Vodacom Super 14

Brüssow setback for Boks

2010-03-07 22:45
Email | Print
Heinrich Brüssow (Gallo Images)

Jóhann Thormählen

Bloemfontein – Springbok rugby has suffered a major setback with the news that flanker Heinrich Brüssow will not play rugby again this year.

The industrious flanker tore knee ligaments in the dying moments of the Cheetahs’ Super 14 match against the Hurricanes on Saturday and will be out for eight months.

Brüssow had been shutting up his critics, who believed he would be less effective because of the stricter interpretation of the laws at the breakdowns.

The fetching flank showed with his work-rate over the past two weeks that he does a lot more than just steal possession from opponents.

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotské said that Brüssow would only be available again for next year’s Super 15.

South Africa are in the privileged position of having Schalk Burger available and he can still form an outstanding loose-trio with Juan Smith and Pierre Spies.

The national selectors can also look at Deon Stegmann from the Bulls, who is one of the most under-rated fetching flanks in South African rugby.

Brüssow, 23, has played 13 Tests for his country and was crowned as South Africa’s young player of the year for 2009.

Local rugby scribes also voted him the provincial player of the British and Irish Lions tour.

He was one of the Cheetahs’ biggest stars against the Hurricanes.

Drotské said that the injury was a big setback and that Brüssow was irreplaceable.

