Rugby

RWC 2011 scare for Boks

2009-08-24 23:04
Email | Print
Costly protest (File)

Dublin - SARU and the Springboks could have been suspended from the 2011 Rugby World Cup had it not been for the legal technicalities.

This after the world rugby's governing body on Monday found the South African Rugby Union (SARU), the Springboks and team officials guilty of bringing the game into disrepute with their 'armband' protest against a two-week ban given to Bakkies Botha.

In a statement the IRB said: "The Independent Committee was unanimous in its view that, had it not been for the legal technicalities... both SARU and the Springbok players and management would have faced much more serious sanctions, including a more severe fine in the case of SARU and the suspension of the Springbok players and management from the Rugby World Cup 2011 (such sanction to have been suspended in the absence of further acts of misconduct before then)."

The charges upheld on Monday by the International Rugby Board (IRB)'s independent disciplinary committee were laid after the Springboks wore white armbands bearing the word 'justice' during their third Test defeat by the British and Irish Lions last month.

The armbands were worn as a symbol of solidarity with lock Botha, who the South Africans felt had been unfairly banned for dangerously charging into a ruck during the second Test of the series.

The independent committee imposed fines of £10 000 on SARU, £1 000 on Springbok skipper John Smit and £200 on each of the other players.

The IRB could yet seek tougher measures by appealing against the ruling of its disciplinary committee.

SARU acknowledged the guilty verdict but held off a response until it had reviewed the findings.

"We note the outcome of the International Rugby Board's Disciplinary Committee hearing into the charges brought against the South African Rugby Union, Springbok players and management," said SARU president Oregan Hoskins.

"We are reviewing the full findings of the committee and will respond once that review is concluded."

The IRB committee was made up of two judges - Sir John Hansen of New Zealand and Guillermo Tragant of Argentina - and former Australian captain John Eales.

In its ruling, the committee said that the action of the Springboks "brought the game into disrepute, criticised the judicial process and was misconduct."

The committee also noted the absence of any apology from SARU, the team's management or the players themselves and emphasised that "the playing arena is no place for protest" and that the wearing of the armbands "showed a serious lack of respect and consideration for their opponents."

SARU was found to have failed to make any attempt to prevent the protest, approved of it and effectively consented to conduct which was prejudicial to the best interests of the IRB and of the game.

The IRB said it was "extremely disappointed" at the level of sanctions imposed and would consider an appeal in the hope of securing tougher punishment to act as a deterrent against any repeat of the Springboks' action by players around the world.

