NZ reveal Super 14 squads

2009-11-11 08:15
Back with the Crusaders (File)

Wellington - Former All Blacks lock Chris Jack will return to Super 14 rugby with the Crusaders next year after two years playing for the London club Saracens.

New Zealand's five Super 14 franchises announced their squads for the 2010 season on Wednesday.

Jack, who played 84 matches for the Crusaders before joining Saracens in 2007, was among the most notable selections. He played the last of his 67 Tests for New Zealand at the 2007 World Cup in France.

All Blacks flyhalf Daniel Carter will also return to the Crusaders for the 2010 season after taking a "sabbatical" last year to play for the French club Perpignan. Carter's French sojourn ended in January when he damaged an Achilles tendon and was sidelined for seven months.

The Crusaders, who has won seven titles in Super 12 or 14 rugby, have also secured young All Blacks wing Zac Guilford, who made an impressive Test debut against Wales at Cardiff last Saturday.

The Blues, who have made nine changes to their 28-man squad of last season, were the most-changed of the New Zealand teams.

Neil Sorensen, general manager of professional rugby for the New Zealand Rugby Union, said the selection process was difficult because of the amount of talent available.

"The abundance of quality talent has made this a very challenging process," he said.

"However, it is great that the franchises have worked solidly through this process in a deliberate and professional manner. It is always tough to leave out quality players but the reality is there are just so many good players out there.

"We are delighted with the even spread of this talent across the regions and anticipate strong performances in 2010 for all five squads."

New Zealand will host the Rugby World Cup in 2011. To be eligible for All Blacks selection, players must be signed with a New Zealand club.

New Zealand's five franchise squads: (D denotes draft pick)

Tony Woodcock, John Afoa, Charlie Faumuina, Tevita Mailau, Keven Mealamu, Tom McCartney, Anthony Boric, Ali Williams, Kurtis Haiu, Jerome Kaino, Peter Saili, Serge Lilo (D), Tom Chamberlain, Chris Lowrey, Viliame Maafu, Alby Mathewson, Chris Smylie, Stephen Brett (D), Daniel Kirkpatrick (D), Luke McAlister, Benson Stanley, Isaia Toeava, George Pisi, Rudi Wulf, Anthony Tuitavake, Joe Rokocoko, Rene Ranger, Paul Williams.

Nathan White, Ben Afeaki, James McGougan, Sona Taumalolo, Aled de Malmanche, Hika Elliot, Kevin O'Neill, Craig Clarke, Callum Retallick, Romana Graham, Jarrad Hoeata (D), Liam Messam, Tanerau Latimer, Luke Braid, Sione Lauaki, Colin Bourke, Brendon Leonard, Junior Poluleuligaga, Stephen Donald, Mike Delany, Callum Bruce, Jackson Willison, Richard Kahui, Lelia Masaga, Sitiveni Sivivatu, Dwayne Sweeney, Tim Nanai-Williams, Mils Muliaina.

John Schwalger, Jacob Ellison, Neemia Tialata, Anthony Perenise, Andrew Hore, Dane Coles, Jeremy Thrush, Bryn Evans, James Broadhurst (D), Jason Eaton, Michael Paterson, Victor Vito, Karl Lowe, Scott Waldrom, Rodney So'oialo, Nick Crosswell, Piri Weepu, Tyson Keats (D), Aaron Cruden, Willie Ripia, Ma'a Nonu, Conrad Smith, Jason Kawau (D), Tamati Ellison, David Smith, Hosea Gear, Andre Taylor, Cory Jane.


Wyatt Crockett, Owen Franks, Ben Franks, Peter Borlase, Corey Flynn, Ti'i Paulo, Brad Thorn, Isaac Ross, Chris Jack, Sam Whitelock, Kieran Read, Richie McCaw, George Whitelock, Jonathan Poff, Thomas Waldrom, Andy Ellis, Kahn Fotuali'i, Daniel Carter, Daniel Bowden (D), Ryan Crotty, Tim Bateman, Robert Fruean, Adam Whitelock, Sean Maitland, Kade Poki, Zac Guildford, Colin Slade, Jared Payne.

Jamie Mackintosh, Clint Newland, Chris King, Bronson Murray (D), Jason Macdonald, Jason Rutledge, Josh Bekhuis, Tom Donnelly, Hayden Triggs, Joe Tuineau, Adam Thomson, Alando Soakai, John Hardie, Tim Boys, Nasi Manu, Stephen Setephano, Jimmy Cowan, Sean Romans, Matt Berquist (D), Michael Hobbs, Jayden Hayward, Jason Shoemark (D), Kendrick Lynn, James Paterson, Fetu'u Vainikolo, Ben Smith, Robbie Robinson, Israel Dagg


Castrogiovanni hit with fine

2014-12-17 19:35


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


LOL treadmill fail!

Watch this hilarious clip! We think this man should rather be running outside this summer!


I love summer.24

Google’s top searches of 2014
10 of the strangest Christmas traditions around the world
2014's best drone videos
7 drinks you need to make this party season
Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

The five candidates for SA Player of the Year have been revealed. Who gets your vote?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.