Vodacom Super 14

Bulls: new golden era?

2009-05-30 21:43
Email | Print
Bulls star locks Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha (AFP)

Comment: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer

Cape Town – They have provided the most magical day in South African Super rugby history … and the “incredi-Bulls” may well sniff further glory ahead.

That is a thought worth savouring as Pretoria – and much of the rest of the country – goes dilly in the wake of the Bulls’ romp to a 61-17 victory over the Chiefs in Saturday’s high-octane Vodacom Super 14 final at Loftus.

It was eight tries to two and that is a quite awesome statistic against a gritty New Zealand outfit who were certainly left punch-drunk at times but had their own moments, albeit only that, and did not make massive concessions in pride.

Again the “long trip” factor in Super 14 knockout-phase rugby played its part in terms of the Chiefs’ torment, although the gracious losers did not beef about it - knowing full well that South African teams have floundered on Antipodean rocks under similar circumstances before.

And yet the margin of triumph was especially giddy here, and a cherry-on-top testament to the way Victor Matfield’s side have upped their game to unprecedented levels of thrilling finesse, allied to their long-established brute force, in recent weeks.

The Bulls are fitting champions, especially after topping the league stage of the competition: only the pig-headed or deluded would dispute that.

I suggested in the lead-up to the final that all the home side still yearned for in 2009 – besides a second jubilant grip on the trophy in three years, of course – was a performance to match Barcelona’s blanket dismantling of Manchester United in the Champions League soccer final just three days before.

Well, perhaps they even went better than that? For if Barca might feasibly have beaten the Red Devils by more than the 2-0 they did, the Bulls actually went on a record spree in this rugby showpiece.

Having led 34-7 at half-time, there was again one period, for some 15 minutes into the second half, where they stepped off the pedal and just lost their blistering rhythm for a while.

But perhaps we should instead credit Mils Muliaina’s team for their no-white-flag resolve in that time, especially as they were probably still reeling from the permanent, 12th minute exit through likely concussion of their brawny hooker and one of their inspirations in reaching a maiden final this year, Aled de Malmanche.

Mind you, the Bulls were also hit in the first quarter by their outstanding young fetcher Deon Stegmann limping off and not returning – he had started like a house on fire, although it is a comfort when you can simply bring on big Pedrie Wannenburg for a 98th appearance in the competition.

And if the Bulls did lose a wee bit of verve early in the second period, they only redoubled their bid to return to an elegant front foot: it started raining home-team tries all over again as the packed stadium got into carnival mode long before the silverware was actually hoisted skyward.

So where do the Bulls go from here in Super rugby terms? The world is potentially their … er, biltong.

Next year is the last of the tournament in Super 14 format before an extra franchise is added and the structure changes dramatically, and there is probably already every reason to assume they will be installed as 2010 favourites, despite a pronounced feeling in New Zealand that the Crusaders are back on the “up”.

After all, it will be the “alternate” year under the existing arrangement, when the Bulls will be beneficiaries of seven games at home and six away, rather than the other way around, and only four overseas matches as opposed to five.

And let’s face it, the more rugby at Loftus, the more difficult to lasso these juggernaut, gallivanting Bulls will be: the venue must be as formidable to New Zealand and Australian opponents as sea-level soccer teams find playing in Bolivia’s lofty, lung-crushing La Paz!

Of course there is always the possibility of some personnel changes in the corral, and these are the sort of things that can change landscapes more violently sometimes than sports teams would wish.

But just how many Bulls incumbents will seek other domestic homes or, indeed, brave the soft and muddy pitches of Europe, while such heady levels of glory beckon right where they are?

A mass exodus from this tightly-bonded “family” seems highly unlikely: let’s not forget that there is also the juicy little incentive ahead of wanting to wrest the Currie Cup from the Sharks’ hands, and the Bulls have not been lone holders of that trophy since 2004.

In terms of the existing, broad Bulls squad, it must be comforting to their fans that there are very few truly long-in-the-tooth customers at Loftus.

One, of course, is captain Matfield, who turned 32 earlier this month: will he hang out for another World Cup or could the coming Lions Test series possibly mark his swansong from all rugby?

Danie Rossouw, one of the best second-row super-subs you could wish for anywhere, is 31, so the franchise will be anxious to keep their lock factory in decent health, going forward -- and perhaps even extend their tentacles beyond their geographical boundary to ensure that is the case.