Your Comments

Steve8/28/2009 3:03 PM
Coulda-woulda-shoulda Maybe if it was the middle ages and the team offended the King then they could have been hung drawn and quartered. What a stupid comment for the IRB to even make. If the Boks' "crime" deserved turning the 2011 RWC into a farce (which it would have been without them playing) then they (the IRB) would have banned them. These comments are just posturing from blowhards bitter the Boks are looking so strong and confident enough to call the IRB on lousy decisions.
gitau8/26/2009 2:15 PM
MATT GITAU also brought the game into DISREPUTE..!!
AJ8/26/2009 12:18 PM
Their actions brought the game into REPUTE not DISREPUTE.
AJ - Do me a favour8/26/2009 12:16 PM
Can you imagine any captain lifting the Webb Ellis trophy knowing he won a tournament where the Springboks were not allowed to take part. Can you imagine HUMULIATION he would feel. You would ruin a world cup for every rugby player there (especially those with a chance of winning it). Banned from 20011 WC - it would NEVER have happened, you would have had a player revolt first .....
manfred8/26/2009 11:11 AM
THE INTERNATIONAL RUGBY BOARD Huguenot House 35-38 St Stephen's Green Dublin 2 IrelandTel: 00 353 1 240 9200 FAX: 00 353 1 240 9201
play8/26/2009 11:02 AM
Only way that the Aussies or the Kiwis can win the World Cup, ...is when the Boks are not playing.....
Oupoot8/26/2009 10:36 AM
Whatever happened to Freedom of Speech, incl. the freedom to protest? This game took place within SA. Our constitution guarantees freedom of speech. Indeed, in most countries where rugby is played, freedom of speech and protest is legally guaranteed. This rule and subsequent finding is against the SA constitution and as such, illegal.
Damien8/26/2009 9:24 AM
what a load of K**.... this is really starting to p me off!!!! Damo
Houston8/26/2009 8:54 AM
lol, what a laugh, yeah the armbands were unnecessary, cop the fine, but really, to threaten the world champs with suspension from the RWC, laughable at best. Pity IRB have no email address, we could send them a couple of views :-)
Sandile8/26/2009 8:38 AM
Comrades, we have launched a plan to protest the IRB's shocking treatment of the Boks. Please fill their email boxes with your protests. Write to IRB chairman Mr Bernard Lapasset: Bernard.lapasset@irb.com
Anti Bok8/25/2009 7:47 PM
Ban the arrogant bunch of box.No Sa num nut supporter would have said anything if it was the All Blacks or Aussies.So up yours.The box must take their punishment,and STOP FREAKIN MOANING AND GROANING.
Blackman8/25/2009 5:57 PM
I think the players need the same protection and representation as the match officials. This banning is absolute rubbish, why not ban a few referees and even "assistant" referees who are sometimes absoluatly blind when things happen right uner their noses. And using TV replays only woks in favour of the officials, otherwise Bakkies would never have been banned.
Twalla8/25/2009 4:26 PM
That is so typical, South Africa gets blamed for being thugs when we play hard and the opposition can't handle it. When we win NZ and Aus we are accused for playing boring rugby! I wonder if that "Mathew,Dunedin" moron has ever been at a currie cup match. His mother must have been drinking when she was pregnant!
sean8/25/2009 4:25 PM
John Eales, nice to hear from you. if the tribunal has come to it's senses then the first decision was non-sense. something rugby comes up with frequently these days. has your tribunal and your fellows at the irb taken the time to look at what has caused this protest? wacth the last bledisloe cup game (19-18 to the AB's) and watch the kiwi props piling in. ciao.
Ginger8/25/2009 4:18 PM
I fail to understand why everybody is outraged at the IRB’s ruling. The Boks have numerous highly paid people that should have established the legality of the protest before proceeding. Every action produces a reaction! Why do the crime if you cannot do the time? Was this arrogance or stupidity ?
jm8/25/2009 3:02 PM
is there an email address for the IRB?? lets email them with our thoughts!!!! This is dispicable. The IRB are racists
John Eales8/25/2009 2:33 PM
The only way we at the IRB could find a resolution was to try and ban the Boks from the WC, as they are one of two teams that are likely to take the cup again. The loss of revenue from not having the Boks at the WC is huge but this was debated competitively and now come to our senses. Good luck for the 2011.
Mathew,Dunedin8/25/2009 2:20 PM
@Jibo @Matthew, Dunedin,12:18 PM oh yeah,the students? I actually saw a video clip on this site,where players were chased with pangas and other weapons,WTF?? That actually happened in RSA where clean rugby is played.One team was suspended for 15 years.South african rugby is full of thuggery.Outside the stadiums ahead of currie cup matches there are no less than 10 fist fights,rugularly.Pure rugby criminals.
Dean A8/25/2009 1:40 PM
1stly I am a proud bok supporter! 2ndly - I don't support this BS threat to ban us from the WC - I mean you'd have to be a moron to believe that crap! My previous comment was regarding the Bakkies incident. If you think that past offences aren't taken into account when attending a disciplinary then you've obviously never been to one! And if you think repeat offenders should be treated the same as a 1st time offender well then you must be a moron!
Pappa Smurf8/25/2009 1:39 PM
What a load of bull ... !!! Maybe we should do it the American way - and have our own World Series ..!
wes8/25/2009 1:39 PM
SHAME IRB! Soek net aandag en niks anders as klomp diktators wat naar is die bokke se status is groter as hul klomp "boeties" s'n daar doer onder op die wereld kaart en nou ook doer onder opi ranglys! NZ en Aus is naar op al die sport en wereld prestasies wat SA nou inryg. Maar ag wat verwag jy van afstammelinge van n klomp kriminele!
Punk278/25/2009 1:16 PM
What a bunch of w@&&&&!!
MACK THE BLUE8/25/2009 1:12 PM
If you read the comments on this site ,well ,then you can see the IRB has succeeded in achieving what they set out to do.Ruffle tail feathers.The law doesnt allow it , it would never have stuck ,so laugh it off. The rules are not adheared to,thus,one action would have led to a counter action in court.Lets shut up , and do some talking during the 80 minutes this coming weekend.Play them off the field - into submission ,fair and square ,and if any of thier players transgress ,create an almighty stink ,on tv ,talk shows ,newspapers and on the web - our problem is ....were actually much to nice - beat them at thier game ,complain to the ref ,cite,and make a big noise everytime anything goes remotely goes askew. p.s and keep John Robbie away from commenting on Springbok rugby ,I dont even want his opinion on a primary school game.They are all sourgrapes !
Hong Kong Fan8/25/2009 12:56 PM
Why not now just laugh at the IRB. The protest worked - everyone has noticed the discrepancy in punishment to RSA and non-RSA players. Just dare the IRB to appeal the "light" sentence - and let them ban the Boks from RWC2011 and see who suffers.
Bokmad8/25/2009 12:51 PM
The term "protest" is interesting. In my mind they were not protesting but raising awareness to the injustice, if they were trully protesting they would not have played! Raising awareness the way they did is no different to an athlete wearing a red ribbon to raise awareness for HIV. But semantics aside. There is an increased amount of "anti-Bok" press banded around and I'm sick of it. The world lauds the ABs with constant praise of being the best rugby nation and let them away with murder, like changing the format of their haka or even just doing the haka (I'm a fan of the haka BTW) but the fact is that the IRB see different countries in different light both on the pitch and off the pitch! Shame on them! Let them ban us from the WC, thier loss, not ours. We've been omitted before and we came back stronger, we'll survive, but thier WC will be a a sham if we don't play,willl always be known as the WC that the Boks were omitted and ultimately polluted with "what ifs?" and "who knows?"
Passionate about rugby8/25/2009 12:50 PM
Has anyone noticed who was on the panel that made this decision? One Ex AUSTRALIAN CAPTAIN and one SIR HANSEN of NEW ZEALAND! Is this fair considering the intense rivalry that exists between our three countries in the game of Rugby, notwithstanding that at the moment, both teams (countries) are having to swallow bitter pills while SA are leading in the Tri-Nations!!! I believe the decision is an emotional one and egos are a bit bruised!!! They should have had a bigger panel with unbiased judges for a true result, whether guilty or not.
Ortos8/25/2009 12:49 PM
@ Mathew,Dunedin, Hey Numb-nuts ever heard the saying " rugby is played by hooligans and watched by gentlemen - Soccer is played by gentlemen and watched by hooligans. Way i figure it the youre running scared cause we beat the crap outa you and will do it again. Have a great day pale face fro, the land of sunshine!
Birdman8/25/2009 12:48 PM
@Mathew,Duneden. Spoken like a yellow bellied asshole. Just think what the WC would be like without one of the top nations competing...CRAP! The only reason that you could want the Boks to be ommitted is because it's the only way that you think the All Blacks could win. How pathetic. I'm sure that the AB's (and any team worth it's salt) would want to play the Boks. It's a matter of pride and honour - unlike you, you poor excuse for a New Zealander!
Jibo @Matthew, Dunedin8/25/2009 12:18 PM
