O'Gara to captain Ireland XV

2012-05-28 15:46
Ronan O'Gara (File)

Dublin - Veteran flyhalf Ronan O'Gara will captain an Ireland XV that plays a non-cap match against the Barbarians in Gloucester on Tuesday.

Ireland's most capped player will be partnered at halfback by Conor Murray, while Paddy Wallace and Darren Cave line up in the centres. Keith Earls starts at fullback with uncapped duo Craig Gilroy and Simon Zebo making their first starts in a senior game on each wing.

In the pack, Brett Wilkinson and Declan Fitzpatrick will pack down on either side of Mike Sherry in an uncapped front row.

Dan Tuohy and Donnacha Ryan form a new second row partnership at this level while Peter O'Mahony starts at No 8 with John Muldoon and Chris Henry completing the back row.




Ireland XV:

15 Keith Earls (Munster); 14 Craig Gilroy (Ulster), 13 Darren Cave (Ulster), 12 Paddy Wallace (Ulster), 11 Simon Zebo (Munster); 10 Ronan O'Gara (Munster, captain), 9 Conor Murray (Munster); 8 Peter O'Mahony (Munster), 7 Chris Henry (Ulster), 6 John Muldoon (Connacht); 5 Donnacha Ryan (Munster), 4 Dan Tuohy (Ulster); 3 Declan Fitzpatrick (Ulster), 2 Mike Sherry (Munster), 1 Brett Wilkinson (Connacht)

Substitutes: 16 Rory Best (Ulster), 17 Ronan Loughney (Connacht), 18 Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster), 19 James Coughlan (Munster), 20 Paul Marshall (Ulster), 21 Nevin Spence (Ulster), 22 Andrew Trimble (Ulster)

Read more on:    ireland  |  barbarians  |  ronan o'gara  |  rugby

Boks turn back the clock

2016-10-26 22:07

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Did Stormers and Springboks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit deserve to be named SA Rugby Player of the Year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.