Scrumhalf wizard Fourie du Preez is in the prime of his playing life at 27 and was simply stupendous in the final: a wonderful Springbok fillip for their big looming three-Test task.

But the great thing about the Super 14 champions is that they possess several players already producing international-class rugby, or nearly that, and nowhere near peaking yet: Stegmann, Pierre Spies, Zane Kirchner, Derick Kuun and Morne Steyn are just a few examples, with Chiliboy Ralepelle’s own budding career also now firmly back on track after some major injury setbacks.

How fitting, too, that as the clock wound down on the inevitable Bulls triumph over the Chiefs, the coaches saw fit to give a future-generation customer like Burton Francis, 22, a sample of the big life at flyhalf.

No, it’s hard to see this currently cock-a-hoop crew fragmenting too soon.

Besides, what’s that they say in Afrikaans about “Ek bly ‘n Bul”?

Your Comments

Warick6/1/2009 4:17 PM
Die bulle bly baas,amal wat hulle sleg se is jaloers....haha
Andrew6/1/2009 3:05 PM
To "Unabashed". why are you getting so uptight. I'm happy that the bulls won, and they deserved it this year. I was merely pointing out that you should just enjoy this moment now and not raise your expectations to high. sure the bulls are good. but they are by no means unbeatable. anything could happen in future. Imagine if it was Morne steyn who got injured halfway through the tournament and not Ruan Pienaar? where would all your drop goals come from then? I also see that Habana and Olivier are contemplating playing overseas next year. and your statement that the sharks and the lions are not able to build up a decent team is laughable and extremely ignorant. We'll see what happens in the currie cup this year. I'm looking forward to it. :-)
Koos Miller6/1/2009 11:42 AM
Hoekom word afrikaans so min gebruik om die Bulls geluk te wens? Ek is 'n Golden Lions ondersteuner maar die naweek was my span die Bulls. Baie geluk met die fantastiese vertoning en oorwinning
Benzo6/1/2009 11:38 AM
The presence of the old South African flag at the Bulls' unforgettable victory of 61-17 in the Super 14 final was "absolutely tragic", says deputy Sports Minister Gert Oosthuizen. Please man, go creep ANC backsides but don't moan about the lonely individual and try to make a case to please your bosses. Like many ANC people with their struggle "credentials", some Afrikaners live in the past and hug their old flag. "I didn't personally see the flag," said Oosthuizen. So. what is your problem? Did you not watch the match???
wanda6/1/2009 11:02 AM
Die bulle is my hero's!!! Hulle het darem waaragtig goed gespeel,ek dra my "bulls outfit" met trots!!!! You go guys!!!
Unabashed Dutchman6/1/2009 10:57 AM
To Andrew and Colin: The writer of this article asks the question "Golden era for Bulls?" and outlines his case why he thinks it might become one. He doesn't say it is one yet, but predicts that it might be despite some caveats. The Crusaders also haven't had one smooth ride with four or five Super titles in a row, they won it in 2006 and again in 2008, and five times before 2006 but the Blues, Brumbies and Bulls have broken their winning streaks. The Bulls might not be in a Super golden era yet, but 2 titles in 3 yrs aren't too bad, together with four Currie Cup titles in the last seven years, and losing in the final in 2005 and 2008, and in 2007 all our quality players were playing in the World Cup or else the Cup would also have been in a trophee case at Loftus. Those chokers the Sharks won only their 5th, yes 5th, (Currie Cup) title last year in 120 years!! And no Super titles....How many semi-finals and finals have they lost, too many to count....The Bulls and to a lesser extent the Stormers are the only teams in SA capable of launching Golden eras, history and results have proven it not the Sharks or the Lions. And besides, two or three teams can have golden eras at the same time.....
Anonymous User6/1/2009 10:04 AM
Wil net se baie geluk Bulls julle is die beste nou hoop ons net PDV gebruik se kop en kies 'n span op form. My SA span sal wees. 15.Zane14.J Fourie13.JDV12.Wynand11.Habana.10.Morne9.FdP8.Spies7.Jaun Smith6.H Brussow5.Victor4.Bakkies3.John2.Bismark1.Beast. bench. 16.Guthro17.Jannie duP18.Danie R19.Schalk.20.Jano Vermaak.21.Pienaar.22.Frans Steyn. Met so span cover jy elke posisie op die veld en het inpak spelers wat 'n veskil kan maak
