SA Students squad announced

2012-06-11 11:23
André Kemp (File)
Cape Town - The South African Students team to take on the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth and Namibia in Windhoek has been named.

They will play a friendly against the Eastern Province Kings on June 19 before taking on Namibia in an international fixture on June 23.

The squad will assemble in Port Elizabeth on June 16.

No players from the Varsity Cup winning University of Pretoria’s Tukkies team have been considered, due to a match between Tuks and College Rovers (called the Champions' Challenge) to be played on June 22 at Kings Park (kick-off is 17:00).

North West University’s Joubert Engelbrecht will only play in Windhoek, as he is a member of the SA Barbarians (North) team to face England on June 19 and his place for the match against the Kings will be taken by Howard Mnisi (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University).

SA Students squad:

Fanie van der Walt (No 8, University of Free State), Justin Wheeler (flank, University of Johannesburg), Helmut Lehmann (flank, University of Stellenbosch), Sam Mbombo (flank, University of Stellenbosch), Siyanda Ndlovu (lock, North West University), Marnus van Huysteen (lock, University of Johannesburg), Hugo Kloppers (lock, University of Stellenbosch), Stephan Hamman (prop, University of Stellenbosch), John Roy Jenkins (prop, North West University), Wesley Chetty (prop, University of Cape Town), Niel Rautenbach (hooker, University of Cape Town), Francois du Toit (hooker, University of Johannesburg)

Andrè Smith (fullback, University of Stellenbosch), Rian Arends (winger, University of Witwatersrand), Joe Seerane (winger, North West University), Mark Hodskiss (University of Stellenbosch), Joubert Engelbrecht (centre, North West University)/Howard Mnisi (centre, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University), Andrè Kemp (flyhalf, University of Stellenbosch), Francois du Toit (flyhalf, University of Free State), Pieter Rademan (scrumhalf, University of Free State), Rudy Paige (scrumhalf, University of Johannesburg), Divan van Zyl (utility back, University of Johannesburg)

Head coach: Chean Roux (University of Stellenbosch)
Assistant coaches: Fana Elliott (University of Fort Hare), Brent Janse van Rensburg (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University)
Team Manager: Mobi Dick (University of Johannesburg), Logistics Manager: Jimmy Potgieter (University of Johannesburg)
Conditioning coach: Warren Adams (University of Stellenbosch)
Team Doctor: Pierre Viviers (University of Stellenbosch)
Physiotherapist: Tanya Green (University of Stellenbosch)
USSA Rugby Representative: Bongo Nontshinga (Walter Sisulu University of Technology)

Read more on:    rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • SS3
    Thu, 31 Jul 2014 @
  • SS4
    Thu, 31 Jul 2014 @
  • SS5
    Thu, 31 Jul 2014 @
  • SS7
    Thu, 31 Jul 2014 @
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

We're down to four teams left in contention for the 2014 Super Rugby title. Who will be crowned champions?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.