Vodacom Super 14

'Don't write off Highlanders'

2010-03-10 09:03
Email | Print
Pierre Spies (File)

Brenden Nel

Johannesburg - Springbok No 8 Pierre Spies has cautioned against high expectations for the Vodacom Bulls this weekend in their Vodacom Super 14 match against the Highlanders.

Much is expected from the defending champions as they return from a weekend off to face the New Zealand side, especially after the Highlanders lost 33-0 to the Stormers last weekend, but Spies, now fit again after injury kept him out of the Waratahs game, was erring on the cautious side.

The reason is simple. Last year, in Dunedin, the Bulls arrived full of confidence after dismantling the Hurricanes in Wellington a week earlier, and met a physical and intense Highlanders side that hit them hard. The Bulls lost 36-12 that day, and Spies remembers it well.

So much so that much of the team talk this week is about not letting the standards slip, and making sure a repeat of last year’s performance doesn’t happen again, especially with the Highlanders sure to come out firing to make up for their poor performance in Cape Town.

“We have to make up for last year,” Spies said, “In Dunedin; they really came at us last year and gave us a good beating. This year we will take some aspects out of the Stormers game and their other two games and concentrate on making sure we play our best rugby this week.

“The Stormers played really well against them, but we expect the Highlanders to be a lot better this week once they get to Loftus.” Spies admits while it is nice to be on top of the log after four rounds, there are still a number of weeks ahead in the competition, with the Bulls still not close to where they want to be in this competition.

“We’ve had a good three weeks, but technically we can improve a lot, especially in the standards we want to reach as a team. We set very high standards for ourselves and while the results have been good for us so far, we want to attain the standards we set for ourselves,” he explained.

“The fact that we are conceding so many points is not a good sign for us; luckily we have scored a lot as well. It is definitely something we’re working on - it doesn’t help to score fifty but to let in so many on the other side. It is a focus point for us, to tighten up the defence but to continue scoring on attack.”

As for the injury, Spies smiles when he says he is “itching to play again” but concedes there is a bigger picture at play.

“Any rest is always good in a tough competition like this and for me the break came at a very good time. I’m really itching to get onto the field again and can’t wait,” he adds.

“It’s nice that we’re still on top, but it can change so quickly, so we need to keep out momentum and ensure we win our home games while we are here to give ourselves that advantage. Anything we can do to make the team win is all that matters.”

