Three changes for Blitzbokke

2012-03-14 16:06
Paul Treu (File)
Cape Town - Springbok Sevens coach Paul Treu has made three changes to his SA Sevens squad for the upcoming HSBC Sevens World Series tournaments in Hong Kong and Tokyo.

William Small Smith replaces the injured Mark Richards, Pieter Engelbrecht got the nod ahead of Chase Minnaar while Dirk Dippenaar is set to make his SA debut as replacement for Steven Hunt.

Hunt will miss the trip to the Far East because of a family bereavement.

Former Tuks utility back Dippenaar caught the eye with some impressive performances recently for the SA Academy team in Harare and has been training with the wider group since the beginning of the season. Small-Smith is back in the squad after missing the previous two series events because of SA Under-20 commitments.

Good news for the squad is that Kyle Brown (shoulder), Chris Dry (knee) and Boom Prinsloo (neck) have all recovered from their injury knocks suffered in Las Vegas and Wellington.

The South Africans are yet to win the popular Hong Kong showpiece and Treu said his team are anxious to do well and to play to their full potential.

“We have played well this season but for some reason have not been able to really produce the goods in the key matches. It is something we as a team have spoken a lot about and our goal will be to be consistent on both days.

“The guys are committed and have worked extremely hard since our return from the USA. Our medical team did very well to get
the injured players ready in time, which enabled us to choose a good competitive squad,” explained Treu.

South Africa are currently third in the World Series standings with 76 points. New Zealand lead the race with 92 points, followed
by Fiji on 87.

The popular Hong Kong tournament will take place on 23 to 25 March and the inaugural Tokyo Sevens on 31 March and 1 April.

The 14-man SA squad will travel to Hong Kong on Saturday.

The South African Sevens squad:

1.    Chris Dry
2.    Boom Prinsloo
3.    Frankie Horne
4.    Pieter Engelbrecht
5.    Cornal Hendricks
6.    Kyle Brown (captain)
7.    Branco du Preez
8.    Bernado Botha
9.    Paul Delport
10.    Cecil Afrika
11.    Dirk Dippenaar
12.    Stephan Dippenaar
13.    William Small-Smith
14.    Renfred Dazel

Read more on:    irb sevens world series

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Who is your favourite South African rugby commentator - English or Afrikaans?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.