Rugby Championship

De Allende off the hook, issued with warning

2017-10-08 12:06
Jerome Garces shows Damian de Allende a red card (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee has issued a warning to Damian de Allende of South Africa after he was issued with a red card during a Rugby Championship match at the weekend.

CLICK: To support South Africa's Rugby World Cup 2023 bid

READ: Marx masterclass suggests bright Bok future

READ: Sonny Bill pays tribute to Springboks

De Allende was issued a red card for a breach of Law10.4(o) "Late charging the kicker" in The Rugby Championship match between South Africa and New Zealand at Newlands, Cape Town on Saturday.

The Foul Play Review Committee found that the offence did not warrant a Red Card in all the circumstances and has issued a warning.

SANZAAR Judicial Rule 7.4 states:

"The Foul Play Review Committee may issue a Warning to a Player who has been cited or sent off if in the opinion of the Foul Play Review Committee the act of Foul Play came close to but did not warrant the Player receiving a red card in circumstances where the Player did not receive a yellow card for the act of Foul Play during the Match.”

The SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee of Nigel Hampton QC (Chairman), Stefan Terblanche and John Langford assessed the case.

In his finding, Foul Play Review Committee Chairman Nigel Hampton QC ruled the following:

"Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles, as well as submissions from his legal representative, Attie Heyns, the Foul Play Review Committee found that, on an objective study, and with more time and video angles than the Referee had available to him, the act of foul play committed only came close to warranting a red card, and therefore a warning (equivalent to a yellow card) was issued instead."

"The charge was late and the player had time to pull out before colliding with his opponent. However, the collision was not effected with a great deal of force, with the initial contact being made with the player's forearm on the opponent's chest, from whence the arm rose up to make contact, again not forceful, onto the opponent's neck. The opponent was not injured."

"The player is therefore free to play and will serve no suspension”

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

NEXT ON SPORT24X

What To Read Next

 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Logs
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team
Vote

The Springboks' 25-24 defeat to the All Blacks at Newlands was ...

 
 
Men
Women
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

Featured

The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs
 

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

 
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.