Your Comments

Anti bull3/11/2010 11:23 AM
@Steph Bulls Supporter TEN MINSTE WEET EK WIE MY MA IS......
viva tshwane3/11/2010 11:10 AM
@ANTI BULL YOU ARE THE COOLEST DUDE ALIVE --- THOSE NUMNUTS BULL SUPPOTERS ARE DEAF DUMP AND BLIND TO MUCH IN BREEDING IN PRETORIA SORRY I MEAN TSHWANE THE RIGHTFUL NAME OF THE PLACE WHICH MEANS APIES JUST LIKE THE APES WHO LIVES THERE AND SUPPORT THE BULLS---MOST PPEOPLE HAVE NOTHING AGAINST THE BULLS TEAM IT IS THERE SUPPORTERS THAT WE HATE THATS WHY YOU CAN NOT BE A BULL FAN AND BE CIRCUMCISED ---- YOU HAVE TO BE A COMPLETE D1CK TO SUPPORT THE BULLS---ANTI BULL RULE ----
Closer3/10/2010 6:00 PM
This game will however be a lot closer than most expect, a bye is about as bad as traveling overseas, the teams always return a bit rusty. Add to that the Landers being written off and we might just have a close game on our hands.
Mack die Bloue3/10/2010 4:23 PM
nee wat Anti Bull ,ek is so afrikaans soos jy ,maar die vader weet jou engels is kak ! nes jou side doffel ! jy sien ,ons is almal Springbok ondersteuners ook ,jy is n provinsiale etter.DOM !
VanniKaap3/10/2010 3:49 PM
J'aime le rugby. Plus encore les tendue blogging parmi les partisans. Il se sentent presque comme un match entre les Taureaux et Stormers. Dur et impitoyable. Je pense qu'il est trés sain. Stormers régle. Is dit regso, LEGEND. Please don't put me down.
mack the blue3/10/2010 3:11 PM
WPBOY and Shark , lekker to see we are on the same page ! just not a kiwi or a aussie side ! To each oke his own ,as long as its south african , GO BULLS !
WP man3/10/2010 3:08 PM
Omdat die Stormers met 33 punte gewen het, verwag ek dat die Blou Bulle met minstens 66 punte wen. Vra enige BB ondersteuner en jy sal hoor dat die BB 2x beter as die Stormers is. En hulle hsal mos nie doelbewus lieg nie. Voorspoed Blou Bulle!
Anti Bull3/10/2010 2:57 PM
Freakin hell I have never provoke so many people before in my life (kinda proof my piont regarding bulls supporters)@ GEROOK you are dead right my friend Spies does not know what is going on around him yet alone how to play rugby so what relevance does his comments have? @ the guy who does not want us to who he is please if the bulls supporters support any of the other teams when playing against the Aus or NZ teams please don't I am sure the other teams do not need second hand support.Oh and by the way Mr. hardiblu rugby is all about rivalry. To all the bulls support you can get angry as much as you like not everybody have to support or like your stupid team...
Bliiksem3/10/2010 2:52 PM
@ Anti-Bul : kyk bietjie oor jou linker skouer op die vloer agter jou ... jou naam le daar !
@ Gerrit @ anti bull3/10/2010 2:48 PM
Great een Gerrit. Ek dink 95% van die mense op hierdie blog geniet daai een en is teen hierdie tyd al so gatvol vir hierdie Anti-watse span ookal ondersteuners. Anti-bull het hulp nodig, net jammer hy is so onnosel dat hy dit nie eers besef nie. Wêreld moet ook assholes hê vir natuurlike balans.
Frank@legend3/10/2010 2:24 PM
Hey Legend jou vark bal - ons boere skryf in engels dat jy ook kan verstaan want jy kan ongelukkig net een taal praat jy is te dom om enige iets behalwe engels te kan verstaan of te probeer praat, natuurlik sal daar foute wees met die grammer en spelling want dis nie ons eerste taal nie, daar is honderde ander tale in die wereld daar buite jou poephol
hardiblu3/10/2010 2:12 PM
@Anti Bull - First off, the simpleton characteristics of Stormers supporters has once again been spectacularly highlighted by mentally disadvantaged self appointed flag bearers such as yourself. Cretins such as you fuel the hatred amongst rival rugby supporters, so much so that I have developed an unhealthy and unwanted hatred for anything Stormers/WP related. In addition, and contrary to your ill conceived notion that Bulls supporters harbor the same antics as freelance and seasonal Stormer supporters, we do not. We are brethren who have no desire or inclination to forsake our fellow members and team, unlike you who has the loyalty and tact of a jackass. The Bulls are the defending champions and thus far are doing a good job at just that, so cry me a river, build yourself a bridge, and GET OVER IT!!!
Shark@Anti Bull3/10/2010 2:09 PM
As die-hard Sharks supporter, I cannot believe that anyone can berate the Bulls for the way they are playing rugby. They are simply awesome and we should all cheer and commend them. The Sharks on the otherhand are not - but their turn will come again. Anti Bull just enjoy a good game of rugby and leave your hang-ups for psychologist to sort ot - we can't help you here but we can certainly make your name a little cheaper than it is. Go Bulle - you guys rock