Anonymous User6/1/2009 10:00 AM
congrats to player 23 ... the ref ... neutral refs definitely need to be used.
Jan6/1/2009 9:52 AM
To everyone talking rubbish about the bulls... I LAUGH IN YOUR FACES!!! :-)
Andrew6/1/2009 9:44 AM
I agree with Colin. You can only really tell that a team has gone through a 'golden era' once its over, and you can look back on what the team achieved over a period of a few years, like the crusaders can now do. Yes, the Bulls were superb on the weekend, and deserved the title. But 2 super 14 titles, as good as it might sound, does not consitute a great team, considering how badly they played last year. Its consistency that makes a team great. What will you bulls fans be saying if the bulls lose the currie cup (again), and then bomb out next year in the super 14? I'm not saying you shouldn't enjoy this moment, coz it was a really great season for the bulls, but don't get to carried away just yet.
Dean6/1/2009 9:39 AM
Thanks to all the Sharks, Stormers etc. supporters who have congratulated us on this awesome victory, you guys make me proud to be a Saffa. To all my fellow Bulls supporters who come on here and start being arrogant, please show some grace in victory, you are makng the majority of us look bad.
Unabashed Dutchman6/1/2009 9:33 AM
To all these idiots who villify Bulls supporters: Get a life and grow up!! What sets them apart from other teams' supporters? Is it because they're fanatical? Duh, our team is the best! Is it because they're biased? Who isn't! I went to Ellis Park last year when the Stormers had a good run to see them play the Lions, and let me tell you, their supporters were much worse. Swearing the whole time (after parents asked them to not do it in front of their kids), making lewd and indecent comments, and behaving like hooligans. I went to Loftus to watch the Bulls play the Crusaders with my girlfriend - she's English and I'm Afrikaans, in a solidly Afrikaans crowd - and before that she's never been to a rugby game before and she said afterwards she can't wait to go again as it was the most civilised thing she's ever gone to and she was impressed by the fans' commitment - needless to say her blood is also blue now! So stop being such whooses, rugby is a tough sport and the Bulls are a tough team, so expect toughness! Mooi Bulle, julle verdien alles, my bloed is vir ewig blou!!
Septer6/1/2009 9:29 AM
Bulls, Bulls, Bulls...like a stampede in Pamplona. Nowhere to hide for the New Zeeland chiefs, Bulls hoofs everywhere, everywhere. What a tremendous sight, the blue machine Cut accross the highveld grass, snorting air deeply cutting down the chiefs cheaply,sixty one seventeen Almost perfect, almost too grand, Just scream each number twenty three stand, with old and new flag Bulls! Bulls! Bulls! what a Loftus stampede.
Jake6/1/2009 9:13 AM
Everybody who talks rubbish about the Bulls are anonymous. It shows the lack of caracter and backbone.
Hendrik Nolte6/1/2009 8:57 AM
Baie geluk aan Boet Fick wat die wa deur die drif getrek het met sy kampioen span.
mack6/1/2009 8:44 AM
to Denise , of last week - you had so much to say about the Bulls-where are you and all thier other detractors today ? This time SPIES ran 75 metres ,was chased and still scored.NOW WE ARE ALL BOKKE ! UNITED WE STAND ,DEVIDED WE WILL FALL - COME ON FOLKS LETS UNITE ,ON EVERY OCCASION WE CAN ! VIVA BULLS !
colin6/1/2009 8:43 AM
Remember what they did last year after winning the title against the Sharks - so do not claim any Golden eras - no other team but the Crusaders have dominated this competition an a consistent basis - teams like the Stormers, Crusaders and Blues were very unlucky this season as they suffered injuries of key players and in the case of many of the NZ teams they have also lost key players to the European clubs - next year I believe that these teams especially the Crusaders will come back twice as strong and if they can get Carter back into the fold they will probably be the camps come next years competition. The Sharks also underperformed and will be stronger next season as they would have learn from the mistakes they made this season - for the Sharks as much as Kokket have contributed a great deal to some of the Sharks success he have also contributed a great deal to there demise - his suspension during a playoffs almost gave the Bulls a free ticket to the final. In closing I would like to congratulate the Bulls but also remind them to enjoy the victory as it will not be easy to retain it next season and also to be humble in there success.