Your Comments

StuartW3/9/2010 10:10 AM
'n Groot terugslag vir die Cheetahs....baie goeie wedstryd gewees om te wen en hulle het dit verdien...baie geluk... @ almal wat Stegman wil he, jammer, maar hy is nie goed genoeg nie...ek sal eerder vir Pedrie kies voor ek Stegman vat...Schalk sal weer sy plek inneem langs Juan en Pierre...
van3/9/2010 6:31 AM
Sorry Cheetas, Brussow is a major loss to you and SA Rugby, Deon Stegmann is the next best no6 in SA Rugby and out played Brussow in the CC Final but Brussow over a season is the best.
@Plonker3/9/2010 2:06 AM
You halfwit, do you think that by taking steroids it builds a huge body, you still have to train twice as hard otherwise the steroids will make you look like a balloon full of water! (Like your head). Spiess is a tremendous athlete and rugby player, fast and as hard as nails, he is an asset to any team and the envy of his rivals. Brussouw is another player that puts the fear into the opposition, he works hard and steals the ball so well that even the likes of Richie Macaw is left empty handed. Brussouw, your injury is a blow to Springbok rugby and you will be hard to replace, hope you recover and can pick up from where you left off! You will be sadly missed this year!
@ dave (& Plonker)3/8/2010 3:17 PM
From what you have read from Plonker today, do you really think he has any idea what "Curling" is. You are confusing the twit even further. My suggestion for him would be to rather just play with himself. Even if he is kk at that too, he can still enjoy himself.
dave3/8/2010 1:45 PM
@plonker.....go watch friggin' curling or something! You dont know anything about rugby....
@ nicodemus3/8/2010 12:53 PM
Must admit playing Spies in the backline does make sense and could work. Not saying he shouldn't be in the forwards at all, but I would love to see him with more space and especially if used as a dummy runner. He could have more of an impact that Lumo. Lumo was a "big", but stupit player with no ball skills. Could only run straight and that's it I'd would however prefer him on the wing - could be a monster. Kanko at No.8? Hopefully not in my lifetime. Way too soft and poor, poor hands. He does however have those moments of brilliance and could be an excellent impact player - once everybody else is tired and all the hard work has been done. We need a solid Nr.8 and I would look no further than Vermeulen of the Stormers. Nice positive rugby comment. Hope "Plonker" also reads your comment and maybe he'll figure out what blogging here is all about.
@PLONKER3/8/2010 12:42 PM
did SPIES sleep with your girlfriend or something..Spies is like a man truck and the obvious choice at numb. 8.... maybe its just jealousy, maybe you never played rugby in your life and think you know what you are talking about since you have been playing couch ruggas the whole of your life.... you are a DUMB ASS please dont ever comment on rugby again.... as for brussow he will be missed, what a champ. Brussow outplays most flankers in the world by far.. and is laugh laugh up there with Richie and George... Kanko is good but only at provincial level, he had hes chance last year at springbok numb 8, but showed he crackes under pressure. Burger is doing great for the stormers, but is a liabillity for the springboks,hes good but costs to much points... the only difference between him and bakkies is youd much rather play with bakkies than without him....
@ Troy3/8/2010 12:37 PM
Excellent advice to poor old "Plonker" Given the name, I do however think he is beyong help. Scanned his comments and found it not even worth any further comments. Don't know why his type is always spoiling something good for others. There are lots of bloggers with valid arguments and some good comments, then these type of "plonkers".
Filamon3/8/2010 12:06 PM
Sorry about Brussouw's injury, but luckily he has time to consider the Blue bulls and leave that K@k cheetah side!
nicodemus3/8/2010 11:49 AM
Following on comments by BBB, let me throw the cat amongst the pidgeons & suggest Spies be played,& specialised in, the #12 jersey where I have no doubt he will become a worthy successor to arguably, the greatest centre this country has ever had --- John Gainsford.Spies has weight, can read a game, & can also do the 100m in less than 11secs! Stopping a train would be easier. Kanko in at 8 in his place.
Nick Armstrong3/8/2010 11:48 AM
@ Rugbylover in the UAE: Well said mate. And keep up being a true supporter of your team - win or lose - always good to see.
Cheetah Oompie3/8/2010 11:37 AM
Wat meer kan ek sê as sterkte mater ek weet as jy terug kom gaan jy nog better wees, daar is mos net een Heinrich in n Springbok en Cheetah trui en aan wie daai nommer ses hoort. Sterkte Heinrich al wat n Cheetahs is saam met jou !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Troy3/8/2010 11:13 AM
@plonker - Many people feel jealous about Spies's ability from time to time. Jealousy is easy to deal with, once you understand what it's all about. Here are some pointers on working through your emotions and feelings of jealousy.(1) There are often false beliefs that underlie jealousy and fuel emotion. If you examine the belief, you can often eliminate the jealousy. (2)When you start feeling jealous about Spies's ability, ask yourself: Is it more fear-based or more anger-based? (3) Ask yourself, Why am I jealous over this? What is making me jealous? When you begin to understand what makes you jealous, you can begin to take positive steps without the cloud of negative emotion that accompanies jealousy...Hope this helps you!
Rugbylover3/8/2010 10:45 AM
Sitting here in the UAE and not be able to wait for the weekend to start to watch the rugby matches and then reading comments like the ones of Plonker, it saddens me. Really Plonker I am a Lion supporter and am quite proud of the boys even though we keep on loosing at least we are playing with heart but I also enjoy watching good rugby and support any team that wants to do that. That is not the point I want to make towards you bad comments, just the idea that you think that Brusssouw and Spies in not deserving of their places in the Springbok squad is a joke. I think Schalk is a good player but definitely not a great player like Brussouw. I think anyone who loves their Rugby will agree it is really a great loss for SA Rugby. Seriously get over this way of thinking because you are just embarrassing yourself and you are asking to be criticized by the readers.
