Six to debut for Bok Sevens

2010-11-24 12:12
Paul Treu (Gallo)
Cape Town - Six players named in the Springbok Sevens squad for the HSBC Sevens World Series tournaments in Dubai and George next month, will make their debuts for South Africa in the World Series.

Lubabalo Mtembu, Boom Prinsloo, Pieter Engelbrecht, Sibusiso Sithole, Bernado Botha and Mark Richards will all get a first taste of the exciting World Series action.

Kyle Brown, Branco du Preez and powerful forward Frankie Horne all return to international action after their respective injury lay-offs.

Springbok Sevens coach Paul Treu retained seven players from the Commonwealth squad who won the bronze medal recently in Delhi. The squad for the Emirates Airline sponsored tournaments in Dubai and George were unveiled during a media launch at Newlands on Wednesday afternoon.

Treu said he was pleased with the mixture of exciting young talent and experienced Sevens internationals.

“I think we have a good balance and the two competitive tournaments in Delhi and Singapore gave the youngsters a decent taste of what they can expect over the next eight months in the HSBC Sevens World Series.

“We have put the disappointment of last season behind us and are looking forward to the season. Last season, Samoa and Australia showed how far and fast the game have progressed and we need to step up and hit the same level of competitiveness as them,” explained Treu.

The squad leaves for Dubai on Friday at 18:00 from the Cape Town International Airport.

SARU also announced a SA Vipers squad that is full of experience for the tournament in Sri Lanka this coming weekend.

The Springbok Sevens squad for Dubai and George is:
Lubabalo Mtembu, Boom Prinsloo, Frankie Horne, Pieter Engelbrecht, Sibusiso Sithole, Kyle Brown, Renfred Dazel, Bernardo Botha, Mark Richards, Cecil Afrika, Branco du Preez, MJ Mentz.

Management: Paul Treu (coach), Vuyo Zangqa (assistant-coach), Hugh Everson (physio), Alan Temple-Jones (biokineticist), Sebastian Prim (team manager).

SA Vipers squad to Sri Lanka:
Neil Powell, Hoffman Maritz, Steven Hunt, Paul Delport, Chris Dry, Jacques Engelbrecht, Logan Basson, Howard Noble, Richard Prinsloo, Lionel Mapoe, AJ Coertzen.

Management: Marius Schoeman (team manager), Maree Bester (selector), Aneurin Robyn (physio).

Read more on:    paul treu  |  branco du preez  |  cecil afrika


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

Habana believes in younger Boks
All Blacks ready for a 'hell of a battle'
Barnes to ref Boks, Wales clash
Brave Blossoms: 'Sport heroes of Japan'
Love 2 Meet

Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

The Springboks will face Wales in the 2015 Rugby World Cup quarter-finals at Twickenham on Saturday. Who will walk away victorious?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.