Cooke the best King for 2013

2013-12-17 13:34
Ronnie Cooke (Photo supplied by EP Rugby)
Port Elizabeth - Centre Ronnie Cooke has been crowned Eastern Province Rugby’s Player of the Year for 2013.

“There can be no doubt that 2013 has been one of the most challenging as well as one of the most exciting years that EP Rugby has been through in recent history, and it would not have been possible without the courage, commitment and determination of the players,” said CEO Charl Crous.

Crous said that the awards, which were handed out on Monday at an informal players end of year function, were just a small way of recognising the players' achievements and contributions over the year.

Starting with the Under-19 Player of the Year, Tyler Paul was the clear winner, while Aidon Davis walked away with the Under-21 Player of the Year award, as well as receiving an achievement award for being selected to play for the SA Under-20 team in the 2013 IRB Junior World Championship.

The Most Promising Young Star of 2013 went to Siviwe “Shakes” Soyizwapi who, having made just four first-team appearances was called to the Super Rugby squad following an injury to Hadleigh Parkes, and made his Super Rugby debut in the 28-28 draw against the Brumbies.

Soyizwapi went on to represent both the Currie Cup First Division team as well as the Under-21s before being called up to represent the SA Sevens Academy squad in Dubai.

Tim Agaba, who played for the NMMU Madibaz in the 2012 and 2013 Varsity Cup, as well as the  2013 Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup competitions, was named Rookie of the Year.

Best Try of the Year went to Sergeal Petersen for his first try against the Western Force in the debut game of the Kings.

Scott van Breda was awarded a merit award for his contribution to the team in 2013, and was also named the Supporters Player of the Year, an award sponsored by the official supporters club, the Kings Army.

Cooke, 29, received three awards in total. Aside from being elected as the Player of the Year for 2013, he was voted as the Players Player of the Year by his team-mates, and was also elected the Most Valuable Player of the Year by team management.

The complete list of award winners are:


Under-19 Best player of the year 2013 -  Tyler Paul
Under-21 Best player of the year 2013 - Aidon Davis
Most Promising Young Star of 2013 - Siviwe "Shakes" Soyizwapi


Achievement Award for 2013 - Aidon Davis
Merit Award for 2013 - Scott van Breda


Rookie of the Year 2013 - Tim Agaba
Best Try of the Year 2013 - Sergeal Petersen
Players’ Player of the Year 2013 - Ronnie Cooke
Most Valuable Player of the Year 2013 - Ronnie Cooke 

Overall winner

EP Rugby Player of the Year 2013 - Ronnie Cooke

Read more on:    ep kings  |  currie cup  |  super 15  |  port elizabeth  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Featured Blog

The stock of Bulls and Sharks 2014 Super Rugby jerseys are slowly becoming available after the festive season break, writes blogger Baylion.

Latest blogs

Which teams will win the two SA Vodacom Super Rugby derbies (Sharks v Cheetahs and Stormers v Lions) this weekend?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.