Coetzee hits back at ANC Youth League

2016-06-10 07:05
Allister Coetzee

Cape Town - Springbok coach Allister Coetzee has hit back at threats from the ANC Youth League to disrupt Test matches in the upcoming series against Ireland. 

It emerged this week through Youth League secretary-general Njabulo Nzuza that the organisation was targeting the three matches in Cape Town, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth for potnetial protests over the lack of transformation in South African rugby. 

Coetzee named his first starting line-up on Thursday for Saturday's clash in Cape Town. 

In the starting line-up he has fielded three black African players and two other players of colour. 

On the bench, Coetzee has selected two more black African players and two other players of colour. 

That means that in the match-day 23, the Boks will field a total of nine players of colour on Saturday. 

Since the threat, SA Rugby and the Youth League have met and it has been decided that the protests will not take place

Still, Coetzee was asked shortly after his team announcement on Thursday to comment on the threat... and he did not back down.

"What we’re busy doing and what we will be continuously doing is to make sure we select the best team that will represent this country," said Coetzee.

"And whoever is not happy with the team, unfortunately I can’t help that. This team is really representative of our country and I’m happy with that."


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Warren Whiteley, 21 Rudy Paige 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Jesse Kriel


15 Jared Payne, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best (captain) 1 Jack McGrath

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Finlay Bealham, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Rhys Ruddock, 21 Kieran Marmion 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Craig Gilroy

Read more on:    springboks  |  allister coetzee  |  cape town  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

05 November 2016
Barbarians v South Africa, London 17:00
12 November 2016
England v South Africa, Twickenham 16:30
19 November 2016
Italy v South Africa, Stadio Artemio Franchi 16:00
26 November 2016
Wales v South Africa, Principality Stadium 19:30

SA Rugby's coaching indaba is set to take place this week. Do you think the two-day think-tank will make any difference?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.