Rugby

Luke keen on clean slate

2009-06-16 22:06
Email | Print
Luke Watson (Gallo Images)

Stephen Nell

Cape Town – Luke Watson is looking forward to, for a while at least, being a rugby player without baggage when he joins the English club Bath at the end of this year’s Currie Cup series.

“I’m looking forward to just being me and not being confronted by so many preconceived notions about who I am,” said the 25-year-old Western Province flank, who will soon be getting married.

“I’m getting married on 1 August. I’ve known Elaine (his girlfriend) for some time. We met at church.”

Watson has had a stormy year. Earlier this year, he was booed at Newlands after he angered rugby lovers in October last year with his controversial comments about the Springbok jersey.

But Watson then excelled on the field and though his performances were not rewarded with another inclusion in the Springbok team, he is once again a favourite at Newlands.

He said “Desperation” to follow the Lord’s will, motivated him on the field.

“There were some difficult times, but it was never overwhelming,” he said.

“I got an SMS from my biggest mentor, Jimmy Dowds (a pastor from Scotland) and he said he saw a lot of courage in me. It is desperation to fulfil the Lord’s will in my life. As soon as you put God first and realise that there is greater meaning, then mountains become molehills.”

“It would be an under statement to say I was hurt by what I experienced over the last few months. If you take a stand on something, you’re always going to get opposition.”

He said it was a big decision to sign a contract with Bath, “But I have never been scared of making big decisions. I’m leaving a comfort zone behind."

Watson said it would be a dream come true to win the Currie Cup with WP.

“I’m passionate about WP and the tradition that goes with the jersey. It would be incredible if we could win the Currie Cup. We are a young and inexperienced team, but many leaders are already stepping forward.”

