SA duo in Ireland squad

2014-10-22 10:15
Richardt Strauss (File)
Cape Town - South African-born duo, Richardt Strauss and Robbie Diack, have been included in Ireland's 37-man squad for the November internationals.

Ireland tackle South Africa at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday, November 8, before facing Georgia on Sunday, November 16 and Australia on Saturday, November 22.

Ulster flank Diack, who won his first Test cap for Ireland against Argentina in June, has shown good form in the Celtic Pro12 and has been rewarded with another call-up, while Strauss returned to the playing field two weeks ago following a torn hamstring which kept him sidelined for nearly five months. 

According to the ESPNscrum website, coach Joe Schmidt also named  five uncapped players in his squad. They are Darragh Leader, Nathan White, Jared Payne, Dave Foley and Dominic Ryan.

Ireland face a string of injuries to senior players in what are key fixtures ahead of next year's Rugby World Cup, with the likes of Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Cian Healy, Sean O'Brien and Donnacha Ryan all unavailable for selection.

Ireland squad:

Stephen Archer, Rodney Ah You, Rory Best, James Cronin, Sean Cronin, Robbie Diack, Dave Foley, Chris Henry, Jamie Heaslip, Dave Kilcoyne, Mike McCarthy, Jack McGrath, Paul O'Connell (captain), Tommy O'Donnell, Peter O'Mahony, Mike Ross, Rhys Ruddock, Dominic Ryan, Richardt Strauss, Devin Toner, Nathan White

Tommy Bowe, Godpn D'Arcy, Graig Gilroy, Robbie Henshaw, Felix Jones, Rob Kearney, Ian Keatly, Darragh Leader, Ian Madigan, Kieran Marmion, Conor Murray, Stuart Olding, Jared Payne, Eoin Reddan, Johnny Sexton, Simon Zebo

Read more on:    richardt strauss

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Did Stormers and Springboks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit deserve to be named SA Rugby Player of the Year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.