Pienaar added to BaaBaas squad

2015-05-24 18:11
Ruan Pienaar (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - England’s Ugo Monye, New Zealand’s Brad Thorn and South Africa’s Ruan Pienaar were added to a 30-strong Barbarians squad to face Ireland and England.

Head coach Robbie Deans has called up players from 10 different countries with 786 international caps between them as the famous invitation club prepares to face Ireland at Thomond Park on Thursday, May 28 and an England XV at Twickenham on May 31.

Harlequins wing Monye and Leicester Tigers lock Thorn will be bringing down the curtain on their professional careers with the Barbarians, the club celebrating its 125th anniversary this year.

Monye said: “It’s always a real honour to play for the Barbarians and to be able to do so at the end of my career will be something very special. I want to go out on a high and my goal is to help this great club add to its list of victories against Ireland and England.”

Veteran lock Thorn (59 caps) and Pienaar (80 caps) add significant experience to the group that already includes British & Irish Lions Adam Jones and Alex Cuthbert, New Zealand great Joe Rokocoko, Australia’s most-capped forward George Smith and leading Aviva Premiership try scorer Thomas Waldrom.

There is strong South African contingent in the back line resources where Pienaar is joined by Zane Kirchner (Leinster), Gio Aplon (Grenoble) and Wynand Olivier (Montpellier).

Former Australia coach Deans also calls on Argentina forwards Matias Diaz, Pablo Matera and Rodrigo Tejerizo while New Zealand prop Saimone Taumoepeau and Georgian lock Konstnatin Mikautadze are drafted in from three-time European champions Toulon.


BACKS (13)

Gio Aplon (Grenoble & South Africa)
Stephen Brett (Lyon)
Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Ath & Argentina)
Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues & Wales)
Yoshi Fujita (Panasonic Wild Knights & Japan)
James Gopperth (Leinster)
Zane Kirchner (Leinster & South Africa)
Ugo Monye (Harlequins & England)
Wynand Olivier (Montpellier & South Africa)
Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa)
Tusi Pisi (Suntory Sungoliath & Samoa)
Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand)
David Smith (Toulon)


Matias Diaz (Pampas & Argentina)
Jason Eaton (La Rochelle & New Zealand)
Deon Fourie (Lyon)
Shane Jennings (Leinster & Ireland)
Pablo Matera (Pampas & Argentina)
Konstantin Mikautadze (Toulon & Georgia)
Ryu Koliniasi Holani (Panasonic Wild Knights & Japan)
Adam Jones (Cardiff Blues & Wales)
Rodrigo Capo Ortega (Castres & Uruguay)
George Smith (Lyon & Australia)
Saimone Taumoepeau (Castres & New Zealand)
Rodrigo Tejerizo (Tucuman & Argentina)
Brad Thorn (Leicester Tigers & New Zealand)
Gerhard Vosloo (Toulon)
David Ward (Harlequins)
Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs & England)
George Whitelock (Panasonic Wild Knights & New Zealand)

Read more on:    ruan pienaar  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

SA Rugby's coaching indaba is set to take place this week. Do you think the two-day think-tank will make any difference?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.