Will3/10/2010 1:48 PM
@ Soccersta, If rugby is so boring why are you reading articles about it? You're so stupid that you don't even notice when your being an idiot... To all the Bull haters...grow up, your not in kinder garden any more...if the Bulls are better than your team, take it like man...and when you can't say anything bad about the team don't go and whale on their supporters...it just justifies your jealousy of the team. I hope all the SA teams whoop ass this weekend!
WPBOY3/10/2010 1:41 PM
Please people, mudslinging will bring us nowhere!! Let us all wait until the last match this year. After that match I suppose the winning team's supporters and fans can have a field day at the rest of the other teams supporters. It is still very early days and for now we should cheer each other. After the Super14 it will be Test time again. What are all you mudslingers gonna do? The Bulls will win against the Highlanders, the Stormers will klap the 'Canes and let us PRAY for the Sharks, Cheethas and the Lions. They really need ALL OUR prayers. GO STORMERS, JOU LEKKER DING!!
Bulla3/10/2010 1:40 PM
Pierre Spies, ....Luke (sicko) Watson's worst nightmare..!! He he he ..!!
Pieta3/10/2010 1:34 PM
@Legend - hou op n doos wees!!
Gerrit @ anti bull3/10/2010 1:22 PM
Nee wat ouboet, self al verloor die Bulls bly ons getrou. Maar dit lyk my jy het issues, my raad aan jou is: Knyp twee balle vas tussen jou bene, met jou hande en jou knee op die stene, trek af jou broek en brul as jy wil...
@Anti Bull - Steph Bulls Supporter3/10/2010 1:13 PM
You my friend are a brainless and spineless wonder. I am sure your mother is very proud when she reads your posts, but oh dear no name just and Alias. I have supported the bulls for the las 36 year in good and bad and walked out of Newlands bleeding because a WP supporter hit me with a bottle because his team lost. Don't open your mouth about the real Bulls supporter, the rubbish will creep out of there holes unfortunately, but all the teams have these rubbish supporters. Get over yourself because you seem to be one of those that crawl out of a hole just to be a pain in everyone elses backside.
Mack the Blue3/10/2010 1:12 PM
To all the negative sa supporters -get a life !.. become a BULL supporter..have something to talk about ,get to know how it feels to win a trophy....experience pride for once. Spies is right ,any side can beat any side on any given day,and The Highlanders are better than 33-0.The Strormers did very well. Anti Bull...did your sister break up with you again ?
Paul73/10/2010 12:58 PM
@legend. Deon and others might not be the most literate in english, but I would like to see you make a comment in Afrikaans or any other second language. Have you ever considered that maybe he is trying his best to keep the forum in English so you and others can understand!
Stormfront3/10/2010 12:52 PM
'n Bul supporter kan nie sy trap toe hou nie want sy snor jeuk te veel. Sorry boys, julle het hulle glory gehad.
@ Gerook?3/10/2010 12:26 PM
Hel maatjie, word bietjie groot. Jou ma noem jou seker nog boetie en jy is pappa se groot man. So kinderagtig het ek lanklaas gehoor. My innige simpatie met jou en as jy dalk 'n vrou het - kry ek haar bitter jammer. Wat 'n swak voorbeeld vir enige iemand.
Soccersta3/10/2010 11:57 AM
Rugby makes way,the SWC is coming.Rugby has become so boring (the flyhalfs thinks they are soccer players) nowadays,look at the stadiums,only Newlands is full.Soccer is nr.1,2,3 ... in the world.
Legend3/10/2010 11:21 AM
@ Deon.. Hey Deon When you say ''but I know these Highlanders will never win the Bulls at loftus'' I would like to ask you a question. What do you mean the Highlanders win the bulls? Do they keep the Bulls team as a trophy or what? Please learn how to speak english properly because you sound like an idiot.
Bulls fan forever3/10/2010 11:19 AM
Again the Anti-Bulls supporters are the first ones to use "dumb supporters", "aap'". Just shows the real class of non-Bulls supporters. Say what you will you jealous bunch, we are still the BEST !!!! Spies will destroy the Highlanders! Bulls top win by 20.
@Anti Bull3/10/2010 11:02 AM
at anti bull u are full of cr@p firstly notice you were the first to comment on this article and no one else hence forth shows that you can't stand a winning team, i have supported the BULLS my whole life the BULLS play fantastic rugby we can't help it, as to your comments they are unfounded and lame.
Molefe3/10/2010 10:51 AM
