Six Nations

Ireland name unchanged side

2011-03-08 17:03
Declan Kidney (AFP)

Dublin - Ireland coach Declan Kidney named an unchanged side on Tuesday for this weekend's crucial Six Nations meeting with Wales in the Millennium Stadium.

Kidney has kept faith with the side which defeated Scotland 21-18 at Murrayfield last month, as the Irish aim to score their third consecutive away win in Cardiff since 2007.

Ireland, who beat Italy in their opening match before suffering a home defeat to France, need to win on Saturday to keep alive their hopes of winning the Triple Crown.

However Kidney warned his team to expect a ferocious battle against a Welsh side who have shown signs of improvement since following up their opening defeat to England with away wins over Scotland and Italy.

"There's not a whole lot between us," Kidney said. "Going to Cardiff is always a daunting task. I know we're in for a huge game.

"Two years ago there was one kick of a ball between us. At this level and with the fact that the two teams know each other so well, space is going to be at a premium.

"It will be one of those games that whoever takes their chances will come out on top."

Ireland captain Brian O'Driscoll meanwhile said he had disregarded the latest betting odds, which have seen Wales installed as favourites.

"We don't pay too much attention to who's favourites or underdogs," O'Driscoll said. "Both sides have had mixed form; everyone's aware that if both sides click they are capable of playing decent rugby.

"We're not far away from clicking. I don't think either side will buy into who is the favourite or underdog at the moment."

Ireland (15-1)

Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster); Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Brian 0'Driscoll (Leinster/capt), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster); Ronan O'Gara (Munster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster); Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), David Wallace (Munster), Sean O'Brien (Leinster); Paul O'Connell (Munster), Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster); Mike Ross (Leinster), Rory Best (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster)

Replacements: Sean Cronin (Connacht), Tom Court (Ulster), Leo Cullen (Leinster), Denis Leamy (Munster), Peter Stringer (Munster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), Paddy Wallace (Ulster)

Read more on:    six nations  |  declan kidney


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will win the 2015 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.