Wales won't appeal penalty
Brenden Nel - SuperSport
Wellington - Wales will not look to Rugby World Cup officials to take action against the touch judges for not awarding a penalty that looked to have been over.
Click to BUY the new Drifta Mobile USB Decoder
Click to BUY the Rugby World Cup 2011 Game for Xbox
Welsh fullback James Hook kicked a solid penalty in the 14th minute of their 17-16 loss to the Springboks which looked as if it may have curled back into the crossbar, but at a fair height above the uprights. But the penalty wasn’t awarded by assistant referees George Clancy and Vinny Munro and Hook turned away shaking his head.
Asked afterwards why the television match official wasn’t used to confirm the penalty’s result, coach Warren Gatland steered clear of the potential minefield.
“I thought it was interesting when at halftime we went to the tunnel and were talking amongst the coaches. We thought it was over and Frans Steyn walked past us and said “yeah I thought it was over”.
“They have the technology but at the end of the day you can’t complain about it. It happens and you have to take the good with the bad. The penalty was potentially costly but we also missed a clear drop goal at posts and James (Hook) also missed a penalty shot at goal.
“That’s part of the game and we respect that.”
Wales will however be hoping the IRB look into the matter, which could have determined a different outcome to the Pool D match.