MJ INC3/8/2010 10:43 AM
Good Luck Brüssow, I hope you make a full recovery from a terrible injury
Megabull3/8/2010 10:26 AM
This is bad for you guys but for us as Boks too. Get well soon!
Bye3/8/2010 10:25 AM
Schalk (yellow card) Burger and John Smit must retire.. ...They are way past their sell-by date..!! ....Bye-bye..
@PLONKER3/8/2010 10:19 AM
....you are a typical ignorant stormer-supporter... ...wake up poophole....!!
Dion3/8/2010 10:08 AM
Poor Plonker. Not only do know zilch about eigthman play. You make slanderous statements about people you know nothing at all about. You express a medical opinion based on zero facts and copy and patch your letters due to somer lack in your literary ability. Fortunately knowledgeable select the team and not idiots with personal axes to grind and ruled by faulty emotion and total illogic
Laetitia3/8/2010 10:05 AM
Dit is baie jammer van Brussouw. Hy is 'n fenominale speler, soos hulle sê, klein maar getrein. Sterkte Heinrich, Word gou gesond.
Nick Armstrong3/8/2010 9:58 AM
A huge loss. The best no. 6 (or 'fetcher') flank in world rugby - he outplayed Richie McCaw in 2009. All the best with your recovery Heinrich. As for the Boks - it's a no-brainer now - Deon Stegmann at 6. When will people finally get it through their brains - Schalk Burger is no longer potent in a fetcher role - he is a no. 7 flank in SA rugby - a very strong, ball-carrying, flank. Pieter Louw (the most under-rated player in SA rugby) would be 2nd choice at no. 6 now, after Stegmann. Stegmann, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies should be the Bok starting loose-trio now - with Schalk on the bench.
Stormer3/8/2010 9:36 AM
in comes Peter Louw!!! go Stomers! Well done!1
Super 143/8/2010 9:14 AM
Huge blow for the bokke. I would love to see Jean Deysel getting some playing time - once fully developed and at his peak he will make a kick-ass combo with Brussow!
Tokkie3/8/2010 9:10 AM
Dont worry boys. He will be back next year and he WILL be number six in the World Cup next year. No player in SA at six is better than him.
Knowledge3/8/2010 8:48 AM
Heinrich is possibly the greatest rugby player in the world right now, and was no doubt last year the best international player. The legendary Richie Macaw rates him very highly. This a huge blow to the Cheetas and Boks.
@Plonker!3/8/2010 8:47 AM
Really mate, get over Spies. You almost sound gay in your envy. Please take a look at most well conditioned players - especially the NZ boys. They all look like Spies. The only difference is that Spies is just naturally faster - they call it good genes (remember his father). I'm not even gonna discuss Kanko. He is not even in the same league - not even close.
Gotcha3/8/2010 8:47 AM
Good luck Brussow, I wish you all the best for a speedy recovery. I'm a Shark supporter but you are my favourite player at the moment.
@Plonker!3/8/2010 8:36 AM
Your name says it all. Nothing needs to be said further.
naknud3/8/2010 8:24 AM
Bad luck for both my teams, the Cheetahs and the Boks. Lets hope Skalk keeps a level head and doesn't penalty the crap out the Boks. Brussow will be sorely missed in 2010 but like any other player he is not replaceable. 2011 will be his year I am sure.
Mark3/8/2010 7:47 AM
Plonker, the name says it all!!! Brussouw is the best, with Stegman 0.5% behind him. Spies should be our no14 (like Lomu) with Alberts at 8. Kankowski also disappears in the big,brutal, hard, physicall games.
Zoast3/8/2010 7:45 AM
but he will be fresh for the World Cup!
Gerrit3/8/2010 7:39 AM
Brussow is a phenomenal all round flanker and much more than just a fetcher. Fortunately we do have several world class loose forwards available but he must be the #1 choice even ahead of Burger who can replace him from the bench. Get well soon Brussow and congrats to the Cheetahs on a wonderful win. @ plonker: You may want to work on your sentence construction skills. Spies are already being selected at #8 and he is far from useless. You contradict yourself and that just confuses stupid Dutchmen like myself.
Emile3/8/2010 7:27 AM
Bad, Bad news!!! Now we Schalk Burger will be forced down our throats again and the BOKS will have to start every test knowing that Schalk will cost them at least 9 points due to his dirty play. Poor Cheetahs. They don't have adequate depth and has just strted showing signs of improvement - now this huge loss. Deon Stegman is light years ahead of Burger and I just hope DIV will give him a chance before the 2011 RWC. We simply can't afford Schalk in the 2011 RWC starting line-up. After the eye gouging, one would have expected an improvement in his play - only got worse. I think he is a bit too slow for the new rules anyway (as a fetcher that is).
@ Plonker3/8/2010 6:52 AM
Are you a sharks supporter....... ?
Awa3/8/2010 6:39 AM
Plonker your rugby knowledge is up to sh*t. Spies can carry ball over advantage line and have scored from there, unlike Schalk Takhaar who sometimes use dirty play. Vermeulen not much better. Stormers will hit a bad spell once they travel against stronger teams. Like the Sharks they are overrated-Ruan, Kanko, Smit.
Jakes3/8/2010 6:31 AM
Brussow is very good and we need him.Burger is maybe on his way back, but he is by a long yard not better than Brussow. We have a lot of good players to fill the gap, but we are going to miss him dearly.
Plonkers mate3/8/2010 6:23 AM
@ Phu Paul Fouche...Schalk is a dirty dumb player???Where you from dude Pretoria north??Does your mother sell news papers on sunday by the robots???He is back inform and on top of world rugby.Did you listen to the game on saturday or was the neighbours car battery flat??Ok enough of that I like Spies and think the best of him is yet to come but poor Brussow aside I think he would battle to lift Burger or Juan out of the side this year...
Plonker!3/8/2010 5:22 AM
