Blitzbokke 'B' off to Kenya

2011-11-01 15:38
Brian Shabangu (File)
Cape Town - Durbanite Brian Shabangu will lead an exciting Emerging SA Sevens rugby team to Nairobi on Thursday where they will face some top-class international opposition in the annual Safaricom Kenya Sevens tournament from 4 - 6 November.

Samoa, Auckland, Bristol, False Bay RFC (SA club team) and Spain are some of the strong line-ups that will compete alongside the hosts and the South Africans at this popular international Sevens event where the organisers are expecting 15 000 spectators.

Last year the South Africans lost 10-7 in extra-time time against the tournament hosts and the team is therefore highly motivated to land a third tournament win, to add to their back-to-back titles of 2006-2007.

Chase Minnaar, Frankie Horne, Cecil Afrika and Bernado Botha are some of the current Springbok Sevens players who have all previously represented the Emerging Sevens team in Kenya. Some of the former Sevens players who also first donned the Emerging jersey include Norman Nelson, Mzwandile Stick, Jacques Engelbrecht and Mpho Mbiyozo.

Coach Arthur Janson said he was looking forward to the tournament: “I have no doubt that some of the current crop of players who will be in action in Kenya this coming weekend will definitely break into the Springbok Sevens team. They have lots to play for as well as possible inclusion in the Springbok Sevens training programme.”

The team, who is currently preparing at Stellenbosch, leaves for Nairobi on Thursday and will arrive back in the country next Monday.

The participating teams in the Kenya Sevens are: Kenya, Auckland, Bellmont Shore, Bristol, SA Emerging, False Bay RFC, Grenoble, Les Bleu, Namibia, Samoa, Samurai, Spain, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

The SA Sevens Emerging team is: Willie le Roux (Boland), Samora Lwazi Fihlani (Border), Mlindazwe Nqoro, Marlon Lewis (Eastern Province), Carlyle Hendricks (Falcons), Jamba Ulengo (Free State), Willie Roux (Boland), Simphiwe Brian Shabangu (KwaZulu-Natal, captain), Vainon Willis (Leopards), Deon Scholtz, Jonathan Adendorf, Willem Bouwer (Mpumalanga), Ruan Mostert (Western Province).



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Who is your favourite South African rugby commentator - English or Afrikaans?

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.