Gerhardt6/1/2009 8:31 AM
Yea, hopes and dreams is part of it. Springboks will easily beat the Lions.
Anonymous User6/1/2009 7:47 AM
I now live in NZ and am an avid supporter of the Chiefs. I am gutted that we were smashed. You would have to be a complete brain donor not to include most of that team in green and gold ! They nailed teh Sharks, Crusaders and Chiefs in 3 weeks. If the normal political selections take place that impede young mens careers who should be rightfully picked, then i hope the Lions smash you 3-0
Anonymous User6/1/2009 7:45 AM
I now live in NZ and am an avid supporter of the Chiefs. I am gutted that we were smashed. You would have to be a complete brain donor not to include most of that team in green and gold ! They nailed teh Sharks, Crusaders and Chiefs in 3 weeks. If the normal political selections take place that impede young mens careers who should be rightfully picked, then i hope the Lions smash you 3-0
Anonymous User6/1/2009 7:24 AM
Fantastic Game... "My bloed is blou!!!" as the saying goes :) Well done guys!!!
Patrick6/1/2009 7:05 AM
I am a keen Stormers supporter and have to say, as others have, what a game! One of the best performances of demolition rugby I have seen by an SA team. I would not have liked seeing the Stormers playing in this final and thinking what the score line may have been. Now we need to demolish the British Lions and make sure they feel what SA rugby is all about - congratulations to the Bulls.
Anonymous User6/1/2009 7:04 AM
" JOHN" u are a LOOSER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! To the Bulls, fantastic fantastic fantastic!
Marcel 6/1/2009 12:29 AM
Well done Rob. Excellent article. Good on you. And to all the "anti - bulls", LOOK AND WEAP!! Specially you ghappies. You know who you are. Have always liked Mills. But what a boytjie! Gracious in defeat. Very humble and yet, one of NZs' very best players. Richie can take a page from Mills' book. Fellow Saffers, don't be to hard on Pieter.... whats his name? You cannot blame some-one for doing wrong when he does not know what he is doing in the first place!
Anonymous User5/31/2009 10:16 PM
Paige Davies 5/31/2009 12:48:52 PM
Firstly, to turn your support to another team just because they're performing better is dodgy in itself. Secondly, it's unbelieveble how you people always manage to bring race into it. The Bulls did brilliantly as a team and is without a doubt the best provincial SA team ever. But when people start going on about transformation, after 15 years of democracy, it makes me want to pull a luke watson
Anonymous User5/31/2009 10:12 PM
I was like WOW!!!! Awesome work boys, we are very proud!!!
morne engelbrecht5/31/2009 9:58 PM
bulls are 2009 champs and proof with determation and hardwork you get success,they proof with faith in GOD everything is possible!brillant rugby you will only get at loftus nowhere else in the world.good luck in test series against the lions and the currie cup.great to see the president behind south african rugby,viva BULLS en ZUMA
Jeff Aucamp5/31/2009 9:27 PM
Stormram,you gladden my heart.Finally some sense from the Cape.I NOW WANT TO SALUTE YOU-A stormers supporter that grew a brain.
Paul5/31/2009 8:33 PM
Article in NZ news paper, read it http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/super-14/2461303/Rampant-Bulls-mean-tough-Boks/
Stormram5/31/2009 5:42 PM
As an avid Stormers supporter I must concede these Bulls have raised the bar.The Sharks can be gratefull that these Bulls had one eye on the semis and one eye on the final,because if they played like yesterday then the Sharks would have bent over,touched their toes and conceded tripple figures.Yes I feel these Bulls are so good.I humbly salute the best team from our shores,EVER!!!
ono5/31/2009 2:57 PM
Anonymous User5/31/2009 7:11 AM Whatter girl you are. Wynand's tackle was perfectly legal. Think about it: all rules since re-admittance have been designed to speed up the game and and make it supposedly more"skillful" with faster and more athletic/agile players required. YET buste, even though this has worked against our more heavy and less athletic players, SA rugby seems to have grown. Reason why NZ and OZ no longer front runners is that they have forgotten one of the biggest basics in rugby which is massive forward dominance as a foundation for the backs. Massive mean big, strong, hard and competent. Cannot do it the other way round. This is why the BULLS are so good. BTW a BIG round of applause for Pieter "Slapchips" Rossouw: He must have had a hand in turning the backs around.
