Final squads for Dubai Sevens

2013-11-28 20:03
Kyle Brown (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The final squads for the HSBC Sevens World Series second round were announced on Thursday ahead of the Dubai tournament on Friday.

The 2013/14 series kicked off on the Gold Coast, Australia, in mid October with New Zealand triumphant, beating Australia 40-19 in the final.

The nine-round series, comprising 16 teams divided into four groups, will culminate in England in May next year.

Among the top four seeds, Gillies Kaka - player of the World Cup in Moscow - made a welcome return for New Zealand, while Reds and Wallaby flyer Luke Morahan was included in a strong Australian 12.

England handed a debut to former Under-20 captain Alex Gray, while Branco du Preez and Cheslin Kolbe returned for South Africa.


Pool A: New Zealand, Kenya, France, Portugal

Pool B: Australia, Wales, Scotland, Spain

Pool C: England, Fiji, Canada, USA

Pool D: South Africa, Samoa, Argentina, Russia


Argentina: Martin Chiappesoni, Ramiro Moyano, Santiago Alvarez, Agustin Cortes, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Lucas Alcacer, Axel Muller, Matias Moroni, Nicolas Bruzzone, Gaston Revol, Lucas de Vincenzi, Diego Palma

Australia: Nick Malouf, Jesse Parahi, Sean McMahon, Tom Lucas, Luke Morahan, Con Foley, Greg Jeloudev, James Stannard, Ed Jenkins, Lewis Holland, Paul Asquith, Shannon Walker

Canada: Adam Kleeberger, Connor Braid, Nanyak Dala, John Moonlight, Conor Trainor, Lucas Hammond, Philip Mack, Patrick Parfrey, Justin Douglas, Ciaran Hearn, Harry Jones, Mike Scholz

England: Jeff Williams, Mike Ellery, Phil Burgess, Dan Norton, James Rodwell, Tom Mitchell, Sam Edgerley, Tom Powell, Marcus Watson, Dan Bibby, Mat Turner, Alex Gray

Fiji: Samisoni Viriviri, Pio Tuwai, Emosi Mulevoro, Benito Masilevu, Semi Kunatani, Osea Kolinisau, Donasio Ratubuli, Samu Saqiwa, Leo Naikasau, Jona Tuitoga, Mosese Mawalu, Waisea Nacuqu

France: Vincent Deniau, Manoel Dall Igna, Jean Baptiste Mazoue, Julien Saubade, Paul Albaladejo, Julien Jane, Renaud Delmas, Jonathan Laugel, Vincent Martin, Julien Candelon, Jean Baptiste Gobelet, Vincent Inigo

Kenya: Horace Otieno, Humphrey Mulama, Patrice Agunda, Felix Ayange, Philip Wamae, Leonard Mugaisi, Biko Adema, Andrew Amonde, Michael Wanjala, Eden Agero, Collins Injera, Oscar Ayodi

New Zealand: Scott Curry, Tim Mikkelson, Sam Dickson, DJ Forbes, Lote Raikabula, Tomasi Cama, Bryce Heem, Gillies Kaka, Sherwin Stowers, Joe Webber, David Raikuna, Ambrose Curtis

Portugal: Aderito Esteves, Afonso Rodrigues, Pedro Bettencourt, Pedro Leal, Nuno Guedes, Miguel Lucas, Frederico Oliveira, Carl Murray, Tomas Noronha, Manuel Costa, David Mateus, Manuel Pereira

Russia: Vladimir Ostroushko, Alexander Gudok, Vladislav Lazarenko, Mikhail Kudinov, Ramil Gaysin, Eduard Filatov, Ivan Korotkov, Ramil Yusupov, Ivan Kotov, Alexander Romanov, Alexander Berzin, Dmitry Gritsenko

Samoa: Levi Asifa'amatala, Misioka Timoteo, Lio Lolo, Faalemiga Selesele, Fale So'oialo, Oneone Faafou, Alatasi Tupou, Sani Niue, Vavao Afemai, Reupena Levasa, Ritchie Ah Chong, Tulolo Tulolo

Scotland: Scott Riddell, Gregor Young, Michael Maltman, Alex Glashan, Colin Gregor, Mark Robertson, Andrew Turnbull, John Houston, James Johnstone, Chris Dean, Lee Jones, Jack Ferguson

South Africa: Chris Dry, Philip Snyman, Frankie Horne, Jamba Ulengo, Sampie Mastriet, Kyle Brown, Branco du Preez, Stephan Dippenaar, Justin Geduld, Cecil Afrika, Werner Kok, Cheslin Kolbe

Spain: Adam Newton, Matias Tudela, Gerardo de la Llana, Ignacio Martin, Jaike Carter, Angel Lopez, Pablo Feijoo, Javier Carrion, Francisco Hernandez, Sergio Fernandez, Igor Genua, Nill Baro

USA: Carlin Isles, Nick Edwards, Andrew Durutalo, Nu'u Punimata, Zack Test, Brett Thompson, Folau Niua, Pat Blair, Ryne Haitsuka, Zach Mizell, Stephen Tomasin, Miles Craigwell

Wales: Luke Morgan, Alex Walker, Lee Williams, Chris Knight, Ashley Evans, James Davies, Rhys Jones, Rhys Shellard, Adam Field, Samuel Cross, Jason Harries, Adam Thomas

Read more on:    sevens  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Who is your favourite South African rugby commentator - English or Afrikaans?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.