Matt, didn't a bunch a rampant drunk students tear-up Dunedin's streets? Damging thousands of useless kiwi dollars worth of property in the process...and you call the Springboks thuggs? Oh, and didn't Brad Thorn dumped John Smit on his head last year...and you call the Springboks thugs? It's rugby you chop! A physical game! You kiwi's should stick to your complanining about your terrible weather....living in the shadow of Australia...and having nothing to offer the world other than Peter Jackson, Bungi Jumping and Jet Boats. PS. The world cup itch must be bad...without the Springboks there, you stand a fair chance...but wait, aren't you guys the WORST chokers in history. Cough...cough...cough... Get.a.Life!
andre8/25/2009 12:16 PM
Hoe onpartydig kan n dissiplinere kommitee wees waar 2 uit die 3 n Aussie en N/Z is. Ek dienk die lot bring Rugby in onguns met hul partydigheid, ook in ander sake.
andre8/25/2009 12:16 PM
Hoe onpartydig kan n dissiplinere kommitee wees waar 2 uit die 3 n Aussie en N/Z is. Ek dienk die lot bring Rugby in onguns met hul partydigheid, ook in ander sake.
Smiler8/25/2009 12:08 PM
Fellow South Africans, why are you whinging at the outcome? Based on what we have had to put up with ever since the inception of Super Rugby and the Tri nations, "Did you really expect anything else? " The world has the perceptions that we are thugs that need to be sorted out. Our best defence is not to get emotional about it. Let us be bigger than them. Yes, we are angry, but that will not change anything. Me thinks that this decision by the IRB reflects more on them than on us, and so the armband excercise has worked - it has brought attention to the inconsistency of citing and the ineptitude of the IRB. No need to get worked up... It worked!
boksupporter@DeanA8/25/2009 12:00 PM
You are probalby one of those anti-springbok ass@$#%. The only way anyone can win the world cup is if we are not competing. So shut up, the IRB has only got them self to blame for not making fair rulings. I support the bokke and their actions.
Oertel8/25/2009 11:33 AM
Is there any way that SARU can take leagal action against IRB? I aggree lets make a stance for once and don't let them bulley us, we are the World Champs, lets act like it.
Joe8/25/2009 11:20 AM
Fear mongering and obliteration of the freedom of speech from the rugby controlling body, bunch of satanists!
Mathew,Dunedin8/25/2009 10:59 AM
The 2011 RWC would have been clean had the Springboks been suspended but the thugs will still be there. In fact they should have suspended them for the next two world cups,let them play their sh!t currie cup.The IRB had an opportunity to make an example to the rest of the rugby world but they let it slip.
ray8/25/2009 10:57 AM
I see, the only way to beat the Bokke is to disqualify them? Tipical, I am sure there is an Auzzie/ or NZ and a Pom involved.....
Gussie8/25/2009 10:38 AM
Maybe we as supporters and spectators should wear the armbands at the next International rugby match. Surely the IRB cannot take action against the spectators / supporters or can they?
Gussie8/25/2009 10:37 AM
Maybe we as supporters and spectators should wear the armbands at the next International rugby match. Surely the IRB cannot take action against the spectators / supporters or can they?
Derek8/25/2009 10:28 AM
So let's look at this as a business issue like "Armband" wants us to. The Springboks work for SARU, not the IRB. SARU knew the players were going to wear the armbands and didn't stop it. John Smit, the RWC 2007 winning captain and most capped Test captain in the history of the game is the star SARU employee. He was unfaily treated in 2008 after the dangerous tackle on him, but did not complain about having to miss out on the rest of the Tri-Nations. This speaks volumes for his character. If he, of all people, decides to wear an armband like he did, then it's late in the day for those governing the game. On the issue of the sanction, a 2011 ban vs a couple thousand pounds fine doesn't gel as it's way out of proportion. So "Armband", if you were working for a real organisation, and not a micky mouse one as I suspect you might be at, you will know that consistency is paramount. Otherwise the trade unions will rip you apart. Shame on you, IRB!
Player 238/25/2009 10:27 AM
I dont blame the Bokke for innitially seeking Justice after Bakkies unfair band because it seems like every1 is against him. Pitty that we last that game tho. IRB are jealous that we are number 1 because they only consist of only foreigners. We are gonna win the Tri-nations.. that should shut them up. Go Bokkke!!!!!!!!!
CC8/25/2009 10:23 AM
I regret to highlight a notable point in the ruling "the playing areana is no place for protest" this a extremely valid point. If this was to be allowed in all sports where would it end. Sadly in this case our boys have been reprimanded for doing what they believed in and for what we the specactors supported. Possibly the first time in the history of Rugby - lesson leant. We've had our knuckles wrapped - move on.
CC8/25/2009 10:22 AM
I regret to highlight a notable point in the ruling "the playing areana is no place for protest" this a extremely valid point. If this was to be allowed in all sports where would it end. Sadly in this case our boys have been reprimanded for doing what they believed in and for what we the specactors supported. Possibly the forst time in the history of Rugby - lesson leant. Move on guys.
Craig8/25/2009 10:12 AM
It has become quite obvious that SA have no interest in abiding by any any rules whatsoever and when we do something wrong we pull the race card or the childish, "everybody hates me", if in law you disrespect the sentence of a judge and jury, you are charged with contempt, there is no difference here, the Aussies, Kiwis and rest of the World don't hate SAn, except when playing cricket or rugby or atheletics they hardly know we exist, recently we have be asked to perform certain duties that we feel unfair, ban Bakkies and test Semenya, neither we uncalled for, but our behaviour has been utterly despicable, accusing the IAAF and IRB of racism is childish nonsense, Greece didn't respond like this when kicked out of the WC soccer, nor did Kenya, why do we always pull the race card when asked to do things properly. There were 3 judges and they all agreed, not 2.
Zee8/25/2009 10:06 AM
The IRB have lost the plot - no wonder with Eales on the board. Include a member of every premier rugby-playing country and it might be a bit fairer. The IRB are clearly biased against the Boks and we the fans should let them know! Imagine the lost revenue if they took the Boks out of the world cup!! Sour-grapes, particularly from the Aussies now that the Boks are top of the rugby world!
Len8/25/2009 9:58 AM
Stuff the IRB. When people are upset by what they see to be unfair, we should congratulate them for taking action, instead of allowing the world to be populated by politicians who seem to have little in terms of intergrity (IAAF is an example of such useless gits)
Boksupporter8/25/2009 9:56 AM
If the IRB wants to punish us then make a freaking decision. Either fine us or ban us, but don't enforce one punishment and threaten another. If the IRB was unhappy with the "independant committees" decision then why not just veto it and ban us outright. I'm not happy with a ban, but they're making themselves look like petulant children who are running to mommy. They are threatened by us and with good reason. We are the best in the rugby world and a RWC without us is laughable. I'm behing the Boks 100% and agree, let all the supported show solidarity by wearing armbands. I'm sick of this sh** where we are always coming up short and a$$holes like Giteau get to run around in the daisies without facing the consequences we get shoved down our thoats all the time.
Yeah right!8/25/2009 9:54 AM
Yeah right! Go ahead and ban us from the world cup! Current world champions not there to defend the title, I want to see the IRB explain that disaster, never mind the monetary consequences without the Boks. Oh please you IRB bunch are pathetic - go ahead ban the Boks, ban Semenya, ban what ever else you want......y
Bok for life!8/25/2009 9:53 AM
Is it breakaway time? The current situation in world rugby is ridiculous, the boks should not be banned for showing solidarity but applauded! Perhaps Supersport should air a live show where SARU and the boks sign their cheques and pay their fines. Darren and Naas can comentate on how unbelievably assinine the IRB is being, whilst replaying a montage of excessively punished offences by the boks, whilst also showing offences against the Boks that are ignored (Giteau should've been banned like Schalk for purposely endangering another player)... And if IRB wants to ban us from the RWC, then so be it. But as a strength in world rugby, and without political complications, their ban will really only hurt themselves. Oh! And can we stop changing the rules every five minutes to suit somebody else, we'll only find another way to beat you all anyway! Bok for life!
Riaan S8/25/2009 9:53 AM
Verskil tussen ons en die Aussies? Ons braai skaap- hulle n@@! skaap.
riaan s8/25/2009 9:49 AM
At the risk of being called a (yawn) racist, this wouldn't have happened with the previously advantaged rugby board. Can you imagine Luyt or Craven taking so much shit from those sheep shaggers. They would most propably have banned the IRB from South Africa. Our problem is that the new fat cats are only there to see how much and how fast they can pocket. They are a bunch of parasites who don't give a damn about rugby, thus making it easy for the IRB to target SA. As long as we don't have anybody fighting for SA rugby get ready for this treatment for a while. What a joke. The centre of world rugby being blackmailed by a couple of wet nappies.