Antonie5/31/2009 2:31 PM
Very well done Bulls! Made me proud. The supporters were amazing. A classy performance by a classy team.
John5/31/2009 1:10 PM
You know what? I still feel the same about the Bulls. They are a good team - maybe even great - but their supporters leave me cold! Well done Bulls!! As for the supporters - you'd think they did all the work on the field! Typical!!
Paige Davies5/31/2009 12:48 PM
I'm a hardcore Sharks fan but turned my support to the Bulls when I realised the Sharks were out of it (before their semi with the Bulls). This victory is good for SA Rugby. The big picture here is that victories like this will drive the transformation of Rugby - how many little Brian Habanas and Akona Ndongane's who saw that match were inspired so much that they are already heading for Springbok honours in the future. Big results make bright futures for the game for everyone!
Anonymous User5/31/2009 12:45 PM
Best thing about this is 2 finals, 2 wins. Unlike some other oversized head fishies i know
Anonymous User5/31/2009 12:42 PM
Wynand Olivier must be included in the Bok Squad!
skywalker5/31/2009 12:20 PM
I'd love to see a Springbok trial between this Bulls team and Piet Helium's Bokke that played against Namibia.
Nick Armstrong5/31/2009 12:10 PM
Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant! The best of SA thrashed the best of NZ!! Now - let's see what our 'rocket-scientist' coach does...?? Alas - he's too caught up in appeasing his political bosses - and sticking to stupid ideas! Like Ruan Pienaar at flyhalf and John Smit at tighthead. When far better players - natural to their positions - are available - like Morne Steyn at flyhalf and CJ van der Linde and BJ Botha at tighthead. John is our hooker and captain - end of story. Watch him stick with Schalk Burger at no.6 - when Heinrich Brussouw and Deon Stegman have been better all season... All players being fit, this would be my Bok team: Zane Kirchner; JP Pietersen; Jacques Fourie; Jean de Villiers; Bryan Habana; Morne Steyn; Fourie du Preez; Pierre Spies; Juan Smith; Heinrich Brussouw; Victor Matfield; Bakkies Botha; CJ van der Linde; John Smit (c); Heinke van der Merwe. Bench: Bismarck du Plessis/Andries Strauss; Gurthro Steenkamp/BJ Botha; Danie Rossouw; Schalk Burger; Jano Vermaak; Frans Steyn; Wynand Olivier/AD Jacobs. That is a brilliant starting XV - our most powerful (the strongest tight 5 in world rugby!) - with fantastic players off the bench - to add a 'knock-out' punch in the final 20/25 minutes as impact players - with every position covered. Remember - rugby is played by 22 players today - and the men on the bench have just as crucial a role to play as the starting XV. Alas, what chance.........??? Lady politics and a dim-wit of a coach will prevail over sound rugby logic...
Framk5/31/2009 11:58 AM
After beating the Sharks by only one point the bulls/ chiefs final was a bore. The only time the Super 14 final is interesting is when teams from the same country apear in the final. The travel is a major factor. The final should be home and away and most tries scored.
Paul C5/31/2009 10:52 AM
Good shot Rob! Yeah ... today no venom by me .. just thank you sooo much BULLS for the shear extacy of SATURDAY 30 MAY 2009 ... good heavens ... it is simply and absolutely magnificant ... hey LIFE'S A SONG INDEED ....!!
Cyberflake5/31/2009 10:48 AM
This article was written with blue-ink, no doubt. - Perfect.
Wessel5/31/2009 10:22 AM
This was rugby on its best.Every one sayd that the Bulls will not make it but we proof them wrong.The Bulls are simply the best teem to be beeten in the world.There is not one player that dit not gave his 100% so in my eys i will say that all of them are goog.We can not say who was the driver that stand out on this match as ever player played very well.Thanks to all our Bulls players and all the fans that seported the Bulls.Please ask the Bulls to visit our town Vryheid as all our children whant to meet them.Every one always bypass our small town.We do have a big hart and we seport our nation.Thanks to all.
