Vodacom Super 14

Bulls will never be satisfied

2010-02-09 22:37
Email | Print
Victor Matfield (Gallo Images)

JJ Harmse

Pretoria – The Bulls have won their last 12 home games in the Super 14 and on top of that their record for last year’s 15 games read as follows: won 12, lost 3.

It is a remarkable record. However, captain Victor Matfield believes it should serve as motivation rather than weigh the Bulls down in their strive for success in this year’s Super 14.

And, he adds, the new applications of the laws at the breakdown gives this year’s competition a new flavour and offers fresh challenges.

The Bulls captain leads a vastly experienced team in Friday’s opener against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein, with all 22 players having had experience of playing at that level.

“We all strive to improve. It is a fact that 2009 was a remarkable season, but the work ethic at the Bulls does not allow you to rest on your laurels,” said Matfield.

“We want to be the team with the best lineouts, we want the best scrum in the competition, and we want to play more positive rugby from broken play. I can continue, but what it boils down to is that we will never be satisfied.”

The vastly experienced Matfield, who will be playing his 96th Super rugby game, still has a clear message for his players.

“We simply have to adapt to the new applications of the laws. In 2008 we paid the price for not embracing the ELVs. When we embraced the laws last year, we were champions. There is a clear message in that in how we should approach the breakdowns.”

Matfield believes the emphasis on advantage for the attacking team can give 2010’s competition another dimension.

“It is clear that it is aimed at creating more phase play and to ensure more tries are scored. You’d swear the Brumbies wrote the laws. But the fact remains that we have to adapt immediately,” he said.

“I expect a few matches to be decided by penalties as a result of the application of the laws.”

Fortunately the Bulls have the accurate boot of flyhalf Morné Steyn if the Cheetahs transgress.

Coach Frans Ludeke picked all his first-choice players, but not five forwards on the bench as had been expected.

“We picked Derick Kuün, who is a utility forward and will help us adapt to the situation in the game. At the back Stephan Dippenaar gets a tick before John Mametsa as he is also capable of playing outside centre.”

The Bulls team (total of Super 14 games in brackets):

Zane Kirchner (26), Gerhard van den Heever (4), Jaco Pretorius (49), Wynand Olivier (57), Francois Hougaard (4), Morné Steyn (59), Fourie du Preez (85), Pierre Spies (43), Pedrie Wannenburg (99), Deon Stegmann (25), Victor Matfield (capt, 95), Danie Rossouw (89), Werner Kruger (28), Gary Botha (49), Gurthrö Steenkamp (52).

Substitutes: Bandise Maku (8), Bees Roux (17), Flip van der Merwe (6), Derick Kuün (42), Heini Adams (29), Jacques-Louis Potgieter (18), Stephan Dippenaar (2).

Your Comments

alan2/11/2010 6:59 AM
another season and the glue fools are all fool of bull sh1t already. saw their coach on tv talking about the inside lane and building an innings?? must have had too many cokes.
Blue Jake2/10/2010 3:49 PM
They have no reason to be satisfied. They haven't even reached their full potential.
Paul2/10/2010 2:56 PM
I am a true Lion supporter but even I think that Al is off his trolley.....!! I hope the Lions are more competitive this year but to go from almost dead last to winning.... NO WAY!!!!
Al2/10/2010 1:43 PM
Lions will win the Super 14 this year :-)
@ Daisy2/10/2010 12:52 PM
I really hope the Stormers do just that. Not for your sake only Daisy, but for all those faithfull Stormers supporters. Most might have commited suicide by now, so those left certainly deserve all the cups and medals up for grabs. Let's just hope Rassie keeps those disco lights in the closet with all his other sissy kak.
MACK DIE BLOUE2/10/2010 12:27 PM
Ek wens die ander mense wil die "stats" lees ,maar al sal hulle ,sal dit niks vir hulle beteken nie.Dit gaan oor n wen kultuur ,oor kennis besit van wat dit vat.Die ander spanne het geen benul nie.Ja ,enige van 4 van die 5 spanne kan dit wen ,die arme LEEUS ,moet eers WEER,van voor begin......maar ons kan almal kompeterend wees...en ek hoop dit is so.Ek vermoed die Stormers gaan n goeie reeks beleef ,en verwag die Sharks en die Cheetahs gaan ook die pot roer !Die manne daar onder gaan lekker moet bontstaan !
Bulla2/10/2010 11:34 AM
@DAISY, ....just like last year, ...and the year before that, ...and...
Daisy2/10/2010 11:09 AM
The Stormers will be top SA Super 14 team in 2010 and will also win the Currie Cup this year. Sorry guys.
hardi2/10/2010 10:46 AM
@Eswan, Dewalt sustained a grade 2 medial ligament injury and looks doubtful for a while yet
Marius2/10/2010 10:46 AM
@eswan Yes Dewald is injured. Will be out for a few weeks
Pieter (Bulle Bo)2/10/2010 10:39 AM
Hi JJ I fully agree with the vision of Victor. With the new laws the best game plan would be to get into your oppositions territory and then try and put together as many phases as possible. This pressure would amount to penalties, especially at the breakdowns, and we know what Morne can do with the boot. I like John Mametsa but i think Hougaardt's kicking ability and all round game is more suited to this kind of game. Firstly then we should drive with the strong forwards to force penalties with their tacklers holding on and then as a surprize swing it to the wings from time to time. I also think the Cheetahs will target Shadow, as he does not have that much experience in the kicking game, but that would/could be a risk, as the man may be deadly when counter attacking, he is fast!! very fast!! @Tonyg and blake, just do not read the articles if u do not understand rugby and find it boring.
@Tonyg and Blake2/10/2010 9:58 AM
Don't know what you're on guys but I find this article rather interesting and insightful... you need to think for yourself too hey. Obviously not Bulls supporters and just disappointed that the Bulls are going to f*&k your team up this year!
Megabull2/10/2010 9:29 AM
Go boys! Make us proud as you always do!
blake2/10/2010 8:35 AM
They are professional sportsmen...I should hope they not satisfied. Like they gonna turn around and say “Lets give someone else a chance this year" ...what a load of horse “We want to be the team with the best lineouts, we want the best scrum in the competition, and we want to play more positive rugby from broken play. I can continue, but what it boils down to is that we will never be satisfied.” What it boils down to big vic is that I’m sure that’s every teams goal… Except for the Force cause I hear they wanna be 4th best at the break downs and 2nd best at lineouts…. Horse poo article
Tonyg2/10/2010 7:59 AM
BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jou_Ma2/10/2010 7:12 AM
It looks like very strong team, but if you take into account that Bakkies and Dewald Potgieter is still out, the best might yet be to come.
Eswan2/10/2010 6:51 AM
Where is Dewald Potgieter, excuse me if I am uninformed, but does he have an injury?
alice2/10/2010 6:48 AM
good luck for this year to all of you... i have been, am and always will be, a bulls supporter..whether you win or lose..as long as you keep playing with the passion, integrity, humility and love of the game... you will win...the one team in the tournament that does not play with their Ego's...sad loss of bryan habana..but then again, we will breed fresh blood... Go bulls!! love you all.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

The Bryan Issue 9/3/2010 10:23:47 AM

Jakob Lensiesop 9/3/2010 10:05:06 AM

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Vote

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.