Sharpe wins top rugby honour

2012-11-02 07:41
Nathan Sharpe (AFP)

Sydney - Veteran Wallaby lock Nathan Sharpe has won Australian rugby's top individual honour following an exceptional year that saw him twice postpone retirement and assume the national captaincy.

The 34-year-old received the John Eales Medal, the Wallabies Players' Player award, on Thursday evening.

He is only the second person to win the medal twice behind openside flank George Smith, the man he recently surpassed to become Australia's most capped forward.

"It was very hard to lose the three previous captains in one hit," Sharpe said, referring to injuries that sidelined James Horwill, David Pocock and Will Genia this season.

"I've just enjoyed it for what it is."

Sharpe, who also won the medal in 2007, polled 259 votes from his peers over the course of the Wallabies' last 19 Test matches stretching back to the 2011 Rugby World Cup, 24 ahead of nearest rival Pocock.

He added to ABC radio that being presented with the medal by Eales was the ultimate honour.

"He's a guy that I cut my teeth under when I first started playing, so it's tremendous to get it from him in my final year," he said of the former Australian captain.

"I've learnt a lot from John over the years and will hopefully continue to do so.

"But probably more (importantly) to be recognised as a guy who puts in each week for his team-mates is something special."

Michael Hooper was voted Rookie of the Year.

Sharpe will lead the Wallabies on their European Tour starting this month and then hang up his boots for good.

Read more on:    nathan sharpe  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

Eben, Lood ‘brutal identikits’
6 reasons Boks won’t botch it
Fiji far too strong for Uruguay
Burger hopes for elusive World Cup win
/World Cup
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

The Springboks open their 2015 Rugby World Cup campaign against Japan. How do you see the match ending?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.