sylverstar8/25/2009 9:48 AM
I think that SA Rugby Players union should take the IRB to the international court and sue them. i) they are blatently one eyed ii) they are possibly stopping a player from earning a living? iii) unprofessionalism?
Clint8/25/2009 9:44 AM
Look, lets be honest here. The IRB needs to take a tough stance to make sure that not every team that gets a judgement against them openly questions this authority. I can understand this, they need to lay down the law and there is other ways to lodge an apeal.......but.......if they so galiantly try to STAMP down their authority why are the entire citing system and laws so inconsistent. To actually try and defend this notion that "all well in the land of bread and honey" is setting oneself up for one huge failure. The current state of the Formula 1 is a great example. Inconsistent citing, biased judges and obsolutly shocking procedures which is not ment to be broken but can be broken if you are high enough in the IRB structure is really doing much more damage than good to the entire game. Burger gets 4 weeks but Matt is of scott free? How can you explain this? Wait I forgot, they dont have to because according to the system he did not get cited within the alloted time by THEIR APPOINTED citing officer which technicly makes him "not guilty" of anything. So why is it allowed for a senior IRB official whom OUT OF HIS JURISTICTION reports the Springboks, gets his hearing and WHALA the rules change ever so slightly again to suit certian members of the IRB. If I was SARFU I would start implimenting a policy where if the citing system does not protect our players and our team, like the case of Matt, they should actually file a lawsuit against the opposing player and then take him to court and resolve it like this. This would force the IRB to start revieving this biased laws.
What a JOKE8/25/2009 9:44 AM
Now we know the IRB is a bunch of clowns. Absolutely amusing at best. Who the hell do they think they are? The IRB's reaction to the sanction clearly exposes a definite behind the scenes undermining of the Springboks. The recent citing circus, inconsistent punishments handed to players after citing procedures, awarding of the next 2 world cups, etc. Tell a story without having to say anything. The IRB seems more and more like a Mafia organization. Expelling the BOKS from the next WC? I want to see who has balls big enough at the IRB to do it. I agree – screw em!
Leon8/25/2009 9:43 AM
The IRB must be full of AUSSIES. They're always trying to disgrace SA sport. Go Bokke, Go John Smit!
Armband8/25/2009 9:41 AM
One day when all you children have your own businesses (which you never will) please employ me as you will be great bosses, allowing your staff to do their own things, rebel as I like and disregard all your policies!!!! You are all pathaetic and the reason this country can not go forward. Rugby is a business and should be controlled with world policies, not SA policies!!!
charles8/25/2009 9:40 AM
This is for the disapointed bok supporter, what about the messup Giteu made,in any case if you are a bok supporter then i am a sheep shagger.
Dippies8/25/2009 9:38 AM
How pathetic, IRB fatcats in Ireland try to control the world of rugby - are they already part of the one world government controlling the rugby sector. It will only get worse - nothing gets better and the fact is that we have our own people - SARU - against us. You can't change the IRB, they are programmed to control and dominate.
PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN8/25/2009 9:36 AM
Maybe they should have banned the Springboks from the 2011 WC, then the host nation may have a slither of a hope of finally winning a WC ;)
Clint8/25/2009 9:33 AM
Look, lets be honest here. The IRB needs to take a tough stance to make sure that not every team that gets a judgement against them openly questions this authority. I can understand this, they need to lay down the law and there is other ways to lodge an apeal.......but.......if they so galiantly try to STAMP down their authority why are the entire citing system and laws so inconsistent. To actually try and defend this notion that "all well in the land of bread and honey" is setting oneself up for one huge failure. The current state of the Formula 1 is a great example. Inconsistent citing, biased judges and obsolutly shocking procedures which is not ment to be broken but can be broken if you are high enough in the IRB structure is really doing much more damage than good to the entire game. Burger gets 4 weeks but Matt is of scott free? How can you explain this? Wait I forgot, they dont have to because according to the system he did not get cited within the alloted time by THEIR APPOINTED citing officer which technicly makes him "not guilty" of anything. So why is it allowed for a senior IRB official whom OUT OF HIS JURISTICTION reports the Springboks, gets his hearing and WHALA the rules change ever so slightly again to suit certian members of the IRB. If I was SARFU I would start implimenting a policy where if the citing system does not protect our players and our team, like the case of Matt, they should actually file a lawsuit against the opposing player and then take him to court and resolve it like this. This would force the IRB to start revieving this biased laws.
Clive Goss8/25/2009 9:31 AM
John Eales ? No bloody wonder Giteau got away with his attemted murder of Fourie du Preez. Sorry the Bokke were quite right and in order, they are the victims of gross unfairness in what is regarded as the gentlemens game. How much more bloody selfrightious and clueless can the IRB become ?
Benny8/25/2009 9:30 AM
@DeanA Since when does the fact that "not being a repeat offender" protect a player from not being punished for blatent foul/dangerous play? So if a "first time offender" player poke his fingers in another players eyes causing damage, does that mean he should not be punished? C'mon man get real and be consistant - an offence is an offence. This is exactly what the demonstration was about.
Old Farts8/25/2009 9:23 AM
Stuff the IRB!!! The IRB, their citing commisioners and their general conduct are destroying the game. Who the f@ck are they to be judgemental when considering the merits of what happened to Bakkies Botha vs Matt Giteau. And they want to point fingers - f@ck them. Old bastards. Wondered what John Eals had to say? Again a AUS involved. Absolutely pathetic. I'm sure AUS and NZ would have supported the banning of the BOKS for the 2011 WC. Did the IRB forget that even the British Lions players were shocked at the citing of Bakkies. They even commented on it in public.
schmalz8/25/2009 9:22 AM
Our own Rugby Union does not have a capable management to defend themselves against the IRA. The IRA or the Ossie's and Kiwi's take full advantage of it. Tell them to forck off and see what happens. They will never ban the Bokke from taking part in the next world cup.
Janet8/25/2009 9:18 AM
This is ridiculous when one player gets penalized so severly and others do not, it only the inconsistency of the Referees that has caused all this nonsence they need to watch the other games again and see the number of time the British and Irish Lions should have been cited and were not. This is something that the Boks want to show the world and well done they did, it shows the IRB up to be what they are inconsistent and spineless.
Birdman8/25/2009 9:15 AM
IRB - International Rugby Board? Australia, NZ and ....wait for it... Argentina??? (A Southern Hemisphere Rugby wannabe) Where is the SA representation on the board if they wanted to make it a Southern Hemisphere thing? Gees, we are only the current IRB World Champions. You would think that we might just have a say...but NO!! We must continue to have to prove our credentials whilst they sit in judgment of SARU. The Boks should run on the field this Saturday against Australia with armbands saying "£200” John Smit can have his one read "£1000”. What a laugh! – idiots!
andrew8/25/2009 9:14 AM
Now why am I not surprised that the judges on the IRB commitee, are the woesies that dont want us beating them in the next world cup. Of course the will try and ban us from kicking their butts again, how else do they stand a chance. Come on, its a game, and what happened to freedom of speech. Fire the IRB, who needs them anyway. I couldnt even read what was on the arm band, so who cares. We WON !!!!!!!!
Jakes U8/25/2009 9:10 AM
Just to let you know Dean, repeating an offence doesn't make it worse everybody should be treated fairly in any kind of law structure and Bakkies wasn't. How can you even say that, give me 3 occasions where Bakkies was banned, nobody can because in his international carreer he has only been banned by citings twice and the other was a one week suspension for a high tackle. Do you even understand the fact that there was nothing wrong with the way Bakkies "cleaned" out that ruck. I am not going to lay into the aussies and kiwi's becuase the boks will do that come Saturday. Just remember Dean that being ignorant like you are makes you an arsehole and make sure you don't repeat that offense.
MC8/25/2009 9:04 AM
Oooh...now we're really scared! Grow up IRB. Why three Southern Hemisphere judges if the match took place between a Southern and Northern Hemisphere team? Originally they said we didn't follow the right channels. Could somebody please explain what the right channels are? Because if they even exist, it seems they are blocked by the IRB's nanny mentality. My message to the bunch of old men at the IRB: shape up or ship out!
