Rugby

Steyn to play for Boks

2010-05-28 17:29
Email | Print
Frans Steyn (File)

Johannesburg - Frans Steyn has confirmed his availability for the Springboks in their Test match against Wales in Cardiff on June 5, following a meeting with Springbok coach Peter de Villiers on Friday.

The meeting included convenor of Springbok selectors Peter Jooste and Gerrie Swart, Frans Steyn’s agent.

“We discussed our relationship over the past few months and certain concerns of Frans were addressed and resolved,” said De Villiers.

“Frans confirmed his loyalty and commitment to the Springboks and people of South Africa and I can’t wait to see him back in green and gold.”

Steyn’s future availability for the Springboks will be arranged with his club, Racing Metro.

The meeting also discussed statements and documentary evidence submitted to De Villiers.

He accepted the contents and apologised for any negative interpretations concerning the reputation and good name of Frans Steyn and Mr Swart, brought about by quotes attributed to him in the media.

The apology was accepted.

All parties now regard the matter as closed and will make no further comment on the subject.

Your Comments

@neil a6/1/2010 3:38 PM
Good one Neil, Spot on.
rugga fan5/31/2010 10:15 AM
so if he doesn't get hes say he wont play, what a baby!!!!!! i lost my respect for you mate, and he just made the springbok jersey cheap... frans needs to grow and harden the f*ck up!!!!!!
rugga fan5/31/2010 10:15 AM
so if he doesn't get hes say he wont play, what a baby!!!!!! i lost my respect for you mate, and he just made the springbok jersey cheap... frans needs to grow and harden the f*ck up!!!!!!
Dronkie5/31/2010 8:06 AM
@Sipho and Bob - eish....Frans is the no 1 fullback's at the moment and Ricky - was not guilty of anything (charges dropped) - He made an impact coming on for the stomers against the BULLS - Fourie killed Duvenhage at that stage of the match....
sean 5/31/2010 7:20 AM
Sipho better you just stick to soccer something you may know a little more about, not too sure though!!!
Sean Covele5/31/2010 7:07 AM
Rightieoh then Frans, show them why you are the best for SA rugby!!!
neil armstrong5/30/2010 6:54 PM
houston, we have an idiot.
PUMIZILE5/30/2010 12:46 PM
Helow I live overseas Who's dis Francois Steyn bloke (sounds like the UK David Beckhasm and the SA has been Benny Mc Carthy) did not see him in the Super 14 Rugby Final. May be he did not make the grade? South Africa is doing well enough dont screw it up and How come if he is so great he plays for some unknown club oversweas??? What was that radio Metro?? Where are they in Italy???Maybe he needs to earn his position back in the bok side if he is coming back??
fuzzy5/30/2010 7:50 AM
The most telling line is that PDV has apologized for any 'misunderstanding. Womder where he put his foot in his mouth again?
Charl-Louw Barrett5/29/2010 6:55 PM
Frans you are my hero you play the best rugby,and I am so happy that you could play for SA so kick the ball with your super boot
Charl-Louw Barrett5/29/2010 6:53 PM
Frans you are my hero you play the best rugby,and I am so happy that you could play for SA so kick the ball with your super boot
Viva Frans5/29/2010 3:58 PM
YAHOO! Frans is an amazing player, a world champion. What a boot he packs, between Morne and Frans the Boks will have a double-barrel shotgun once again. Frans is one of the Bok 1st XV who, man for man, will be able to pose a real threat of winning the World Cup in NZ. Wouldn't that be something? Perhaps even better than 1995! Well done Div for seeking to mend the fence. A decision in the national interest, rather than to satisfy egos and politics.
JustinD5/29/2010 10:31 AM
Goooooo Frans we love you man!!!!!!!!
Selma5/29/2010 10:07 AM
Kom Bulle, Julle het Francois nodig op senter of heelagter.
Greg5/29/2010 9:54 AM
Well done PDV and Frans for sorting out the differences. We need Frans Steyn he is a match winner who teams will think twice of kicking to the back because he will drop from 60m out. Can't wait to see Frans in the springbok jersey he is my hero. NZ won't like this they fear FS.
Swaartboer5/29/2010 9:53 AM
why must you assume that sipho is an avid soccer sopporter, I love soccer and i love rugby and you don't hear me talking all that kak. so plz just get ova that idea.
Nick Armstrong5/29/2010 9:46 AM
@ Sipho - I kinda 'hear' what you are trying to say... That some professional players - across various sports - do become "too arrogant" over their self-styled worth... No individual is greater than the game. And sometimes - yes - it does appear it's all about the money - and, yes - like you - that also gets my 'back up'... However - I do believe there's been a case of 'broken telephone' here... I don't believe for 1 second that Frans is holding the Boks to ransom over pay... We all know that Conrad Jantjes has been PdV's favourite since taking office in 2008 - and Frans, in frustration (and quite understandably - as he IS the best no. 15 in world rugby, not just SA - and streets ahead of Jantjes) - left our shores upset with the SA rugby hierarchy - and chose to further his career elsewhere... Perfectly understandable. Since PdV's brain-fart days (in game plan and team selections) of 2008 and the B & I Lions tour last year - rugby reason/logic appears to be settling in - and he's realised the INVALUABLE role that Frans plays in our game plan/strategy - not to mention as a priceless match-winner with his 60m penalties and simply outrageous drop-kicks from the back... Frans is an absolute MUST for the Springboks and our 2011 RWC campaign... So, come on mate - I think there's been a bit of 'bad blood' between the two in the past - they've 'made peace' - all good - let's all 'let it go' now - and get behind OUR team - the Springboks for all South Africans... :)
Carl Muller5/29/2010 9:39 AM
I would like to see the guys who are prepared to slug it out at home get the first chance. But I like Steyn..... Make money but when home needs you, come back!
Louis5/29/2010 9:32 AM
Go Frans, you good thing!!
@sipho5/29/2010 9:28 AM
Sipho we are supposed to support our sportsmen not boo them - you tw*t
Graeme5/29/2010 7:33 AM
@Sipho 80,000 cheers will drown out your lone little whimper. Boo all you want
@Sipho5/29/2010 6:13 AM
Ag shame, and the other 80000 will cheer him miserable monkey.
gerhard5/29/2010 4:51 AM
Spiho, Frans is one of the best back three players in the world. And for the same reason you beloved Stevan Pienaar plays for bafana and people are so glad to have him in the sa squad, thats the same reason this young frans styen is wanted in the boks squad, cause his world class. So hush hush and either support the boks, or go watch footbal or something... Go Frans and Go Bokke, make us proud this year!!!!!!
Impi5/29/2010 3:33 AM
I think the Head Office of SA Rugby should be moved to Bulawayo - it seems there is such deep rugby wisdom there ...
L5/29/2010 1:41 AM
SIPHO, you dont know the facts. The only 1 who needs to be booo'd is you! Its a terrible thing when crowds boo their own players. We are lucky 2 have a quality player like Frans.
tuckbox5/29/2010 12:57 AM
Frans Steyn is the most mecurial rugby player around at the moment and I welcome him back to South Africa with open arms.
Graeme5/29/2010 12:13 AM
@Sipho Get a life you retard. Do you understand rugby? Boo all you want dude, you'll be the lone voice.
Chris5/29/2010 12:04 AM
I would love to earn this d@@ses salary now. We have quite a few up and coming (and young) backs playing awesome rugby at the moment, and a few flyhalves that can kick the same distance as him. Let him go and dig for diamonds elsewhere, South African rugby doesn't need players that don't even know how to answer a cellphone. He has already got it made, with the family farm and the huge salary. Give someone who didn't kick their country into touch a chance.
G-boy5/28/2010 10:59 PM
PDV has come a long way since his earlier blabbles and rantings. I remember the days when he saw a camera and literally turned into a muttering clown. Now, through acts like this I see a man with character willing to put his ego aside for the better good of the Springboks.. Awesome. Well done PDV - now go win your second world cup or I might take this all back.
Rugby Supporter5/28/2010 10:56 PM
s it not "Snorre" that said overseas players would not be considered. So much for that. Now he is kissing butt to get them into the Bok team. So much for the players that stayed and played S14. Toss them aside like waste. Looks like to get into the Bok team you have to go overseas. Who the hell is Racing metro anyway. Im sure even the Lions could beat them
Staff5/28/2010 10:02 PM
To hell. Big headed who knows nothing about patroitism. He is another Benny McCarthy. This Frans dude is the one who refused to speak to Super Sport's Robert Marawa when they landed at OR Thambo from world cup victory. His big headed attitute will see him come to nothing but shame.
Frans supporter5/28/2010 9:22 PM
Hooray! Now to move Frans to inside centre where he is best suited and will make a name as the best inside centre ever (I enter RWC07 as evidence). Also get him another agent, this guy managing him is a twit and bad for both Steyn and SA rugby. Can't Habana's dad manage him? With Habana Snr he will learn some humility and respect for the Boks and SA Rugby and take his place amongst the greats.
What a joke5/28/2010 8:57 PM
I agree with Sipho, and yes FS might be good, but the bokke must always be bigger than the indiviadual its too great an institution. Spoilt young players should fight to get in and not be begged to get into this team
Bob5/28/2010 8:00 PM
@ Sipho: BUGGER OFF! Steyn is a great player! He has every right to have conditions, (almost) all players do have a right to have conditions or terms, & that doesnt mean that they have to be met! We dont really know what the story or history is behing Steyn & PDV. All that we do know is that Steyn is a WORLD CLASS PLAYER! If any of this has to do with the fact that he, and others, took up "jobs" overseas then it's pathetic! If there is any player that should NEVER be considered for the Boks it is our little criminal Ricky J. How can someone with no self control or discipline be selected to represent the Nation? Glad to see Frans in the Green n Gold again!
Doepie5/28/2010 7:29 PM
Sipho, I can see that you dont watch rugby alot. Wake up and smell the coffee, he is one of the Springboks to watch in the future. He won alot of games for us !!! I hope that he grow to a better player when he went over seas.
Baboon Monitor5/28/2010 7:21 PM
Glad this is resolved and look forward to seeing this great Bok again. Sipho ,you need monitoring! Frans will never be like a soccer player.
Deonic5/28/2010 7:04 PM
Frans Steyn is the most valuable player in world rugby. He is key to our WC 2011 campaign, and I am really really happy that he is available. This guy has got more BMT and a bigger boot than just about anybody. He is big and strong, and I nominate him as our player of the 2011 WC tournament. That is exactly how confident I am about his abilities.
Sipho5/28/2010 6:54 PM
Who the hell does he think he is. Sounding just like these overpaid football players all of a sudden. Spoilt, want best of both worlds. Drop him in the wilderness i say...his agent is a snake and poison...believe me. I am over this dude, will boo him when the come to Ellis Park.
bulawayo-based-bok5/28/2010 6:30 PM
would have loved someone to plant a secret video recorder in the room and broadcast it on the net :):) right now all we need to do is have two more meetings with Chilliboy and Januarie discussing their immediate retirement form rugby union!!!....i don't know if i'm right but it sounds like Frans wants to return to SA sometime in the near future?
ImpartialCanuck5/28/2010 6:28 PM
Great to see they put aside any differences for the good of the game, as he would have been a huge loss to international rugby - look forward to seeing him back in your famous green and gold!!
The Godfather5/28/2010 6:16 PM
Glad to hear. We need that guy in the Springbok team. Well done boys.
Pierre Ferreira5/28/2010 6:14 PM
What a relief that this has been resolved. Fransie is a great player. There was a lot of rubbish published by the press concerning this and it put him (and PDV) in a bad light. Admirably handled by Coach and player in the end. Well done.
Frans Supporter5/28/2010 6:09 PM
It takes a big man to apologise and I respect PdV for apologising. Now zip it buddy and concentrate on doing what you are suppose to do - keep SA rugby great as it is the only thing still "producing" positive results in this country. Hopefully bafana will continue their winning streak too. Welcome back Steyn - now go out there and make us proud.
Bok5/28/2010 6:00 PM
Very very glad to hear this! SA can do with his superboot, now please Sharks get him back.
zim5/28/2010 5:34 PM
Why don’t Frans and his manager just tell SARU that he is much more worth now therefore don’t want to or can’t risk by playing in a B side.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.