SARU changes SA U20 squad

2012-01-15 14:33
Paul Jordaan (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - The national selectors made one change to the South African Under-20 squad for their forthcoming camp in Stellenbosch, which starts on Monday.

Springbok Sevens player Paul Jordaan was released from the camp to train with his Super Rugby franchise, the Sharks, while Craig Barry is still struggling with a groin injury and will not train with the squad.

Barry will be replaced in the training squad by Blue Bulls winger Ruwellyn Isbell, a member of the SA Schools team last year that has since joined the Pretoria-based union from Free State.

“Both Paul and Craig are still very much part of our plans as we step up a gear with our first training camp of 2012,” said SA Under-20 coach Dawie Theron.

“The Junior World Championships kicks off in less than five months’ time, which means the real hard work starts now. We’ve laid a very solid foundation with our two camps late last year, but if we are going to perform well this season, we need to knuckle down and put in lots of very hard work.”

Jordaan, who will not be replaced in the squad for the camp, is one of six players that can’t attend the camp because of Super Rugby commitments. The others are Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Ruan Venter (Lions) and Johan Goosen (Cheetahs).

Furthermore, Tsotsho Mbovane and Pieter Stephan du Toit are also still struggling with injuries and will not attend the training camp.

The SA U20s will play two friendlies during their camp, which concludes on Saturday, 28 January. On 21 January they will face Ikeys at the University of Cape Town, after which they will play Maties in Stellenbosch on 27 January.

The revised SA Under-20 training squad is:

Fullback: Marais Schmidt.
Wings: Travis Ismail, Jan de Klerk, Ruwellyn Isbell.
Centres: Jan Serfontein, William Small-Smith, Mathys Smit, Kobus van Wyk.
Flyhalves: Tony Jantjies, Errol Jaggers.
Scrumhalves: Kevin Luiters, Rudi van Rooyen, Hlanhla Hlungwane, Vian van der Walt.
Loose forwards: Shaun Adendorf, Wian Liebenberg, Fabian Booysen, Khaya Majola, Siseko Jafta, Cobus Nel.
Locks: Ettiene Oosthuizen, Paul Willemse, Ruan Botha, Jacques du Plessis.
Props: Marzuq Maarman, Gideon Muller, Allan Dell, Nicolaas van Dyk.
Hookers: Jason Thomas, Mihlali Mpafi, Mark Pretorius, Franco Marais.

Read more on:    dawie theron

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Did Stormers and Springboks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit deserve to be named SA Rugby Player of the Year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.