Kevin8/25/2009 9:02 AM
Lets face it the Aussies and New zealanders bring the game into disripute regularly with their dangerous play that rarely gets blown up. We should boycott the Cup as a F U to a tired old committee
Speel Rugby8/25/2009 9:02 AM
Dalk moet ons net die fine betaal en klaar kry, miskien het hierdie baie te doen gehad met hoekom ons nie oorweeg is om die 2015 wereldbeker aan te bied nie. Ons maak nie die reels nie, rugby is groter, GO bokke
kjj8/25/2009 8:59 AM
Hey Government why are you silent and not backing our team .we are being victimised.
Blik8/25/2009 8:59 AM
The IRB can bleat all it want but the fact is Piet From Potch raised the level of refereeing when he showed his disgust on TV. The Justice demo will result in more objective decisions in future.........."Job Done"
charles8/25/2009 8:57 AM
Peter, please we are looking at the bigger picture here, not only the BAKKIES incident this has been going on for years.They cannot be allowed to run rugby as if it is their private little empire they must be held accountable for their double standards when dealing with incidents.
louwrens8/25/2009 8:56 AM
the IRB should disband, they are a bunch of farts, musch like the IAAF(caster story), the officials need to come back to mother earth, they are way to important and are missing what sport and freedom is about.
Pierre8/25/2009 8:53 AM
Wie is die IRB. Soos dit vir my lyk bestaan die IRB uit New Zealand en Australie en natuurlik sal hulle in hul onderbroeke skyt want hulle weet as hulle die bokke kan skors sal hulle weer kan wen. GO BOKKR GO and nail those sheep shuggers.
nigel8/25/2009 8:51 AM
We all know that the Bakkies citing was not appropriate, maybe they cited him because of his past handbag stuff, which Im glad to see he has seems to have stopped. The armband thing was not a brightest idea, but the IRB's heavy handed approach & their apparent inability to cite players consistently is disappointing & in my opinion brings the game into disrepute. The threat or attempt to exclude the Boks from 2011 WC is nothing short of disgusting & is just further proof that the IRB is incompetent. Lets get the citing guidelines cleared up shall we, so that there is not room for the IRB to get away with this inconsistency or blatant bias.
scipio8/25/2009 8:50 AM
Dean....... It doesn't matter. An offence remains an offence. doesn't matter if your murder once, twice, or 50 times it's still punishable, and by law should be punished. What gitau did Should have earned him a 4 week ban at least. That will prevent him from becoming a regular like say schalk burger. Besides Gitau in most instances is too small to play dangerously, The SA players are more physicall and that's why we watch rugby and not football you panzy
Spartan8/25/2009 8:50 AM
Let me guess, there was 1 vote against & 2 votes for banning the boks from 2011, the Argintinian Judge was against, right. There is only one way to ensure justice is done, beat the Aussies & Kiwis, fair & square in NZ next year @ the WC, & this time they had better put us in the groups that play them, we don't want them making any excuses like the last time.
@ Dean A8/25/2009 8:49 AM
Repeat Offender??? Come here!! let me kill you once!! Would that hurt less or more than the second time!!! dont be stupid man... the issue is, we ( the boks) are being mistreated or being cited , while the other rugby teams get away with murder. If the situation repeats itself over and over again... What do you do?
Spartan8/25/2009 8:40 AM
IRB = Ignorant Rugby Bosses
Nick8/25/2009 8:38 AM
Who the hell does the IRB think they are? What makes a sports organizing committee think they have the right to take away a persons democratic right to freedom of speech? The only part of this incident that brought the game into disrepute was the citing commission's ridiculous findings. SARU should sue the IRB for double standards, given the countless number of incidents since Bakkie's suspension when players clearly acted outside the bounds of the rules and didn't get cited. Matt Giteau for instance... Last year, Brad Thorn speared tackled John Smit off the ball and out of play in the Tri Nations opener. We went without our captain for the majority of the Tri nations because of that. What happened to Thorn? BUGGERALL. Perhaps if SARU takes the IRB to the world court, we could have a fair panel of judges. Not a bunch of SA haters from rival rugby countries. Unbiased IRB panel - yeah right and the All Blacks play fair and clean rugby...
PJ8/25/2009 8:37 AM
So Dean A, if you get punch on the nose by me, you will be OK with that because it will be the first time?? No sir, Aus and NZ just can not handle the fact that the boks are outplaying them at the moment and will do anything to get them out of the 2011 WC.
joe joe8/25/2009 8:36 AM
Independent disciplinary committee consisting of a kiwi and a wallaby... that explains all the bullsh!t,
Mason8/25/2009 8:35 AM
Dissappointed....we as supporters have always taken everything on the chin when it comes to the Boks!! I think as you see from most posts, we are getting a little upset at the Boks always made to look like the bad guys or to be made examples of!! Apparently the IRB and their cononies are blind and deaf, that is why players have to resort to these tactics! So go paint yourself black and yellow if you like!!
Justice8/25/2009 8:33 AM
WHO IS JUSTICE? I ONLY KNOW "INNOCENT" These governing bodies of all international sporting codes are getting big headed. They must have the same arrangement like in F1 namely FOTA so that there is a balance of power. SA sports are always the victim of these INJUSTICE rulings.
Mias8/25/2009 8:32 AM
For a nation that still issued permits in 1969 to hunt Maori's, they have come a long way in the talk game. They have now decided to hunt Springbok but due to their failures to "shoot" any, they use their referees, the IRB and their bleating to put the Boks in a bad light. Go Bokke Go. The wheel turns and the strong will survive
Minder8/25/2009 8:30 AM
Why don't we as supporters start wearing armbands that asks for justice for all. Let them try and fine us
charles8/25/2009 8:28 AM
Suspend the current world champions for exposing the corrupt biased IRB. You bunch of fatcats need the boks to generate money to fill your pockets so stick your threats up your arses. Its high time other rugby nations joined SA to bring the IRB gods down to earth they think they are bigger than the game.In any way if the boks dont play the french will win.The IRB have shown there Mugabe mentallity
Spatan8/25/2009 8:22 AM
Let me guess, there was 1 vote against & 2 votes for banning the boks from 2011, the Argintinian Judge was against, right. There is only one way to ensure justice is done, beat the Aussies & Kiwis, fair & square in NZ next year @ the WC, & this time they had better put us in the groups that play them, we don't want them making any excuses like the last time.
Spatan8/25/2009 8:22 AM
Daniel8/25/2009 7:59 AM
Disgraceful. There was no chance whatsoever of their banning us - the IRB and SANZAR wouldn't do anyhting that might affect their money bottom-line in any way, so it's a cowardly, bully-boy thing to threaten that they "might have" suspended us. Pathetic. It's behaviour like the IRB's that's bringing the game into disrepute - you can't consistently mistreat a national team int he judicial process, and then complain when theys eek some other forum to make their voices heard. It's disingenuous and the IRB can go to hell. How long do they expect us to put up with this kind of patently one-eyed treatment?
Mark8/25/2009 7:58 AM
They would never have banned us from the world cup, but if it did happen at least it would give someone else a chance.
Johan8/25/2009 7:52 AM
Hey IRB, how about sorting our the root of the problem? Do you think the citing system is fair? Fix that! Problem solved!
Murray8/25/2009 7:51 AM
There is no way the IRB would suspend the Springboks. Without Supersport they would get much less cash for the TV rights. Supersport is the biggest broadcaster of rugby in the WORLD!!!
FOTA8/25/2009 7:51 AM
****Yawn***** .. same old, same old cr@p from the Aussie and NZ commentators here. They would NEVER, EVER, EVER have suspended South Africa from the RWC because of the money that pays their salaries. The same money that keeps these tired old f**** in their well padded chairs at the IRB comes from a marketable product, one that would die a grim death is the current champions were not able to defend their title. So, sorry for you Aussie and NZ, you are just going to have to up your RUGBY game, not the Henry-sterical bleating that takes place every time you lose .. again. Repeat offenders se MOER, if rules are rules (shouldn't that be laws!!!), then (are you listening Dean A), then they need to be applied even if it is once off. Without that, every now and again a player is given license to do what he likes.
irishrose8/25/2009 7:50 AM
Being a lady I feel like the rose amongst the thorns here, however I wish to also add my view point. Sour Grapes I tell you. I was shocked at their ruling and yes indeed as many of you splendid men say they feel threatened by our Great and wonderful Bokka men. Arnt they such darlings and no doubt the men down under enjoy seeing our men in this award position. I can recall in the 60 "es how the spectators prevented us from playing due to the Apartheid regime and yes they won that battle, but I dont see their "Aboes" being treated better in these days or having better opportunities. They treat them poorly.Sadly the world has double standards and yes why dont we wear arm bands in Solidarity. The reason why you cannot converse with the IRB is that they think they are Demi-Gods. Enjoy the rugga.
