Oz No 8 out of BaaBaas clash

2011-11-26 08:01
Ben McCalman (Gallo Images)

London - Eightman Ben McCalman has been ruled out of Australia's match against the Barbarians in London on Saturday with an eye irritation, the team said.

McCalman will be replaced by Waratahs loose forward Dave Dennis, with Radike Samo now taking his place on the bench.

Australia, who will be captained by openside flanker David Pocock, have won their last seven matches against the Barabarians, their last a 55-7 thrashing in Sydney in 2009.

The Barbarians are led by New Zealand's World Cup winning coaches Graham Henry and Steve Hansen, with South Africa's Victor Matfield captaining the side in his last game.

Henry has stepped down as coach of the All Blacks with his former assistant Hansen the hot favourite to replace him and to take the team towards the next World Cup in England in 2015.



15 Isaia Toeava (NZL); 14 Sam Tomkins (England RL), 13 Robbie Fruean (Crusaders/NZL),12 Stirling Mortlock (AUS), 11 Bryan Habana (RSA), 10 Danny Cipriani (ENG), 9 Peter Stringer (IRL), 8 Adam Thomson (NZL), 7 Jerome Kaino (NZL), 6 Mauro Bergamasco (ITA), 5 Victor Matfield (RSA, captain), 4 Simon Shaw (ENG), 3 Sylvain Marconnet (FRA), 2 Keven Mealamu (NZL), 1 Eusebio Guinazu (ARG)

Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss (RSA), 17 Salvatore Perugini (ITA), 18 Marco Bortolami (ITA), 19 Jason White (SCO), 20 Seru Rabeni (FIJ), 21 Richard Kahui (NZL),22  Nemia Kenatale (FIJ)


15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Ioane Digby, 10 James O'Connor, 9 Will Genia, 8 Dave Dennis, 7 David Pocock (captain), 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 James Slipper

Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 James Horwill, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Matt Hodgson, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Ben Tapuai


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Did Stormers and Springboks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit deserve to be named SA Rugby Player of the Year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.