Blitzboks kick off new season

2011-11-18 16:40
Bernardo Botha (Gallo Images)
Johannesburg - The Springbok Sevens rugby team has departed for Australia where the new HSBC Sevens World Series season will kick-off on 25-26 November at the Gold Coast.

A tough opening stanza awaits the international Sevens teams as all of them will be in action in three tournaments before the end of the year, each to be staged on a different continent and on three consecutive weeks.

Despite this daunting task, Springbok Sevens coach, Paul Treu said his team was looking forward to get the season underway.

“Although we only managed to get the full squad together recently, most of the guys have been in training for a while now while the rest played Absa Currie Cup rugby. The players trained hard at Stellenbosch once we all got together and the guys are just looking forward to get onto the field and get the season underway at the Gold Coast,” explained the coach before he boarded the flight to Australia via Cape Town and Johannesburg.

Treu has selected a very good, balanced squad of fourteen players for the first three rounds and he also included the current SARU and IRB Sevens Player of the Year, Cecil Afrika. The playmaker was the leading points and try scorer last season and he  will most likely make his return to action in Dubai only, depending on how his facial injury responds to treatment.

Treu also confirmed that negotiations with Cornal Hendricks of the Regent Boland Cavaliers were successful and now concluded and that the player will join his Springbok Sevens team on a two year contract, further bolstering his contracted group of players. Hendricks is not part of the current travelling party. 

Team sponsor, Absa, held a brief function for the squad at the OR Tambo  International Airport where they conveyed their best wishes to Kyle Brown (captain) and his team for the upcoming international Sevens season.

The Springbok Sevens travelling squad for the first three rounds of the new HSBC Sevens World Series:

1.    Chris Dry
2.    Kyle Brown (captain)
3.    Frankie Horne
4.    Boom Prinsloo
5.    Chase Minnaar
6.    Paul Delport
7.    Renfred Dazel
8.    Mark Richards
9.    Steven Hunt
10.    Bernado Botha
11.    Robert Ebersohn
12.    William Small-Smith
13.    Cecil Afrika
14.    Branco du Preez

HSBC Sevens World Series dates

25-26 November 2011 – Gold Coast, Australia
2-3 December 2011 – Dubai
9-10 December 2011 – Nelson Mandela Bay, South Africa
3-4 February 2012 – Wellington, New Zealand
10-12 February 2012 – Las Vegas, USA
23-25 March 2012 – Hong Kong
31 March-1 April – Japan
5-6 May 2011 – Edinburgh, Scotland
12-13 May 2011 – London, England

Issued by SARU Corporate Affairs

Read more on:    sevens  |  blitzbokke

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Who is your favourite South African rugby commentator - English or Afrikaans?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.