Anon8/25/2009 7:49 AM
W***** one and all !!!
Anthony8/25/2009 7:49 AM
I think the whole rugby world is jealous about south africa'a success in rugby. When players from all the other countries do wrong, everything is swept under the carpet. When there players do dangerous tackeling they are not punished for it, but when south african players do those tackelings they are punised. The IRB must stop being baised towards south africa. They suspending south africa, please do not make me laugh. FOOLS (IRB)
Jeff Aucamp8/25/2009 7:47 AM
The IRB and all their little yellow cronies have lost the plot.Again.A RWC without the world champions there to defend the crown?Pull the other one you bunch of self righteous d*********.
Willem8/25/2009 7:45 AM
Dear Dean A, saying that the Bakkies vs Giteau citing is fair because Bakkies is a "repeat offerder" is like saying a once off murderer should not be prosecuted because he hasn't done it before... ridiculous don't you think. Since the IRB took legal matters against SA Rugby, why don't we start doing the same, I mean if their rulings are placing our players in danger then surely we could retaliate with some legal action of out own. I know all to well its just a game, yet to the players its a profession, so in terms of labour law there should be some legislation that protects the players from unfair treatment by a coverning body.
Tugboat8/25/2009 7:44 AM
I used to respect John Eales - no more. I used to respect New Zealand rugby - no more. I have always struggled to respect the IRB - won't even try anymore. I have just watched a clip of the Schalk Burger citing from the 2007 RWC (8 week ban reduced to 2 after a very expensive lawyer intervened) and a clip of Matt Gittaue fouling Fourie du Preez (no citing, no ban) and have come to the conclusion that fair play is not in the IRB charter. How sad, how disappointing. Where are the rugby lovers now? Come back Louis Luyt - he would not have allowed us to be treated like this.
Johan8/25/2009 7:42 AM
I'm sure the world is scared of our Springboks! Very Scared! The IRB is pathetic with regard to their inconsistencies. Take the Boks out! I dare you! It will just confirm how pathetic they allready are!
DOWN WITH THE IRB8/25/2009 7:41 AM
OMG!!! NZ and AUSTRALIA are honoustly becomming a bunch of poofters! The IRB knows they were wrong with their decision on Bakkies but now that the world is watching they have to appear to be in control... otherwise they would look like clowns. I'm absolutely disgusted in the IRB, who the hell do they think they are!!! Ban the Boks from 2011? Go ahead IRB, do that, and show the world what a buch of idiots you really are. You say the Boks brought the game into disrepute with their protest... where in fact it is the IRBs stupid unfair and vindictive attack on SARU and players that is bringing the game into disrepute. IRB laws are not being applied equally to all. The Springboks should withdraw their membership from the IRB and send those sour grapes to hell. SA can hold its own WC every four years inside SA, we don't need the approval of a bunch of twats that is spoiling the game. Teams will be invited on merit... if the Boks think you are worthy opponents, we will invite you every four years to SA to play proper rugby... plus the IRB will have NO SAY within South African borders! Heaven
Springbokfan8/25/2009 7:41 AM
Is this the last resort for the All Blacks and Australia to actually win the World Cup without the Springboks in the same Tournament. The IRB is board must be investigated. The world must know we wont take the unfair behaviour towards the Springboks anymore, Wake up IRB, you can not take down the Springboks
Steev8/25/2009 7:37 AM
As with formula 1 rugby is at risk of being destroyed by the ruling body or old boys club. Their backwards ideals, botching of rules and poor handling of refs who bring the game into disrepute on a weekendly basis is appauling. Paddy O Brien is just one such culprit hellbent on destroying the advance of the game.
chez@DeanA8/25/2009 7:34 AM
Oh shut up Dean you little whiner! there is no way in hell the irb would ever ban us from a world cup. please, it is all about money and they would never leave out the strongest team in the world. not even when 2 of the judges are naturally biased against us (coz they're scared!!) At least our team stood together, that deserves praise. Viva Bokke Viva; Viva Bakkies Viva
Fred8/25/2009 7:33 AM
An Ozzie and kiwi on the committee of 3, what else could you expect, now please answer what has happened to the other fool from New Zealand who did not see fit to cite Giteau, when will his punishment be announced oops of course he is a Kiwi and they are above the law , so nothing will be done. The whole IRB are a bunch of usless F--ts.
Steadfast8/25/2009 7:31 AM
I have always felt that the bully boy/enforcer tactics by Bakkies was illigal. So he gets caught and suspended. Then we show our school boy indignation at been told off and wear those silly arm bands, now we rae in trouble for desent. Good for the IRB for taking a tough stand. We are so much better than this school boy tactics. You do the crime you do the time and follow the rules in future. Many sports have punishment for desent so why not enforce it in rugby.
stan8/25/2009 7:27 AM
Maybe the IRB should ban their citing committee from the world cup. This would gain respect in the eyes of sports lovers. On the other hand they have tried everything to weaken the Boks. Is this another attempt? If any one has brought the game into disrepute, it has been the IRB citing committee. Maybe they should define their Judicial process. I am sure it says if the Boks do something wrong(not that Botha did anything wrong) penalize them to the limit, but be gentle on the Wallabie and the All Blacks.WHEN will the IRB comment on their latest biased decision of their citing committee? PLEASE TELL US WHY!
g8/25/2009 7:26 AM
Ahhh, John Eales. That explains thing. A freakin Ozzie on the board.
carel8/25/2009 7:26 AM
What a lot of nonsense. A world cup without SA is a like a Major without Tiger and the other top 10 players. The IRB is a bunch of pen pushers trying to look important. Go Bokke
morenacolour8/25/2009 7:25 AM
unbelievable IRB treats certain nation with iron rod while the rest are treated like prince not that queens in the world of rugby but at the same time i don't really care cause i wonder if it was "the beast" or any of the black players suspended would we have seen the armband (noooot) so here, taste your own medicine, now what the IRB did was not something new in SA rugby, you will have to think for yourself what i mean
Bob8/25/2009 7:21 AM
Let all SA supporters now wear white armbands saying "Justice!"
Alan Ingram 8/25/2009 7:16 AM
Remember the IRB is run by aus and nz pigs, so the only reason they thought to ban the BOKA from the 2011 World cup is so either AUS or NZ can win it !!
Burgiesburnin8/25/2009 7:13 AM
Most of the comments given here are so typical. What a bunch of Wallies you are. This is not an attack on the Boks, its to try and stop actions like this happening in the first place. The Boks have no devin right to any special treatment. The citing took place because it was deserved. When you get it into your heads [and there is plenty of room} that there is no vendetta against the boks and that you cant carry on blaming everyone else for your actions. Lets see if SARU appeal this, for once they should keep big mouths shut. A review of this is more likeley to result in justice being served and the Boks getting banned as they should have been here. This culture of entitlement that South Africans generaly promote will not be tolerated by the real world outside. If you deny this culture, just read some of the comments that "rugby supporters" have made and will still make.
Andrew Ferrari8/25/2009 7:09 AM
Laugh it off - The Boks would never be banned from playing in the World Cup. There is just to much money at stake for that type of threat to be implemented. If we believe that one, then you will believe anything. What a pathetic idle threat, what a joke - I am laughing so much that I can barely stay on my chair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
adrian8/25/2009 7:07 AM
The only people bringing the game into disrepute are the IRB and there one eyed citing commission and disiplinary committees. I dare you to ban the Boks from 2011. Its time for the fans to start wearing armbands. I'd love to know what the technicalities were that prevented the 2011 ban. Best reponse - clean sweep in tri-nations.
Wallaby8/25/2009 7:06 AM
I don't agree with the way the Boks handled the whole Bakkies affair but wanting to play a World cup without them is pure ignorence. Maybe if they weren't the number 1 team in the world (It sucks by the way). As for the Wobblies, we'll try again next year.
Rudolph8/25/2009 7:06 AM
It`s one way for the all blacks to improve their changes on winning the world cup. They must now just find a way to ban the French team as well. The they might win the world cup
Edward8/25/2009 7:03 AM
Mr Steve Hansen and the sheep shaggers commitee You are pathetic a disgrace to Rugby!
Pierre8/25/2009 7:00 AM
NZ have won the World Cup only once, in 1987, when the Boks were not allowed to play. Makes you think hey...
richard8/25/2009 6:58 AM
World Cup without the Boks?.Like a Cricket World Cup without India.Its all about money so i dont think so.
