Pollard to lead SA Schools

2012-08-17 17:39
Handre Pollard (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Flyhalf Handré Pollard will captain the SA Schools team in their final Under-18 International Series match against England at the UWC Sports Stadium on Saturday. Kick-off is at 12h45.

Pollard, a 2012 IRB Junior World Championship winner with the Junior Springboks, takes over the leadership duties from Affies prop Pierre Schoeman.

After shuffling the team with numerous changes for their previous outing in George against Wales, the national selectors have chosen what is arguably the strongest line-up for the clash against England.

A surprise selection choice in the SA Schools line-up is that of Outeniqua High fullback Warrick Gelant as midfield-partner for the strong running Waterkloof inside centre Rohan Janse van Rensburg. Gelant caught the eye with some enterprising play against Wales and his pairing with Janse van Rensburg adds extra attacking power to an already exciting backline.

With Gelant now in the number-13 jersey it means a return to the fullback position for Jesse Kriel of Maritzburg College.

Pollard came on as a first half substitute against Wales and his introduction changed the course of the game because he was able to stamp his authority on the match from the very first move he initiated. The SA schoolboys will be aiming for their third win after victories over France and Wales.

The English boys, however, will be looking to finish their tour on a positive note after their surprise defeat against France at Outeniqua Park. France and Wales will get the day’s action underway at 11h00.

The SA Schools team:

15.    Jesse Kriel (Maritzburg College)
14.    Sergeal Petersen (Grey PE)
13.    Warrick Gelant (Outeniqua)
12.    Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Waterkloof)
11.    Duhan van der Merwe (Outeniqua)
10.    Handre Pollard (Paarl Gym, captain)
9.      Justin Phillips (Waterkloof)
8.      Aidon Davis (HTS Daniël Pienaar)
7.      Jean-Luc du Preez (Kearsney College)
6.      Thabo Mabuza (Centurion)
5.      Nicholas Janse van Rensburg (Affies, vice-captain)
4.      John-Dave Schickerling (Paarl Gym)
3.      Dayan van der Westhuizen (Centurion)
2.      Malcolm Marx (King Edward)
1.      Ox Nche (Louis Botha)


16.    Chad Solomon (Paul Roos)
17.    Pierre Schoeman (Affies)
18.    Wilco Louw (HTS Drostdy)
19.    Gideon Koegelenberg (Hugenote)
20.     Akhona Sihunu (Dale College)
21.     Ryno Eksteen (Affies)
22.     Sandile Kubeka (Kearsney College)
23.     Jano Venter (HTS Middelburg)

Read more on:    handre pollard  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

SA Rugby's coaching indaba is set to take place this week. Do you think the two-day think-tank will make any difference?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.