Cape Town - Australian referee Angus Gardner was correct when he punished Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth at a lineout during last Saturday’s Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks in Christchurch.
Early in the game, the Springboks conceded a free-kick at a lineout when the referee deemed Etzebeth had jumped too early.
Gardner told a confused Etzebeth that he cannot “dummy jump”.
According to Rugby365, the correct call was made.
Etzebeth was at number two in the lineout and jumped early before the ball was thrown in by Bok hooker and captain, Adriaan Strauss. Etzebeth's movement caused All Black opponent Brodie Retallick to also jump.
Moments later, Strauss threw the ball to Pieter-Steph du Toit who was behind Etzebeth in the lineout.
World Rugby’s Law 19.10 (f) states: Jumping, supporting or lifting before the ball is thrown. A player must not jump or be lifted or supported before the ball has left the hands of the player throwing in.
Sanction: Free-kick on the 15-metre line
The decision to award New Zealand a free-kick was therefore the correct one.