SA quartet make PRO12 Dream Team

2015-05-12 09:10
Josh Strauss (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Four South Africans have made it into the PRO12’s Dream team for the 2014/15 season.

The PRO12 is a competition consisting of franchise teams from Ireland, Wales, Scotland and Italy.

No 8 Josh Strauss (Glasgow), flank CJ Stander (Munster), lock Franco van der Merwe (Ulster) and prop WP Nel (Edinburgh) all made the cut for the team voted for by a media panel of 11 journalists from all four countries.

Aside from Van der Merwer, who is a Springbok, Strauss, Stander and Nel are likely to make their Test debuts in 2015 for their adopted countries.

Strauss and Nel could be picked for Scotland before the Rugby World Cup (in September and October), while Stander becomes eligible to play for Ireland in October, having joined Munster from the Bulls in 2012.

PRO12 Dream Team of the 2014/15 season - via

15 - Liam Williams - Scarlets

14 - Tommy Seymour - Glasgow Warriors

13 - Robbie Henshaw - Connacht

12 - Peter Horne - Glasgow Warriors

11 - Craig Gilroy - Ulster

10 - Dan Biggar - Ospreys

9 - Rhys Webb - Ospreys

8 - Josh Strauss - Glasgow Warriors

7- Tommy O'Donnell - Munster

6- CJ Stander - Munster

5- Franco van der Merwe - Ulster

4- Alun Wyn Jones - Ospreys

3 - WP Nel - Edinburgh

2- Rory Best - Ulster

1- Denis Buckley - Connacht


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Did Stormers and Springboks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit deserve to be named SA Rugby Player of the Year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.