Boogeyman5/31/2009 10:22 AM
BLUEprint for Springboks :D
peebo5/31/2009 9:26 AM
I eat humble pie - bulls, I will gladly wash your supporters feet.It was awsome to say the least - the bulls team as is could easily represent SA.This coming from a stormers fan glad not to face the bulls on the day, they would simply have slaughtered all before them in that frame of mind.
Carl Muller5/31/2009 9:12 AM
As Victor and Brian said, All the glory goes to our wonderfull Father in Heaven!! Amen, amen.
Janine5/31/2009 8:38 AM
As fanatic Stormers supporter, I have to say: Well done Bulls!!! That was one of the best games I've seen in a long time. To the players: enjoy the victory, you deserved it. To the fans: yes, you guys can by very proud of your team!
Abri5/31/2009 8:21 AM
To the Bulls Team, YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST!! It is such an honour to be a Bulls supporter. To all all those critics of the Bulls, please be reminded that silence is golden, or as we say in Afrikaans HOU JOU BEK EN KYK NA DIE SCOREBOARD!! The only thing better than winning the Super 14 is winning it a 2nd time with a record score! Well done boys, you made us proud! Maak die Bulle ALMAL BOKKE!
Liam5/31/2009 8:19 AM
What a day to remember that one is staying in the memory banks for ever, it was fantastic over there the people the vibe the atmoshpere and especially THE RUGBY!!!!! thank you bulls for making it day to remember .......VIVA LA BULLE!!!!!!!!!!!
Chris5/31/2009 8:16 AM
Well done to the Bulls!!! What an incredible all round performance by these giants in blue! You did all of South Africa proud with a performance that could very easily have been mistaken as part of a hollywood movie script! To the chiefs and especially their captain thank you for the rugby you guys dished up during the competition, but also for the incredibly speech by Mils Muliaina after the game. I'm sure he endured himself and his team to many a Bulls supporter.
Chritian Abroad5/31/2009 8:09 AM
Well done boyz!!! You are truly blessed by our DADDY in Heaven. May JESUS reign over the Bulls forever and ever. Listen...you can see the only side left in South Africa that pray, giving all honor to our LORD and speak Afrikaans....aie ons moet n less hier leer ne Suid Afrika! Dankie liewe Hemelse PAPA vir die Bulle en hulle oorwinning! Van n Stormers Fan (Ag ja wat, ons is maar alma groen en goud binnekant)
Anonymous User5/31/2009 7:45 AM
I must honestly say that I do not think that there is even any international team who could have won the bulls yesterday. Just remember that they did this after trashing the hurricanes as well last week. There is absolutely no bulls player that I can think of who did not have a terrific game!!
Anonymous User5/31/2009 7:18 AM
Well done Bulls but dont think you are bigger than SA Rugby. The secret is to to keep your feet on the ground.
Anonymous User5/31/2009 7:11 AM
You lucky you had South african officials for the game, they certainly helped the bulls. we need to go back to neutral refs next season, the trial certainly hasn't worked. I hope Olivier is cited for the horendous takle on Demelmanch, there is no room in the game for thugs like that
Jaap5/31/2009 7:10 AM
Wow - what a way to end the season/c2009 super 14 campaign! With talent and abilities like that and the top players of the other provinces at the selectors disposal, would it be arrogant of me to think that the B&I Tourists might think that the selected the wrong time to visit our shores. Well done Bulle and "Go Get Them Lions Bokke" !!!
Gun Temba5/31/2009 7:03 AM
The Bulls made every South African very proud
Jakes5/31/2009 6:17 AM
I have never seen anything like this in SA rugby, it was like a bulldozer relentlessly bringing down a building, nothing stands in it's way.At some stage I thought it must be bad for a team like the Chiefs to work so hard in order to reach the final, and then to be overwhelmed by a monster. It makes me proud to be a Bulls and SA supporter, and I am glad that I am not the selectors of the Springbok team."Ek bly 'n Bul".
Denise5/31/2009 6:03 AM
Congratulations to the Bulls team and their management. What a game. Now to beat the Lions. From a proud Springbok and Sharks supporter
Anonymous User5/31/2009 4:15 AM