Jethro8/25/2009 6:48 AM
PLEASE NOTE: The IRB has with immediate effect decided to change its name to the CBTCTL. This is an abbreviation for the "Can't Beat Them? Cite Them-League". In further correspondence please also add the initials BOP at the back (Bunch Of P******).
Martin8/25/2009 6:37 AM
Hahaha sounds like the All Blacks wanted to make there chances better winning the world cup...
Dave8/25/2009 6:37 AM
Hi All I think this is despicable foer them to even think that they can suspend the bok from the world cup. I feel they should rather make the sightings more transparant and that NZ should come out and explain his desission to everyone. The IRB seem to think they are holier than thou. Why did Matt Giteu not get sighted for the deliberate elbo charge on du Preez, I now do belive the IRB Should come out and explain. People the is a definite conspiracy against the South Africans. I feel we as a rugby nation should stand together and start putting pressure on the IRB I meen youy cant even e-mail the IRB that is how close they are. Please wake up.
Mike8/25/2009 6:32 AM
And another thought - Lets show our support for the Boks and our contempt for the IRB by ALL players in this weekend's CC matches wearing armbands. This is the same IRB that sold it's soul by awarding the 2019 WC to Japan !! A,,,h***** !!
ArtGee8/25/2009 6:22 AM
I support the view the Springboks took! The laws governing the sport is never the same, where one person gets a WARNING, another gets sent off (red card) for the same offence. There HAS TO be more light shed onto these laws, and be practiced by ALL and sundry! Difficult situation to be in, but the playing fields have to be leveled!
Jakes8/25/2009 6:11 AM
Rules are rules, if you are not allowed to stick stuff to your jersey, then that be it. They anyway lost that test, their minds were on other things than playing the game. But again, rules are rules, even when it comes to citing a player for dirty play. This whole episode stinks, to all those old farts from the IRB, Heeelloooo!!!!!! You manage the game of rugby, so if your citing is not working, you need to do something to correct it.This is your job. So, if you don't do your job, then you must go.
Mike8/25/2009 6:08 AM
What a bunch of w****** !! The players should continue the protest by paying their fine money to a charity of their own choice, certainly not into the IRB coffers. Call their bluff and see if they really would ban SA from the 2011 WC. It's time the IRB - the same IRB of the muddled ELVs, the same IRB who think Japan deserves the World Cup, the same IRB who rule from their comfy armchairs - got a taste of player power.
AJ8/25/2009 6:00 AM
I have NEVER thought Kiwi and Ozzie rugby to be soft and have always had respect for them as opponents, but I think even their fans over there must be feeling a bit embarrassed at their representatives behaviour whether it is IRB or Citing commissioners. I am sure the average fan in both those countries wants to have their say on the field not off it. But these 2 countries rugby officials are making themselves sound like wimps! Go Boks! As for the 10 Grand fine (even though it is paltry), tell the IRB to go stuff themselves - let 's see if they ban the Springboks from the World Cup! What a laugh.....Muppets.
Dean A8/25/2009 5:46 AM
Bakkies is a repeat offender - he's always in k**! The charge on Jones dislocated his shoulder! He even admits that he likes being the "bad boy" of the pack. So how dare you criticise the IRB for taking the neccessary action! Giteau is not a repeat offender - that counts in his favour and that's why no action was taken against his careless challenge on Fourie D!
Peter8/25/2009 4:58 AM
The sanction was for a 2 match suspension and not a life ban. For the latter it might have been appropriate, for the former it was a stupid and childish protest. That nobody in SA rugby sees that only makes matters worse because it shows that everybody has lost perspective. The same loss of perspective has come to the fore in Caster Semenya's case.
Bokbefok8/25/2009 4:51 AM
We'll the players may not be able to wear "justice" armbands but the Player 23 can. In Perth, Brisbane and Hamilton the springbok supporters should wear "Justice" armbands. For too long has our player been on the wrongs side of harsh suspensions while the NZ and Aus get slapped on their dainty wrists while wrapped in cotton wool
TV8/25/2009 4:26 AM
All any person wants is consistency, the citing of certain players for alleged offences and then ignoring the same offence if it is incurred by a player of higher stature is what brings the game into disrepute. It is not an Austrailan, New Zealand against SA thing, although SA seems to get some marginal decisions. The IRB should look at how they can inprove on citing consistencies rather than look for a heavier sanction. The ruck where Bakkies was cited..... I have watched the lions do the same. New Zealand, Austalia and South Africa do the same since then, in some cases the offender has been more deliberate and targeted a person.. this goes unpunished. IRB get the S@*% out of your eyes and be more consistent.
SmitForPresident8/25/2009 4:13 AM
I think a boycott of the IRB is in order. Look at F1 racing..the teams (who draw the punters) didn't like the FIA's rules so they threatened to quit and start their own club. Viola! suddenly FIA caves and changes things. The IRB must realise that the power lies with the unions
Fred8/25/2009 4:01 AM
i'm not disappointed in the irb decision. It was to be expected by 3 morons like that. Why oh why did they not go after the ref for an apolagy for making a judgement error? I mean even the injured player tought the ref was wrong and that Bakkies did not break any rule. It is time for the IRB and their pantsy's to go. A new body with more vision and less burocracy would do the sport of ruby good. I also believe that the Arg. Aus. and NZ players will back the bokke in their protest. It is the bureaucrats that screw up everything. Go bokke. Kick ass and win the 3 nations. Maybe the irb will then see thet they have to pay more attention on consistend interpretation of the rules by referees. Thats if there is anyone up there with a brain bigger than a pea!!!
Loren8/25/2009 3:50 AM
It's all CRAP! Firstly - it was a ridiculous ban on Bakkies, but that is part of the game & part of the sporting world - quit crying about it! Secondly - the team (& management) did make a mistake by doing what they did. They are there to play the game of RUGBY & that is all. Why dont they protest about Ricky J being in the team after drinking & driving etc.? They are all role models & ambassadors! Lastly - how the hell does the IRB think for even 1 minute that keeping the reigning Champs from a world cup? Makes no sense at all, how dumb!
Disappointed 8/25/2009 2:27 AM
Now let’s start off with the game “RUGBY” shall we! I’m also a BOKS supporter but since when is it ok to protest on the rugby field? (Action = consequence) Bakkies Botha cocked up so he needs to face the consequences of his actions! We all know that he pushes on the limits every time he runs on to the field, let’s just admit it hey! Why are we so dumb that we cannot just take it on the chin and move on with the verdict? Do we really have to put the whole SA nation through this bullshit and make us look silly doing it! We are making ourselves look like idiots hahahahaha…. jokes on USE! Why did the BOKS not just TOI-TOI on the field is that not the SA way!!!! The ALL BLACKS can do the HAKA and we can do the TOI-TOI….. Every time we feel ill treated and I guess that will be every time the BOKS run on the field, they always bitching about something or other, and we have the nerve to call KIWI’S and AUSSIES arrogant!
Owie8/25/2009 2:22 AM
I think its only becuase Bakkies is white and afrikans. There is discrimination against white "dutchman"(for lack of a better word) from the rest of the world. Thats the defense I would use, seeing that logic and common sense is failing. They need to clean this mess up, their lack of consistency is whats bringing the game into serious dispute. Who do they answer too for their mistakes (Giteu not being sited) . In SA protest and strike is a way of life, what happened to freedom of speech. Off the topic, anyone ever remember Jerri Collins taking a piss right before the game on the pitch a few years ago. What shocked you more? This or that. Pretty sure he didnt get fined for that. Anyway, if we are nt on the recieving end of the whistle of the ref, throw in the IRB panel. Whatever, boks forever.
nodrog18/25/2009 2:18 AM
Maybe the little ISLANDS on NZ can just become another state of OZ since they both moan so much, right through to the commentators. Maybe together they can build some sporting culture but I quess it is just easier to moan and criticise. As once said, from all the sheep in NZ, 4.5 million think they are human. Put that energy spoiled on pointing fingers and moaning to better use....on the field.
darren8/25/2009 2:14 AM
The IRB committee was made up of two judges, Sir John Hansen of New Zealand and Guillermo Tragant of Argentina, and former Australian captain John Eales . Well excuse me wouldnt these 3 love to see south africa out of the RWC come on
Johan8/25/2009 1:52 AM
It is a shame what happened, I have seen worse incidents that went unpunished but yet they can step onto the boks, I think if we got suspended from the world cup that the competition would not have been real, you can not have a world cup without the cup holders, it is like drinking beer without any alcohol in it what is the point........