@Mort, I think that you are wrong. To underestimate the Highlanders is huge mistake. The only reason the Stormers won last weekend was because they had their biggest supporter on the field. Any other refferee than Mark Lawrence would have seen the Stormers have a MUCH more realistic scoreline!
@ Anti Bull3/10/2010 10:48 AM
Shame buddy... you must be a sharks supporter, or an Australian (one of the same)... but i pray you are not a South African. Because no matter blind you have become through your jealousy over the Bulls... at least us Bulls supporters support the other SA teams when they are playing teams from Aus or NZ... Grow up and man up my friend.
Hercules Strydom3/10/2010 10:42 AM
@ Anti Bull. What a sore loser... If it was the stormers that were in the Bulls' position, you would've been the one not shutting up... Everybody remembers in the 90's when the Stromers/WP were playing well and having success on the field, it was the Stormers/WP supporters that were the loudest and most arrogant...
True Blue3/10/2010 10:41 AM
@ Anti Bull - you are a idiot - You clearly do not watch rugby, or even understand the game. Stick to bowls or Jukskei. Maybe your idiotic comments will be better appreciated by other idiots like yourself. You must be a Shark supporter.
@ anti bull3/10/2010 10:36 AM
You are clearly a Shark supporter...... the bulls will win this match easily. The thing is you know this but any way.......no use talking to an mindless rugby supporter. Go watch soccer or someting!!!!!!!
SO SO SO SAD FOR YOU3/10/2010 10:32 AM
THAT IS SO SAD THAT YOU STILL CAN`T SEE THAT THE BULLS ARE ON TOP OF THEIR GAME AT THE MOMENT.ANTI BULL I TAKE IT YOU SUPPORT THE STOMERS. YOU MUST BE ONE OF THE SUPPORTES THAT SUPPORTS ALL THE OTHER TEAMS RATHER THEN SEE ALL THE TEAMS IN YOU COUNTRY PLAY WELL?
The Bull3/10/2010 10:31 AM
Where do these guys come from, meaning the Morts, and Anti Bulls. Shame, if they could only start looking at the rugby on the field and respect the game. But no, we should rather discuss supporters and people. May the team that plays the best rugby win, and not a mistake by a Ref or TV Ref. Even if it is not the Bulls...
Allen Otto3/10/2010 10:26 AM
Good to see that the Bulls are trying to sort their defence out. Also nice to see that they are keeping their feet firmly on the ground and focussing on the task at hand. Would be nice to see them give the Highlanders a proper hiding, on both attack and defence. Hope that the Stormers can also keep the Hurricanes down, the Lions upset the Tahs' and that the Sharks forget about the ref and start playing rugby! GO BULLS!
Paul3/10/2010 10:25 AM
Anti Bull take that lemon out your @55
NCT @ Anti Bull3/10/2010 10:21 AM
So I'm guessing your a sharks supporter, sorry I mean "recently converted stormers supporter"...
Bull3/10/2010 10:20 AM
@Anti Bull - You are propably a Stormer.....Figures.
Deon3/10/2010 10:19 AM
I will be very surprised if the Highlander wins the Bulls. I would like to see that happen, but I know these Highlanders will never win the Bulls at loftus. I think I will put my money on the Hurricanes next week to win the bulls. Not that I am a Bulls supporter, but I am just realistic
Gerook?3/10/2010 10:14 AM
Ek het nie geweet die aap rook aaptwak ook nie.Lyk my hy was laasjaar so high teen die Highlanders dat hy teen hulle in Dunedin gespeel het!Het die Bulls nie verlede jaar op Palmerston North teen die Highlanders gespeel nie.Spies was anyway so bang teen die bebaarde Highlanders dat hy NOG N superk#k game gehad het.Shame is die goedjies nou weer uit die bloed uit so hy is reg vir die toetse die naweek.Mees overrated rugbyspeler in SA Rugby se geskiedenis,saam met Earl Rose!Kan iemand net die kalfie die basiese dinge soos off-load,pass ens leer asb!?
Mort3/10/2010 9:33 AM
What a load of bollocks! Will be a massacre at Loftus or the Bulls should quit rugby for good! Stick to playing Rugby Mr Spies and leave the nonsense talking to Julius! Bulls to win the Super 14 title by far! A clear one horse race this year!
Anti Bull3/10/2010 9:26 AM
This bulls team should get a hiding like never before so that their dumb supporters can shut up. Since almost all of them are a bunch of glory supporters they will propably run to the Stormers and go and support Habana claiming he is still a bull. Just as Ruben Kruger was never a Freestater and only a bull yet he went to the bulls to teach them how to play the game.GO HIGHLANDERS...
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Vote

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.