RWC draw date announced

2012-05-21 22:00
Rugby World Cup trophy (File)

Dublin - The draw for pool allocation for the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England will be held in London on December 3, the International Rugby Board (IRB) announced on Monday.

As was the case for the 2011 tournament, the 12 automatically qualified teams will be seeded based on the IRB World Rankings on December 3, 2012 and positioned into three bands of four teams, the IRB said.

The teams will then be randomly drawn by band into the four pools.

"The format of seeding teams for the Rugby World Cup pool allocation draw using the IRB World Rankings is a credible, succinct and proven method that reflects form, stimulates interest and is backed by our unions," said IRB chief Bernard Lapasset.

"With every Test match played between now and the draw counting towards the IRB World Rankings the pool allocation draw adds an extra dimension to a mouth-watering year that features the new tours and Test schedule as well as Argentina's inclusion in the new Rugby Championship."

The 2015 World Cup in England will comprise 20 teams allocated into four pools: 12 teams that automatically qualified from the 2011 tournament in New Zealand; and eight teams that will come through the 2015 World Cup global qualifier process which kicked off in March this year.

The 12 automatic qualifiers are 2011 World Cup winners New Zealand, runners-up France, losing semi-finalists Australia and Wales, losing quarter-finalists Argentina, England, Ireland and South Africa. Tonga, Scotland, Italy and Samoa all also qualify after having finished in third place in their respective pools.

The 2015 edition of rugby union's showcase tournament will feature four pools of five teams, with each team banded according to strength to try and ensure evenly matched pools.

The 12 directly qualified teams will be allocated into the top three bands for the random draw using the IRB World Rankings of December 3 as follows:

Band 1 - The four highest ranked directly qualified teams

Band 2 - The next four highest ranked directly qualified teams

Band 3 - The final four directly qualified teams

Band 4 - Oceania 1, Europe 1, Asia 1, Americas 1

Band 5 - Africa 1, Europe 2, Americas 2, Repechage winner

Read more on:    irb  |  rwc 2015  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Quiz: Test your Rio Olympics memory!

Think you know what went on at the Rio Olympics? Prove it by tackling Sport24's ridiculously impossible yet highly addictive post-Games quiz!


Rio Olympics

GALLERY: SA's Rio Olympic medallists
As it happened: Rio Olympics - Day 17
Selecting 6 numbers turned Britain into Olympic superpower
Caster cranks up the heat in Rio semi
Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


Follow all the action from the 2016 Rio Olympics. The highs, the lows, the tears, the smiles as the world's greatest athletes compete for gold, silver and bronze.

Latest blogs

The Kings will play this year's Currie Cup in the "B" First Division. How will this impact their Super Rugby participation next year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.