Scotland name six new players

2012-01-05 14:20
Andy Robinson (File)

Edinburgh - Scotland coach Andy Robinson named six uncapped players in a 36-man squad announced here on Thursday for the opening rounds of the Six Nations Championship.

Among the newcomers are Wales-born London Irish centre Steven Shingler, qualified for Scotland through his mother, Edinburgh wing Lee Jones and 19-year-old Glasgow fullback Stuart Hogg.

Glasgow back-row Robert Harley and flyhalf Duncan Weir have yet to play Test rugby too, with Sale flanker/lock Fraser McKenzie also waiting for his first taste of full international action.

Scotland will be looking to bounce back from a World Cup in New Zealand where they were eliminated at the group stage for the first time after defeats by both Argentina and England.

They face arch-rivals England in the latest edition of rugby union's oldest Test fixture when they open their Six Nations campaign with a Calcutta Cup clash at Murrayfield on February 4 before travelling to Cardiff to play Wales the following weekend.

Former England flanker and coach Robinson has selected all 28 available players from the 30-man World Cup squad - record cap holder and points scorer Chris Paterson and forward Nathan Hines have both retired from international rugby since the tournament.

Scotland 36-man squad announced on Thursday for the Six Nations internationals at home to England on February 4 and away to Wales on February 12:

Backs: Joe Ansbro (London Irish/ENG), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow), Simon Danielli (Ulster/IRL), Nick de Luca (Edinburgh, Max Evans (Castres/FRA), Stuart Hogg, Ruaridh Jackson (both Glasgow), Lee Jones, Greig Laidlaw (both Edinburgh), Rory Lamont (Glasgow), Sean Lamont (Scarlets/WAL), Rory Lawson (Gloucester/ENG), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues/WAL), Steven Shingler (London Irish/ENG), Duncan Weir (Glasgow)

Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton (both Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale/ENG), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Richie Gray, Dougie Hall (both Glasgow), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester/ENG), Robert Harley (Glasgow), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow), Scott Lawson (Gloucester/ENG), Moray Low (Glasgow), Fraser McKenzie (Sale/ENG), Euan Murray (Newcastle/ENG), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester/ENG), Richie Vernon (Sale/ENG)

Read more on:    six nations  |  andy robinson


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Your thoughts on Adriaan Strauss being named the 57th Springbok skipper?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.