Hehehehehehehe! You are all a bunch of plonkers! I always thought it was only Blue Jake and Bulla that was brainless! Relax boys it’s Monday! What is true is that Spies is the most overrated idiot in world rugby and yes he has no ball sense, cannot offload, distribute, has k%k hands and hide behind his BB pack! He disappears in the big games. Anyway I don’t think he will make it to the next WC. A steroid is a wonderful thing the only problem is it tends to catch up with you. Ever wondered about Spiesies spiertjies and sudden injuries etc etc etc? Well I suppose I cannot expect idiots to know these things especially when they are BB supporters. Do you guys really honestly believe that Spiertier developed those “muscles” in the gym!? Never wondered why not 1 other S14 player looks like that? Spiere van papiere ouens word wakker!
Nico3/8/2010 4:36 AM
@Plonker. You are definitely one of a kind. Us Springbok supporters here in Australia think that you should move to a country where your immense rugby knowledge can be appreciated, somewhere like Afghanistan. Actually no - rather move to Bloemfontein, the real rugby supporters will qiuckly sort you out!
Shaun 3/8/2010 1:28 AM
All I can say is shame plonker..shame shame shame...I'm going to take a wild guess and say that you are a very very naive Sharks supporter.......
bulawayo-based-bok3/8/2010 12:26 AM
@plonker.......u r all over the place mate, Spies is the best athlete in world rugby and he stopped taking steriods after his blood clotting bonanza in 2007!!!!.......kanko is incrdible and is highly underrated, and will be an incredible impact player 4 the boks in years to come but Spies is just in a different league!!......all that was missing from his game last year was his shady defence but now he is the all-round player and there is no one else like him, he would beat Rocokoco or Sivivatu in a 50m dash anyday!!!! @plonker.........brussow was also phenomenal last year and almost single-handedly snatched the lions series for us!!......u need a fetcher!!! no matter what laws u r playing!!!
Albert3/8/2010 12:11 AM
@Plonker: You clearly don't watch rugby. Of you might just support the Mighty Elephants... Brussow is our best loosy at the moment. Yes, Burger is good, but Brussow has proven this year alone that he is better than burger. Brussow has done very well so far this year and it is a shame that he is out due to injury. Schalk is not as good as he was a few years ago. That's matter of fact, it happens. Stegman is also not bad. He plays good rugby and does get a few turnovers his way, but I wouldn't say he's on the level of Brussow. As for Spies? He is our fastest, strongest nr8 at the moment. You probably still support Luke? Well, sorry to say, but Spies is here to stay.
jan3/8/2010 12:05 AM
spies useless? brussow wasn't bad last year? are you drunk? heinrich was unreal! he is the prime example that i was thought and i think most young rugby players. its not your size that count, its the size of your hart. give credit when credit is due! i don't like to comment and i seldomly read the comments because to most of the people (plonker!) are fueled with hate, criticism and a real lack of knowledge. spies and brussow played a big part in tri-nations and most importantly the lions series. be thankful for players like these, most if not all the other rugby playing nations envy us on our talents especially in the loose trio department. Plonker please post your address so that these two guys can pay you visit and teach you a few things..
Johann3/7/2010 11:55 PM
Plonker? Apt name you chose for yourself. Looking at the stats this "Midget" you slander is 50times the player Schalk Burger can ever hope to be. Initially he was the replacement, but after Schalk was match ready he still was not selected because non-plonkers (i.e. people not like you) was in control of selections. You should be be going "oh f#ck what a massive loss" rather than your little emo tirade. As for Spies, he is a situational player... if every thing is right he does good, but if its bad he really sucks. Stegman is totally underrated, fully agree with the writer. I hope my team find somebody to fill Brüssow's shoes, it will be hard.
joe3/7/2010 11:51 PM
Rubbish Plonker. Brussow was regularly the best forward hands down in last years tri-nations, while Burger was out for ill discipline, almost costing us the test against the Lions (you conveniently forgot to mention). Burger's play is telegraphed, he catches, he runs, he gets taken down by two kiwi's... not rocket science.
Paul Fouché3/7/2010 11:39 PM
Plonker this midget picked up a 110kg player as if it was groceries. If it isn't to difficult try to remember the balls the midget stole of the ground that would have been tries during Lions tour and 3 nations. Schalk is a dirty dumb player, who can't tackle properly just falls over a player. Kanko as you call him is excelent against small countries like Namibia, but when it gets tough like against Lions or NZ he disappeares like Albert vd Berg. Vermeulen yes I'll agree.
Brussowtjie3/7/2010 11:38 PM
@ Plonker - clearly you know very little about rugby mate. Maybe you should rather not comment on a topic like this, because you are embarassing yourself badly. Brussow made a HUGE impact last year and played brilliant rugby. We are blessed with enormous talent in the loosies. As for Pierre - mate you REALLY don't know what you are talking about. You think that Pierre has no ballsense? Dude, seriously. That is a freak of nature. Schalk at 8? Nawh, don't think so - he's a flanker and he is playing great rugby once more. And I don't think has more ball sense than Pierre. Deon Stegmann is playing very good rugby and Dewald Potgieter is another youngster who can easily step in. I'm just sorry for Brussow, such a talented young player. I hope this does not ruin his career. Speedy recovery Brussowtjie!
@Plonker!3/7/2010 11:28 PM
Your name says it all!
Plonker!3/7/2010 11:06 PM
When will idiots like you realize that Schalk was out of action last year but is back this year!? Brussow was a temporally replacement for Schalk. Brussow wasn’t bad last year but with the “new” interpretation of the law the midget would have been useless in international games this year. Stegman!? You must be joking mate! The sooner the selectors select useless Spies at 8 the better for SA Rugby. Kanko, Vermeulen and even Schalk at 8 are much better players. Spies have no ballsense, cannot offload and/or carry/cover like a real no 8 should do. Spies are n overrated steroids baby.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Vote

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.