Rugby Championship

Meyer: This team is growing

2012-09-12 08:01
Heyneke Meyer (Gallo)

Wellington - Prop Jannie du Plessis has been included in the South African team to play the rampant All Blacks in Dunedin on Saturday despite struggling with a hamstring injury.

Coach Heyneke Meyer has made just two changes to the side that lost to Australia last weekend, with Flip van der Merwe coming in for suspended lock Eben Etzebeth and Francois Louw replacing Marcell Coetzee on the flank.

"New Zealand are best in contesting at the breakdown. We decided to go with Flo (Louw) because he's a specialist. It's a horses for courses approach," Meyer said.

"Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option."

Meyer is confident Du Plessis, who has until Friday to prove his fitness, will take the field.

The Springboks are limited in the props they can call on with Pat Cilliers suffering from an elbow strain. Dean Greyling has been named on the bench but is a preferred loosehead,

"If Dean comes on it will be a huge, huge test, especially against the best loosehead (Tony Woodcock) in world rugby. But Dean has impact and he's fresh," said Meyer.

The 20-year-old Etzebeth was suspended for two weeks for headbutting Wallaby lock Nathan Sharpe during the Springboks' 26-19 defeat but Meyer said the experience of 17-Test van der Merwe would be important against the world champion All Blacks.

"Even having an experienced pack is a tough challenge against the All Blacks but we are excited," he said.

"I know people don't give us a chance but I believe this team is growing. They will have to step up. I have confidence in the pack."

The All Blacks lead the Rugby Championship with 12 points after three wins while South Africa are second on seven points followed by Australia (four points) and Argentina (two).


New Zealand:


South Africa:

15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Andries Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18-Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie

HAVE YOUR SAY: What do you think of Heyneke Meyer's latest Springbok team? Do they stand any chance of beating the All Blacks on Saturday? Send your thoughts to Sport24.


Strong Bulls to face Pumas

2014-07-30 20:33


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • SS3
    Wed, 30 Jul 2014 @
  • SS4
    Wed, 30 Jul 2014 @
  • SS5
    Wed, 30 Jul 2014 @
  • SS7
    Wed, 30 Jul 2014 @
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

16 August 2014
Australia v New Zealand, Sydney 12:05
South Africa v Argentina, Pretoria 17:00
23 August 2014
New Zealand v Australia, Auckland 09:35
Argentina v South Africa, rgentina 21:10
06 September 2014
New Zealand v Argentina, apier 09:35
Australia v South Africa, erth 12:05

Do you have faith in coach Heyneke Meyer taking the Springboks to the 2015 Rugby World Cup?

Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.