Happy for the Bulls. Couldn't help to wonder if this was a report on an outstanding bulls game, or a reporter trying to comment on Soccer and the parallels between the two sports. The story of South Africa...
Yoda from New Zealand5/31/2009 3:45 AM
From someone who thinks the Sharks have always been the best South African side in the Super14. Well done to the Bulls. Nearly perfect rugby. Congrats. Nearly perfect except for about 15 minutes just after the second half when they took the foot off the throat and a poor performance from Jaco Pretorius. Unforgivable to drop a ball over the line in a final. That was mediocre in an otherwise flawless performance. Compliments to the Chiefs, the Bulls were superior were on the day. Compliments to Mils for a very gracious speech at the end. Quite classy speech. I thoroughly enjoyed that game, a great advert for rugby.
Rudolf Grobler5/31/2009 3:16 AM
Heil die Blou Super 14 wenners! Fourie, Spies, Morne en Jaco was great op beide aanval en defense, eintlik almal van hulle. Geluk aan Wynand, skitterend daai gemors 8ste man vd Chiefs dopgehou en ook hul nr 2 vroeg uitgehaal. Victor, Habana, Bakkies, Derick, Chilliboy en Guhtro - julle is awesume gewees! Mag die Bulle voortbou vir volg jaar se toernooi. En ten slotte: Dewald Potgieter moet bok word, so-ook Morne en Kichner, as die Springbok keurders se oe oop was vanaand, dan sou Steve Hofmeyer se - Maak die Bulle almal Bokke baie toepaslik gewees het. Daar is geen beter span as die VodaCom Bulls plaaslik, of in Aus of in NZ, nie - period. My bloed is Blou vanaf 1973 toe my pa my na die 1ste game op Loftus geneem het van my lewe. Dis nou 36 jaar later en die trotse tradisie sal voortgaan tot infinity...
Cheathasupporter!5/31/2009 3:01 AM
BULLS you are surely a role model for all South Africans and for others that followed the super 14 series. This is what happens when you belief in yourself, work hard and stand together as a team without exceptions and put God infront! Congratulations to Victor in leading his team to VICTORY! in this final, WE are proud of you BULLS! As from Monday I suppose the Bulls team name will change to the SPRINGBOK team!!! How can be left out, YOU can do it!!!
Anonymous User5/31/2009 1:36 AM
I personally think this whole story is an over exageration. Sure the bulls deserved to win the title this year, and I'm happy that it was an SA team that won it and not the Kiwis. But to talk of the bulls as entering a golden era is way to premature. The only reason the scoreline was so one sided was because the Chiefs only found out they had to travel here on sunday, and only had a couple of days to get prepared. it was only 2 weeks ago that the bulls struggled to a 1 point win over the sharks (who were forced to change their game plan due to having to score 4 tries). if they'd lost that game and had to travel to New Zealand for the final it would've been a completely different story. Lets see what happens in the currie cup to decide who's the best team in SA. PS - I bet Ian Mcgeechan and his Lion cubs are shaking in their boots now, after seeing what the Bulls just did to the very same players that beat them 3-0 in the last series. go bokke!!
seebul5/31/2009 1:35 AM
Al wat ek sien is die blou masjien
wiledog5/31/2009 1:22 AM
fantastic, great show of rugby Bulle! you guys are a team to be proud of - not just in Pretoria, but the whole of S.A! and to the haters... 61-17 says it all - goodnight...
Anonymous User5/31/2009 12:53 AM
Morne Steyn deserved to win man of the match. Wynand Olivier was slow to start up with after coming back from injury and did score a try, but by no means should have won the title.
Anonymous User5/30/2009 11:12 PM
Very nice job. Makes it worth the long struggle when you finally get there. Well done. A relocation to KZN and a bit more training and you might get upto the Shark level!
Anonymous User5/30/2009 10:49 PM
After today's performance, you could probably put green jerseys on the whole team and I doubt that any international team would be able to beat them.
Telg5/30/2009 10:13 PM
Can think of 12 coaches and 12 teams who are elated that they didn't had to face the Bulls today. Our own national coach "Piet Helium" MUST sigh a tremendous sigh of relief. The problem is "who does he leave out". Thank you Bulls it was a day to remember - all out 'Shark rugby' just more prefect, complete, precise and over powering!! WAIT - MUST BE BULLS RUGBY!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide