Vodacom Super 14

Bulls set to keep up the heat

2010-03-11 08:05
Email | Print
Victor Matfield (Gallo)

Sydney - South Africa's Bulls, refreshed from last week's bye, look set to keep the heat on their Super 14 title chasers when they host New Zealand's Highlanders on Saturday.

The Bulls head the southern hemisphere provincial championship standings on points differential from last year's finalists the Chiefs, but crucially have a game in hand on all their main rivals after four rounds.

While the Pretoria-based defending champions are favoured to take the points against the Highlanders, the four teams below them are playing each other.

The Chiefs, who missed an opportunity to be sole tournament leaders when they crashed at home to the Reds last week, have a tough New Zealand derby with seven-time champions the Crusaders in Hamilton on Friday.

The third-placed Stormers are at home in Cape Town against fourth-placed Hurricanes on Saturday.

Springbok number eight Pierre Spies is back from injury to bolster the Bulls, who will be led by Springbok lock Victor Matfield for the 50th time in his 99th Super rugby match.

But on the downside, Matfield's lineout partner Bakkies Botha will miss the Bulls' next two Super 14 home games and will also sit out their tour to New Zealand and Australia with an Achilles problem.

Although the Highlanders broke the Bulls' opening five-game winning streak last year, winning 36-12 at home, the Bulls were last defeated at their Loftus Versfeld fortress 23 months ago by the Hurricanes.

The Chiefs have made two changes to their starting lineup against the Crusaders, while also omitting loose forward Sione Lauaki, who has been charged with assault arising from an incident in a Hamilton bar last week.

The Crusaders boast a 10-4 winning record against the Chiefs and four of their wins have been from seven visits to Waikato Stadium, although they lost 18-5 on their most recent visit two seasons back.

"I expect a real lift in our intensity, back to the levels we achieved in the first couple of weeks," Chiefs coach Ian Foster said.

Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder is aware of the Chiefs strikepower out wide and that they will be smarting from surrendering a big lead against the Reds last week.

"We're going up there really committed, really hungry and have focused on looking forward. I'm sure the Chiefs will feel they just need to refocus and it's all there," Blackadder said.

The Hurricanes are looking to the return of midfield backs Conrad Smith and Tamati Ellison to add some composure after they crashed 28-12 to the Central Cheetahs in Bloemfontein last week.

The Stormers were impressive 33-0 winners over the Highlanders at Newlands last week and are hitting form at the right time.

The Cape Town outfit have won seven matches to six against the Hurricanes, but each side has won three of its matches away from home.

Stormers' forwards coach Matt Proudfoot believes his team will have to dig deep to contain the Hurricanes.

"They're very powerful and they look to dominate the contact points, with or without the ball," he said. "The Hurricanes commit numbers at the breakdown, they hit you hard and try and force you out of your structures."

The Sharks, who were unlucky to go down in a tight one against the NSW Waratahs last week, are up against the sixth-placed Brumbies in Canberra on Saturday, while the Waratahs entertain the Golden Lions on Friday.

The Reds will have an Australian derby against the Force in Brisbane on Sunday, while the Blues and Cheetahs have the weekend off.

Your Comments

WeePee man3/12/2010 3:49 PM
hmmff....Poef!!!!!.#¤%" Stupid Blue Bulls supporters. These Blue Bulls are messing up the patterns of rugby playing. We are waiting for them on May 15, Newlands. .......middle finger to all blue bulls supporters. Ek hoop die Highlanders skop hulle die naweek onder hul gatte!!!
the Raconteur3/12/2010 2:53 PM
@ bul bevok. those day are coming again ou chom. nothing lasts forever. just look at Bakkies. He's on he's way to the scrap yard. same as old vic matfield. he's like a sat old datsun bakkie. There's a storm coming pel. it's blowing in from the west.
Bul befok....3/12/2010 1:24 AM
Remember the days when the Bulls was the "Milking Cows" and joke of rugby in the S10/S12 and S14 days gone by? Well eat your hearts out guys. They WILL nail the Highlanders by 13 PLUS and that is a fact. The highlanders might hold up for 40 minutes max. but after that they will be slaughtered. Remeber the Chiefs in the 2009 final? Ja ou swar dis maar swaar ne?
William Shakespeare3/11/2010 10:12 PM
@Ghwappie3/11/2010 12:45 PM: What a tragedy that a man of your calibre has a fatal flaw. Remember, it takes a courageous man to admit that he made a mistake. Everybody will secretly admire and respect you once you make the transition to supporting the Blue Bulls. Just think, you will no longer have to only imagine that you are winner... because you will actually be one! Go for it,man. You can do it. I know you can.
wessel3/11/2010 8:46 PM
The Bulls have the 'balls' and the spine on the field where failure is not an option....that is the attitude, mentality and outlook we USED TO HAVE as South African's...the Bulls still give me that glimpse of that inner strength we had..and that is why I admire their play on the field..positive and mostly organised....Go boy's have fun on tomorrow!!!!
Bliiksem3/11/2010 6:39 PM
@ Anti Bull : I just LOVE it when you anti bulls get so hatefull when the Bulls play good .. it just shows your frustration and anger .. hehehehe ... is that the best insults you can think of boetetjie .. BWHAHAHAHAHA
brad k@ anti-bull3/11/2010 5:26 PM
*smirks at the image of anti-bull being run over by Spies* jealousy makes nasty pal, get off this forum...Highlanders suck!
@Bulla (WP man)3/11/2010 5:03 PM
Old Bulla, The score difference? <33>? Show your ultimate faith in your team and give us a prediction.
Jan Lock3/11/2010 4:21 PM
GO HIGHLANDERS, Highlanders to win by 9.
Bulla3/11/2010 4:05 PM
...and the best, world-best team is, ..? ........the BULLS...!!!! ...Go Bulls..!!
BlouBul3/11/2010 4:00 PM
@Blou Jake - HHAHAHAHAHAH!!! I agree. Hope I get a black clever chappie at the stadium wanting to box.
hardiblu3/11/2010 2:24 PM
If eveyone ignores the little toe rag Anti Bull from now on he will get bored and move on, ignore him no matter what he says to provoke a response, it is his way of getting much craved attention. I know it is difficult to ignore personal insults, but we have to pull together on this one, he will change his name, but there is only one like him so we will know.
Anti bull3/11/2010 2:15 PM
@ Bloutrein - TOOT - TOOT here comes the tjoe tjoe .. ......ha ha ha ha ha jy is seker nou f*kken dors
StuartW3/11/2010 2:12 PM
@ Gerrit...briljant.!!!!!!!!! Hoop die Bulls skop gat die naweek....sterkte aan al ons SA spanne.
andre3/11/2010 2:11 PM
Almost two years unbeaten @ homeground.........who ells can say that, the rest can not even do it for a month! GO BULLS!!
Bloutrein3/11/2010 1:44 PM
@Anti Bull: I don't usually use this words but a prock like you deserves it! Go F%$k yourself!!!
Province3/11/2010 1:36 PM
@Adrian, please don't react on this chop's comments, he just wants to stir. By the way, all supporters of the Cape franchises are not AB supporters, the same as your wife is not always your sister up North, stupid futher mucker.
Geoff @ Anti Bull3/11/2010 1:36 PM
Anti Bull... i could tell you that you're a moron, that you have no pride or passion for your country and that you're an extremely insecure jealous little boy - but why would i when all you have to do is read your comments. Please don't share anymore of your brain farts with us. As for the rugby, I hope (and know) that the bulls keep up their quality form - although the highlanders are not to be underestimated. The sharks and lions need to pull up their socks, this is their do or die week... they fail this week and their chances of pulling through at the end become very slim, even though it is only 5 weeks in, confidence and team chemistry are vital to ensure consistency. Stormers and Cheetahs - top notch form, just a little frayed at the edges and a wee bit undisciplined...@ Emile - i think we're in for a cracking weekend mate, i'd say SA will come through with at least 4 wins...
Adrian@Anti bull3/11/2010 1:13 PM
@Anti bull i have been a bull supporter all my life and and i have never ran away from them in my life, i also do not now of any other bull supporter that have. What team do you support you tool? you are probbably to chicken to say, its probabbly WP, the same team whose supporters support the All Blacks. Stop sniffing your own ballsweat and wake up, Bull supporters are loyal because we know the bad times never last long. You are giving the other teams supporters a bad name !
Ghwappie3/11/2010 1:11 PM
@Anti bull: If you are really anti bull, why do you insist talking such a lot of it?
MR RUGBY3/11/2010 12:54 PM
HEY GUYS, PLEASE IGNORE ANTI-BULL. HIS COMMENTS IS A DESPERATE CRY FOR ATTENTION! HE WANTS YOU GUYS TO COMMENT ON HIS CRAP BECAUSE HE DOESN'T HAVE A LIFE OF HIS OWN! GET A LIFE LOSER!
Jaco@Anti bull3/11/2010 12:53 PM
Shame. Sal vir jou 'n boks tissues koop dan kan jy nou regtig huil soos 'n meisie.
Ghwappie3/11/2010 12:45 PM
@Anti bull: As everyone here is aware, I am a staunch Stormers supporter. I also have no problem with good-natured provincialist heckling. However, the insults on this forum and calling people "moron" and "idiot" is totally unneccesary. Please keep the fight clean. I wish all SA teams the best for this weekend, I believe we are in for three humdinger games on Saturday - may rugby be the winner. I would love nothing more than to see two SA teams contest the finals, and that it will be Stormers vs Bulls. Both teams are playing excellent rugby this season - also don't write off the Cheetahs just yet. GO STORMERS!!!
Polly Otter3/11/2010 12:28 PM
Watching the bulls play this year is like watching porn. You know whats gonna happen but it's still good to watch!
Gerrit@anti bul3/11/2010 12:19 PM
...teeeeennisballe, kriiiiieketballe, snoooooekerballe as jy wil...
Megabull3/11/2010 12:08 PM
I had such a good laugh till I got to read antibull's statement. What a chop!
Anti bull3/11/2010 12:06 PM
@ADRIAN at least we stuck to our teams even in the bad times you big mouth bulls are a bunch of GLORY SUPPORTERS, who run to all the other teams as soon as the bulls start to loose and when they start to win again the you pretend to be these die hard fans - bulls supprters suck.
Andre3/11/2010 12:02 PM
@anti bull - you are a strange one calling yourself anti bull but you come out of one for all you do whole day long is talk bullsh - Go all SA TEAMS this weekend
Malema3/11/2010 11:59 AM
@ aunty sorry anti bull Why dont you go play with your sheep cause you dont belong in SA. Cant you see the guys are joking? WTF? Grow up man
Altyd Blou3/11/2010 11:59 AM
Weet jy Anti Bull hoekom bly jy nie net stil nie. Bly in die bed en trek die gordyne toe. Mag al ons SA spanne 'n SUPER naweek hê!!!
Province3/11/2010 11:58 AM
@Anti bull, please hoist your colours as opposed to just bad-mouthing the most succesfull SA franchise in recent years. Unfortunately we have to give the Bulls their due and understand their over-exuberance after many lean years earlier this decade. I am a passionate Stormers/Province supporter and also overreact on accasions that we actually hammer another team, its a way of venting pent-up frustrations, boet.
Adrian@Anti Bull3/11/2010 11:54 AM
@Anti bull, we bull supporters are just supporting our team and having some good fun without insulting anybody. Then you come and start insulting us you moron! We BULL fans are proud of our team and we have good reason to be. Its not our fault your team is kak. And yes it is only week 5 and you are just pissed that you cant see any other team beating us or comming close to doing so. Suck being you DROL!
Big Blue3/11/2010 11:41 AM
....middle finger to all the anti-Bull supporters..!! ....Go Bulls..!!! ...Champion Bulls..!!!
Anti bull3/11/2010 11:03 AM
@Gerrit you just prove a point to everybody who reads this article what grown man will want to take sweets from a child " I know a blue bull" @ bLUE JAKE if you pay attention you can actually set your decoder that certain programs are blocked I really don't think you want to bother S/Sport with that nonsense you guys are so typical bull supporters 'mindless" and full of yourself over nothing the Highlanders are going to kill you Tswane Boere. Hey "Bloutrein" isn't this something you do when you drink Spirits through a brown bread? maybe you have done this too many times that is why you support the bulls.@Bulla the S14 is not being won in round 5 moron a lot can still happen. GO HIGHLANDERS.
Bulla3/11/2010 9:25 AM
Nee wat los maar die trofee by Loftus ons het dit al klaar gewen, kyk hoe slat ons n hondertal die naweek..Bulle Bo, Go Blou
Ziggy3/11/2010 9:21 AM
Noouuuu die bloouuu!!!!
Emile3/11/2010 9:10 AM
Let's hope al four SA teams hit their straps this weekend. Can't remember when last did all SA teams win in the same weekend. I hope the Lions and Sharks will turn their bad run around, otherwise their wheels might come off in a big way. This won't do any of the SA teams any good. Lions team need some luck and the Sharks just need to go back to basics and stop with all the off the field rubish. Given the talent in the Sharks XV, their performance this year is a shocker. The players are their, I think the problem lies with management (especially top management). Good luck!!!
Gerrit3/11/2010 9:09 AM
Die Highlanders gaan voel soos my laaitie as ek sy jelly tots uit sy handjies gryp. Mwhuahahahahahah!!!
Bloues3/11/2010 8:57 AM
Alles is BLOU!
Blue Jake3/11/2010 8:44 AM
Supersport should activate parental control for this one. I wouldn't want my kids to see this massacre.
Bloutrein3/11/2010 8:26 AM
Daar is net een masjien en dis die "blou masjien"!!!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Australia vs New Zealand - how boring!! 7/29/2010 3:15:10 PM

Sport24's only Durban July preview 7/29/2010 2:47:55 PM

Vote

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide