Six Nations

Jones at lock for Wales

2012-02-09 18:36
Ryan Jones (File)

Cardiff - Former Wales captain Ryan Jones will switch from his usual role in the backrow to fill in for suspended lock Bradley Davies in his team's Six Nations match against Scotland on Sunday.

With Luke Charteris and Alun-Wyn Jones injured, Jones will line up alongside Ian Evans at the Millennium Stadium.

The move is one of three changes to the team that won their opening match 23-21 at Ireland last weekend.

Gethin Jenkins and blindside flanker Dan Lydiate have recovered from injuries and replace prop Rhys Gill and Jones.

"Gethin brings a wealth of experience to the team, which is the main reason we have brought him in for Rhys," coach Gatland said. "Dan's return from injury is timely and Ryan's versatility allows us to cover for Bradley with minimum disruption, with Lou Reed also giving us an extra option from the bench."

Scotland has not won at the Millennium Stadium since 2002 but created enough chances last week to have beaten defending champion England. Instead, simple errors led to a 13-6 defeat.

"We cannot afford to underestimate Scotland," Gatland said. "The amount of possession and territory they had against England last weekend meant that they should have won the game, and they will come to the Millennium Stadium buoyed by that knowledge."



15-Leigh Halfpenny, 14-Alex Cuthbert, 13-Jonathan Davies 12-Jamie Roberts, 11-George North, 10-Rhys Priestland, 9-Mike Phillips; 8-Toby Faletau, 7-Sam Warburton (captain), 6-Dan Lydiate, 5-Ian Evans, 4-Ryan Jones, 3-Adam Jones, 2-Huw Bennett, 1-Gethin Jenkins.

Substitutes: 16-Ken Owens, 17-Paul James, 18-Lou Reed, 19-Andy Powell, 20-Lloyd Williams, 21-James Hook, 22-Scott Williams


15 Rory Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), 14 Lee Jones (Edinburgh), 13 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), 12 Sean Lamont (Scarlets), 11 Max Evans (Castres), 10 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), 9 Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), 8 David Denton (Edinburgh), 7 Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), 6 Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), 5 Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), 4 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), 3 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), 2 Ross Ford (captain, Edinburgh), 1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh).

Substitutes: 16 Scott Lawson (Gloucester), 17 Ed Kalman (Glasgow Warriors), 18 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), 19 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), 20 Mike Blair (Edinburgh), 21 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors), 22 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors).

Read more on:    six nations

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will win the 2016 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.