rambani8/25/2009 1:44 AM
They want to give themselves a chance to win . They know bBOKS are too good. SORE LOOSERS
Mr Eeel8/25/2009 1:07 AM
I actually think it would have been a good thing. Screw the IRB, they need us more than we need them. If it had happened, I reckon we could have started a World Tournament, kind of like Champions League. Change the format a bit and host it here. I think the idea of Confed Cup for rugby would be awesome as well, and it would give a bit more spotlight to teams from Asia, and America. Who really wants to go to New Zealand anyway?
Big Herc8/25/2009 1:02 AM
Ban South Africa from 2011, that is one joke and a half. 60% of the revenue that comes into Super 14 rugby comes from South Africa. The Aussies with their chairman John O Neil do not like where South African rugby is at and where its going.The Aussies voted for England and Japan for RWC. Usually Southern Hemisphere teams work as a team becuase a World in the South all teams benefit. South Africa does not need the Super 14. The Currie Cup is serious business and the number of companies lining up to sponsor the Currie Cup are many. A world cup wthout South Africa for IRB would be disaster.
Lucas8/25/2009 1:00 AM
The IRB is doing the Boks a huge favour with their inept handling of the whole citing and discplinary process. First they generated a lot more publicity and media attention for the incident than the Boks could ever hoped to achieved by wearing the arm band and secondly because they are so clearly biased they are generating world wide public support for the Boks while at the same time destroying their own credibilty. It is typical of a bunch of insecure old farts who is trying to protect their little domain by trying to silence any criticism, no matter how justified. They could have used the incident much more positively, by admitting that the citing procedure is flawed and will be looked at, while at the same time just warning the Boks the field is not the place to air grievances. With their pathetic PR handling they only reinforced the notion in the general public's minds that the Boks did the right thing. They should fire their PR manager.
Ham8/25/2009 12:56 AM
Journalist being sensational........for a change. If the IRB really did say that then they need some diplomacy training....much like the IAAF in the Semenya case. The problem with the press nowadays, is that you can believe very little of what actually makes it to print...once all the truth has been edited out. The problem with Bakkies, is that he's a repeat offender who is known as one of the dirtiest players around. I think that the boks chose the wrong player to support with this protest??? You have to admire their teamwork though.
Mark8/25/2009 12:34 AM
You can be sure that if Bakkies had done something similar to what Giteau did to Du Preez in the last match he would have been suspended. But the fact that the Boks remain No.1 even with all the political/ administrative complications (both local and international), just goes to show how good they really are!
Piet Pompies8/25/2009 12:25 AM
I've said it many times. The IRB does not have the (rugby) ba*** to put their e-mail address on their website. Wonder why? Open and transparent? Or a $£&*!@ circus behind the scenes? Go Bokke! (And Proteas, for that matter!) WE, so-called arrogant South Africans, a tiny percentage of players, WITH all the drawbacks, still manage to get up everybody's noses. All the more fun for it! Men of men...
Gavin8/25/2009 12:22 AM
This is an absolute JOKE.....however.....we will continue to dominate in the face to adversity.
Jean8/25/2009 12:17 AM
Leaves a bad taste in the mouth if you ask me..
Ams8/25/2009 12:16 AM
Oh how New Zealand would have loved that. Lets face it people: they are out to gun us down, they will try anything. Suspending us from the World Cup over armbands? Bloody ridiculous! We are the World Champs, but alas that is where the problem comes in. These IRB officials are all the same; our guys get suspended over stupid incidents (Bakkies legally cleaning out a ruck; Schalk was guilty) whilst an Aussie can almost take off Fourie du Preez's head without facing the consequences. They just can't stand that we are the World Champs. The IRB are just a bunch of suits - they mean nothing to rugby!!
Francois Lubbe8/25/2009 12:11 AM
Is ons nou nog op skool wat nie die gesag van n onnie mag bevraagteken of betwyfel nie, dat die IRB nou ons so wil straf? Dis eerder die skorsing van Bakkies wat die naam van Rugby in gedwang gebring het, nie die vreedsame betoog van die spelers nie. Mag niemand dan die skeidregters of match officials se beslissings bevraagteken nie, is hulle dan so perfek dat hulle nooit foute maak of altyd die regte ding doen? Is hulle dan verhewe bo kritiek? Dis genoeg dat hulle ons spelers teiken vir "sightings", mag ons nou nie daaroor kla nie? n Joke is n joke, maar jy maak nie n sambreel in man se h*l oop nie!
Dave8/25/2009 12:07 AM
Firstly, suspending the Springboks from the 2011 world cup would have had a negative impact on the competition from a commercial and competitive perspective. Imagine a world cup where the defending champions and the top team in the world are not allowed to play - I am sure that the sponsors would love that one. Secondly, I believe that the rugby watching public deserves an explanation for Bakies suspension. The reason is that he was suspended for an incident which the coaches of both teams and the player that was injured regarded as being legal. Its one thing for the Springbok coach to back his player, but when the Lions coaching staff and injured player also see nothing wrong with the incident, then I think that the IRB needs to explain its findings. Thirdly can the IRB explain why Matt Githey was not sited in the test against the Springboks when most commentators thought that the incident was siteable.
grant8/24/2009 11:58 PM
Has there been any action taken against the disciplinary tribunal that found Bakkies guilty in the first place? Some how I doubt it... If they are not accountable for their actions as well, how else do the players voice their opinion?
mm8/24/2009 11:57 PM
The protest was a bit stupid but of course NZ & Oz want SA suspended from the 2011 World Cup. That's probably the only way that they can win. Also coincidently it's often NZ citing officials who repeatedly fail to cite NZ & Aus players, for far more serious acts of foul play than Bakkies, whilst harshly treating SA players at any opportunity.
Are they joking8/24/2009 11:53 PM
What a farce. These guys are the same people that go around applying the citing rule inconsistently (potentially damaging players carreers on both sides ) with impunity. Surely they bring the game into disrepute. They would never ban the current world champions let alone one of the top 3 rugby nations in the world. What a load of b*llocks. Still the Boks should do all the talking on the field by hammering them (points and marginally legal tackles only)
Richard8/24/2009 11:52 PM
In their armband protest, the Boks were complaining that the IRB was treating them with a heavy hand in the Bakkies Botha suspension. In this verdict, the IRB provides further evidence of the heavy hand that the Boks preferentially recieve from the IRB. The Aussies (thru Eales) and NZ (through grudge Hansen) must be really worried that the Boks are world champs and head of the IRB table. New Zealand and Australia, take note, you are not! Instead you have to resort to underhand moves at the IRB.
Mason8/24/2009 11:51 PM
Of course!! Keep the Boks out of the World Cup and make it easier for Whinging teams Australia and New Zealand not to win it! New Zealand would love that!! They are still going to loose because of their arrogance!! They are like a Chihuahua...tiny but always want to shout the odds!! Doesn't help that two of the three were the above mentioned nations i'm sure!
TheGreenMan8/24/2009 11:48 PM
I am sure the Kiwi and Aussie "Judges" would have loved to prevent the Boks from competing at the next World Cup. How else will they win? Let it be noted that the only World Cup that the Kiwis have managed to win was one in which the Boks were not competing! What a joke!
Julian8/24/2009 11:43 PM
This is a very undemocratic stance the IRB is taking. I'm sure there are more serious matters to worry about than trying to prevent an obviously superior Bok side from winning another world cup! It makes one wonder about the make up of the IRB rugby board.
pjv8/24/2009 11:43 PM
Well, I am "extremely disappointed" in the IRB. This makes one think that the Americans have some point in boycotting much of international sport. International sporting governing bodies like the FIF and IRB just spoil the fun.
pieter8/24/2009 11:39 PM
wat is sa rugby coming to these days get the clowns out of the office and just play the game they should of been band from 2011 hope it opens up there eyes.
Bles Bok8/24/2009 11:34 PM
Ek staan soos 1 man agter ons Bokke se besluit. Die IRB moet in die bek geruk word. Skors die bok van die WC en sien hoe opwindend sal dit wees. Die arrogante idiote in die IRB moet omverskoning vra nie die bokke nie. Ek hoop ons is nog nie kla met die storie nie. Ons moet seker maak dat hulle die boodskap kry.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Anton van Zyl's message to WP fans

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Greatest Goal Celebrations... 9/3/2010 12:31:41 PM

1963 Wallabies against South Africa 9/3/2010 12:13:53 PM

MOVING FORWARD - PART 2 9/3/2010 12:02:42 PM

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.