and proper centres.
Dee3/10/2010 9:40 AM
Im a Sharks supporter but I cant even watch a game anymore. They are so pathetic at the moment that I cringe. Hopefully they start to get better or else will be competing for the last spot on the log. so pathetic...
Bulls fan forever3/10/2010 9:39 AM
@SHARKY, @Christopher Marlowe, @Vic J. Typical pathetic loser comments expected these days from non-Bulls fans. Thank you for showing your class and the class of the average non-Bulls supporter. That class really showed very clearly with the bottle-throwing Sharks supporters at the ABSA stadium. Just reaffirms my theory that the biggest uneducated and childish supporters in SA are the majority of non-Bulls fans.There few exceptions to this rule.
MikeS3/10/2010 9:38 AM
Robert... I suppose you take please in seeing people suffer after being involved in an accident as well. I feel sorry for you. Monty, please check it again... Kankowski was about 2 or 3 meters from the lineout when the ball was thrown in. No way he can be offside.
fuzzy-stormer3/10/2010 9:22 AM
It's called Tswani now William Shakespeare.
SHARKY3/10/2010 9:06 AM
Koos you're a d***% !! - stay at Loftus - use your powder and your los women - okes like you are not welcome anywhere but at Loftus !!
Robert3/10/2010 9:05 AM
Hahahaha Sharks rugby.... the laughing stock of South African rugby..... Why don't you Sharks supporters through more beer bottles at your k@k team.... You peopel have made my the happiest person for four weeks now... Like I said at the beginning of the season, this is going to be a great year :-)))
Ian3/10/2010 8:57 AM
I agree with the suspension idea to a degree. No doubts that we need better discipline - so blatant indiscipline must be punished. However there are areas which are extremely close calls and dependent on the refs interpretation. We would not want our teams to stand back because they are afraid to contest the ball.
Sharkie Supporter 3/10/2010 8:45 AM
Plumtree, how about you buy a groot rottang and call it 'Red Card' and moer elke oke thinking of trying dirty play on the field! It's SO unnecessary and as stated, playing with 14 men, tires out the whole team! The Du Plessis brothers need one heck of a hard moer session!!! How many times do you need to repremanded about dirty play!! Come on Boys! We 'Won' that game with good play on the field, now go out there and get those darn numbers boytjies!! GO SHARKS!! Julle kan terug kom man, glo net in mekaar!!
reftrouble3/10/2010 8:22 AM
Ref trouble caused them to lose focus. It's rough when you are playing against 16.
Sex Bomb3/10/2010 8:19 AM
Morning,totally agree with Raven,you can count on Jannie every week to get nailed,wonder if he's patients also yellow card him as well,di*******!!!!!
Patrick3/10/2010 8:15 AM
The du Plessis brothers have absolutely no discipline. They are complete hotheads that can't seem to control their emotions in pressure situations.. it has become a serious problem because refs will start targeting them.
Haak Vrystaat3/10/2010 8:09 AM
I totally agree with Plumtree they should do this in all the teams but it should be based on a "NO PLAY - NO PAY" basis. Then you will see how people can play proper rugby. Mr. Shakespeare you are a tipical Bulls supporter it is obvious that you have no brain and whenever you open your mouth nothing but sh*t comes out. I know it might be difficult for someone like you but try to keep the comments relevant to the topic.
Sharks Fan @ William S3/10/2010 8:09 AM
We all know how welcome people feel at Loftus don't we? Enjoy having a go at the Sharks while it lasts, I'm looking forward to them giving the Bulls a snotklap later in the season.
Shark3/10/2010 7:59 AM
Plumtree must have been reading my mind. Jannie du Plessis' trip was totally intentional and unacceptable. Ban him now, don't wait for the next yellow. Once you've lost the referee's respect, you've lost the game.
Dianne3/10/2010 7:45 AM
Being a Sharks supporter living in Bulls territory I can vouch for really, truly insane Bulls supporters. They are not beyond scratching your vehicle just for displaying Sharks sticker. My husband's sticker was torn off. And at least women can go to Kings Park. Going to Loftus is really dodgey! Fully support Plumtree for this decision btw.
Vic J3/10/2010 7:42 AM
Willy, Loftus is a hole filled with many a*****s.
How?3/10/2010 7:42 AM
"He was also encouraged by the character in the team which had seen the Sharks fight back from 25-14 down against the Waratahs to almost win the game." - How is one try an encouraging comeback?
Spliff3/10/2010 7:37 AM
This should be done across the board.
Bullet 3/10/2010 7:21 AM
I think the Ausie refs should be red carded for bias and cheating
Franky 4 Fingers3/10/2010 7:10 AM
Please make it retrospective and ban jannie Du Plessis for life. That guy is the biggest liability in world rugby. His last yellow was just the icing on top of the cake. I don't even think Malema is dumb enough to trip someone right in front of the touch judge like that
Mike G3/10/2010 6:52 AM
What a clown Plumtree!!!! How about you getting red carded for your teams poor performances for the past couple of years.
Nico3/10/2010 6:52 AM
Agree @ Rast - they (the indisciplened prima donna rugby players) should also ferfeit part of their salary for the same reasons mentioned by Plumtree. Get it right or get out of the sport!
Blue Jake3/10/2010 6:31 AM
@Mr.Shakepeare. I never enjoyed reading your work at school, but gee you are really a legend on these forums. With my next paycheck I'm buying all your works of art. You have a way with words which is really unexplainable (and true by the way). I am honoured to be associated with the same team as you.
Monty from Down Under3/10/2010 5:21 AM
Mistake of the referee in the Sharks VS NSW match, was Kanko not offside at the Intercept try. DId the ref make a mistake or are we looking at things from one eye only.
NotTooBlue3/10/2010 5:15 AM
Ah yes. So typical. An article about the Shark rugby team, the Shark rugby coach and the Shark rugby players and some Bull supporter will find a way to drag the Bulls into it. The Bulls, th egreatest team on this planet with the worst supporters ever. How sad.
koos3/10/2010 3:04 AM
@Christopher, I have been on kings Park 2 times. The first time the spectators was throwing paper planes and bottles on the field while the game was busy. the second time my friend was puked on from above while we were exiting the stadium, I have been at Loftus more time's than I can remember, never have I seen an incident, someone puking or any violence other than a stormer chirping a shark that his team are pathetic.
Christopher Marlowe 3/10/2010 1:16 AM
Willy, you make Loftus sound like a stadium of choir boys - I've been there and it ain't. Me think you have been emulating your beloved smurfettes by partaking in too much white powder snorting and late-night antics with the local Pta street-walkers.
William Shakespeare3/10/2010 12:28 AM
And all the Sharks spectators too, who all go to the games so that they can throw lots of glass bottles at the players from the opposing teams that are better than them. The Blou Masjien specators are too busy cheering for their team or sitting in reverent silence when the opposing team takes a well-deserved penalty kick for this to be a problem in lovely Pretoria though.
bulawayo-based-bok3/10/2010 12:11 AM
doing this will keep their ownly decent players on the wood........Xcept 4 Kanko, he is just a machine at the mo! he must have found some of Spies S-roids in the bok changing room :):)>):) hahaha
Rast3/9/2010 11:59 PM
About time - this should have been done earlier - you can't play with 14 men for 10 mins every match. I've taken a lot of flack for you guys this year, don't worry I can take it - just sort out your side of the bargain - good win against the Brumbies, Guys!!!
Raven3/9/2010 11:49 PM
He might as well then red card the du Plessis brothers right now and choose a new starting line-up.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide