Police v Rovers in club final

2012-09-19 19:10
Heinrich Rademeyer of Pretoria Police (Photo provided by SARU)
Rustenburg - Pretoria Police will play College Rovers in the 2012 SARU National Club Championship final after both teams recorded impressive semi-final wins here at the Impala Club on Wednesday.

And in a unique twist, the Plate final will also be contested by Police and Rovers teams, after Bloemfontein Police and Welkom Rovers won through to an all-Free State province decider after victories over Noordelikes and Naka Bulls respectively.

Both finals will be televised live, with the Plate final kicking off at 13:00 and the Cup final at 15:00.

KZN champions College Rovers, who won the national title in 2010, advanced to their fourth final in seven years with a clinical 72-10 victory over Border champions Old Selbornians, who battled manfully but were no match for the streetwise and super-fit KwaZulu-Natalians.

It was Rovers’ 78th win in 82 matches since the start of the 2009 season, an incredible streak made all the more impressive by the fact that it includes four Club Champs campaigns in addition to KZN league and Cup matches.

“We’re very happy to get through and now it’s a case of who's got the most left in the tank,” said Rovers’ coach Robert du Preez, the former Springbok scrumhalf. “The guys played well today and they know what they need to do now because they've been here before. We can’t wait for Friday.”

In the other semi-final, two tries to wing Michael Nienaber, a late score from fellow winger Ruan van Loo and 15 points from the boot of flyhalf Dillon Laubscher allowed Pretoria Police, the 1995 and 1996 national club champions, to advance to the final for the fourth time after a 35-25 win over hosts Rustenburg Impala.

“It was a very tough game but I'm very, very proud of my players,” said Police skipper Nico Luus. “All the hard work has been worth it and now we have one more hurdle left to clear. We’ve had a very successful season but now we have to finish the job.”

Day 4 fixtures for Friday:

Plate final
13:00 Bloemfontein Police vs Eagle Towing Welkom Rovers

Cup final
15:00 Jonsson College Rovers vs Pretoria Police.
Day 3 results (Wednesday September 19):

Cup semi-finals

College Rovers 72 – Tries: Kyle Wilkinson, Anton Verster (2), Lubabalo Mtembu (2), Calvin Adam, Conrad Stoltz (2), Rosko Specman, Francois Robbertse. Conversions: Jors Dannhauser (3), Kobus de Kock (5). Penalties: Dannhauser (2).
Broubart Old Selbornians 10 – Try: Dylan Rogers. Conversion: Glen Warner. Penalty: Warner.

Rustenburg Impala 25 – Tries: Michael Lubbe, Morne Jooste, Gavin Williamson. Conversions: Willie Kok (2). Penalties: Kok (2).
Pretoria Police 35 – Tries: Ruan van Loo (2), Michael Nienaber (2). Conversions: Dillon Laubscher (3). Penalties: Laubsher (2). Drop goal: Laubscher.

Plate semi-finals

Noordelikes 7 – Try: Mynhardt Smith. Conversion: Zander Byleveldt.
Bloemfontein Police 27 – Tries: Stevie Meyer, Heino Shepperson, Albert Hertzog. Conversions: Andre du Plessis (3). Penalties: Du Plessis (2).

Naka Bulls 24 – Tries: Leon Nel (2). Conversion: Ruan Boshoff. Penalties: Boshoff (2), Phillip Mulder (2).
Eagle Towing Welkom Rovers 35 – Tries: Pieter Cocken, Ivan de Klerk, Donovan Ball, Gerhard Klopper. Conversions: Ricardo Santos (2), Tiaan van Wyk. Penalties: Santos (3).

Day 2 results (Monday September 17):

Cup quarter-finals

Old Selbornians 28 Brakpan 26
College Rovers 41 Despatch 30
Durbanville-Bellville 25 Pretoria Police 36
Rustenburg Impala 31 Roodepoort 19

Plate quarter-finals

Naka Bulls 25 Villagers Worcester 23
Blanco 22 Eagle Towing Welkom Rovers 37
Noordelikes 38 Witrivier 30
Bloemfontein Police 22 Kumba Iron Ore Sishen 17

Day 1 results (Saturday September 15):

Roodepoort 26 Naka Bulls 12                     
College Rovers 61 BB Truck Noordelikes 0                                           
Bloemfontein Police 33 Broubart Old Selbornians 43
Durbanville-Bellville 53 Blanco 20                                             
Pretoria Police 43 Welkom Rovers 12           
Sishen 0 Brakpan 28                                                      
White River 10 Despatch 72                                        
Rustenburg Impala 53 Villagers Worcester 21

National Club Championship winners 1975-2011:

2011 Pukke 19 UJ 14
2010 College Rovers 24 Maties 15
2009 Hamilton 36 Pukke 34
2008 Pukke 17 College Rovers 12
2007 Maties 24 Tukkies 8
2006 Pukke 33 College Rovers 21
2005 Maties 24 UJ 13
2004 Pukke 41 TUT 10
2003 Tukkies 46 Pukke 25
2002 Shimlas 34 Pukke 26
2001 Pirates 37 Tygerberg 13
2000 Maties 54 Tukkies 37
1999 Shimlas 45 Welkom Rovers 9
1998 Maties 28 RAU 10
1997 Maties 30 RAU 15
1996 Pretoria Police 70 Old Greys 29
1995 Pretoria Police 26 Durban Crusaders 12
1994 Durban Crusaders 34 Oud-Studente 3
1993 Durban Crusaders 8 Despatch 3
1992 RAU 40 Harlequins 22
1991 Old Greys 36 Despatch 6
1990 Tukkies 22 Despatch 20
1989 Roodepoort 29 Goudstad Onderwyskollege 22
1988 Despatch 13 Tukkies 12
1987 Defence (WP) 26 Despatch 8
1986 Shimlas 14 Tukkies 6
1985 Despatch 28 Tukkies 6
1984 Maties 16 Tukkies 15
1983 Harlequins 29 Tukkies 12
1982 Maties 25 RAU 6
1981 Maties 32 Pretoria Police 9
1980 Villager 14 Maties 3
1979 Maties 27 Tukkies 11
1978 Maties 15 Tukkies 9
1977 Maties 12 Harlequins 10
1976 Tukkies 19 Maties 0
1975 Maties 28 Durban Collegians 20

Read more on:    rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Following their opening Rugby Championship win over Argentina, where will the Springboks finish in this year's tournament?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.