Six Nations

Schmidt leaves out Zebo

2014-01-27 21:47
Simon Zebo (Getty Images)

London - Simon Zebo was the most notable omission when Ireland coach Joe Schmidt named a 34-man squad on Monday for their opening two matches of the Six Nations at home to Scotland and Wales.

Dashing wing Zebo has regained fitness following a foot injury sustained in October, while fellow flyer Craig Gilroy was also called up to the Ireland camp last week after suffering a suspected concussion playing for Ulster in the European Cup against Montpellier this month.

Both played for the reserve Ireland Wolfhounds in their 14-8 win over second-string counterparts England Saxons on Saturday but did not do enough to impress Schmidt ahead of the New Zealander's first Six Nations in charge of his adopted country.

However, the duo could feature later in the tournament, with Luke Fitzgerald, Andrew Trimble, Fergus McFadden and Dave Kearney all vying for a place on the wing in Ireland's Six Nations opener against Scotland in Dublin on Sunday.

Meanwhile the uncapped forward trio of Cardiff Blues' Robin Copeland and Leinster pair Jordi Murphy and Martin Moore all made it into Schimdt's slimmed-down squad.

And with a growing injury list that has een utility back Keith Earls ruled out of the entire tournament, there was some good news for Schmidt when star fly-half Jonathan Sexton, the British and Irish Lions pivot in their 2-1 series win in Australia last year, appeared to come through injury-free after playing a key role in his French club Racing Metro's 25-5 win over Toulouse in the Top 14 championship clash on Saturday.

After facing Scotland, Ireland have a six-day turnaround before defending champions Wales arrive at Dublin's Lansdowne Road on February 8.

Ireland squad to play Scotland and Wales:


Darren Cave (Ulster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Felix Jones (Munster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), David Kearney (Leinster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92/FRA), Andrew Trimble (Ulster)


Rory Best (Ulster), Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues/WAL), Sean Cronin (Leinster) Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Mike McCarthy (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Martin Moore (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Munster), Tommy O'Donnell (Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster)

Read more on:    six nations  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

06 February 2015
Wales v England, Cardiff 22:05
07 February 2015
Italy v Ireland, Rome 16:30
France v Scotland, Paris 19:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will win the 2014 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.