Your Comments

Vuyisa 6/18/2009 2:21 PM
I know I'm a racist! Can’t help myself! Sorry!
Mogabe6/18/2009 2:12 PM
Vuyisa: You must be smoking da green stuff...?
Gavin6/18/2009 1:05 PM
@Vigaina! What are you on about!! Hypocrite!!
Kosie6/18/2009 12:24 PM
Vuyisa: I see you don’t have any grey stuff! Shame, still stuck in Apartheid? Grow up you stupid Buffoon! Do you know that you and Fikile are the racists in this Forum?
Anonymous User6/18/2009 12:13 PM
"DR Ha Ha" are,nt u the racist turd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Brett6/18/2009 11:01 AM
Well said Eugene!
Eugene6/18/2009 10:10 AM
@Vuyisa..! You sound like an old gramophone..., STUCK ON THE SAME OLD TUNE...! Get yourself an iPod and move on.., we’re almost at 2010 now! Get over yourself!
Vuyisa 6/18/2009 8:01 AM
Eugene: What do I have to think , when u still carry your Oupa's mentality. Do away with your Oupa's mentality and then perhaps I would not raise pre 1994 in my comments, just break the shackles of your Oupa's thinking in you and set yourself free from all of that narrow thinking then we can converse on a more civilised way(according to u).
Jack6/17/2009 4:05 PM
OMG, I just had the biggest laugh of my life! Tim, you are funny as hell dude! Fikile on the other hand seems to suffer from exactly the same condition as Mr. Luke Watson...he experiences incontrollable brain farts at the most inopportune times. I've been reading a lot of these news24 pages over the last couple of days and it seems that some people are intent on keeping racism alive. What surprises me is that for once it's actually not white people who are guilty of this sin, but black/colored people who has come to the conclusion that South Africa belongs to them alone, that white people don't have the right to watch football, let alone comment or criticize Bafana Bafana's performances, have any active roles in business or politics & should be burnt at the stake. I guess anti-productive fools like Julius Malema and Zimbabwe's "savior" must be extremely happy at the moment, since it seems that SA is very much following in Zim's idiotic footsteps.
@dr haha6/17/2009 3:42 PM
Exactly, still riding the efforts of his parents, did nothing on is own accord! There you said it yourself! Is Luke great because his father did what he did?
@dr haha6/17/2009 3:40 PM
Exactly, still riding the efforts of his parents, did nothing on is own accord! There you said it yourself! Is Luke great because his father did what he did?
Eugene6/17/2009 3:24 PM
@Vuyisa...! It’s so funny when some people get confronted always jump back to 1994.., Racism.., Apartheid...! LOL! The fact is that politics and sport don’t go together...! 80% op people disliked politicians and if you trying to be both you are bound to get trampled on.
Dirky6/17/2009 3:23 PM
After all the ''puke'' and ''vomit'' surrounding you Luke, I think its time for a Bath.
Dr Ha Ha...6/17/2009 3:07 PM
Good on yer Luke, go onto greener pastures; leave these yayhoos to the nothingness that they are, a*#krappers! What have ALL these smeerlap detractors achieved?! JACK! Where were they and their redneck parents when YOUR parents were playing rugby in KwaZakhele? Yeah right, feverishly rubbing their scabby flesh with donkey soap at the thought of even TOUCHING Black people, let alone sweating together with them in sport. Ponsie pufter domkop redneck biff bang one dimensional mogs!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 3:05 PM
Even forgiveness from God only comes when you admit you sins and ask for forgiveness. It does not come from nothing. It takes a bigger man and a real christian to say I am sorry when you done wrong.
Captain6/17/2009 2:56 PM
Bla bla bla bla, bugger off and don't come back.
Paddy6/17/2009 2:04 PM
I am busy reading the latest "Spud" book and learnt a super new saying...FUBAR......So all I want to say to all the racists, ie Luke, Cheeky and Fikile etc.....I hope you get FUBAR!!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 1:36 PM
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!! That was my first reaction when I read this headline. SA rugby supporters are so thrilled and happy to see you go mate - dont let the door hit you where the dear Lord split you!!
Jason6/17/2009 1:21 PM
Anonymous User....." Christians are a tiresome bunch" Whateva....some might be but that is a serious generalisation with serious consequences. Enjoy your life insulting others cause yours is probably such a mess. Everyone deserves forgiveness...I hope one day you see that. Must take balls not putting your name behind that comment.
Andrew6/17/2009 1:20 PM
FIKILE....this a story about RUGBY not RACE you twat !! Wtf are u on about chickenpox etc for?? you mention zero zip about rugby but waffle on and on about how useless we whites are, you my man are more racist than any other commenter here, you should be ashamed, its people like you that REFUSE to put the past IN THE FU&%#G PAST !! Mistakes were made, get over it, move on, you are so lost in the past I want to shit myself!! JUDGEMENTAL PO#S !!
William Wilson6/17/2009 1:04 PM
Anonymous user, you the one who says that Watson has "trillions" of SA supporters. You are also referring to anti-Watson bloggers as ***holes, that they are "f&&&&&&&s" and they should all "eff-off". Stay anonymous dude to prevent all knowing your identity, you uncultured idiot. Is a "f******" like you are, never heard of one before. Also, if you can, ascertain how much a trillion is. Are you a primary school drop out? Did your mother learn you to refer to others as assholes and tell them to F-off. Watson made up his own bed and said what he wanted. Is only he illegible to criticise and not others. He desires the "clean slate". To clean the slate demands an apology to SA Rugby, SARU, and to all springboks before and after him, also all those offended and insulted. Strange that all black & coloured springboks are so proud of being world champs and proud of being springbok players. Not Watson or Daddy. Jake White was forced to select Watson. Obviously he won`t be proud of being a Springbok rugby player, he did`nt deserve it.
Kosie6/17/2009 1:00 PM
Fikile: You are the dumbest most arrogant racist on news24. Is it because you have no brains or are you just plain racist? Worthless people like you should be put out. I’m willing to put you out of your misery? You dont even have to ask nicely
Stuart6/17/2009 12:47 PM
Guys, guys, guys...if you wanna carry on with these racial slurs, please go and do it somewhere else...this is a sports page with comments on sport....please just get over all your issues and enjoy the rugby.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 12:39 PM
Typical rugby player...."despiration to follow the Lords will motivates him." "Ja so we played well today and I'd like to thank the lord who gave me the strength and talent"....to smash my opponents head in. Christains really are a tiresome bunch.
Vuyisa 6/17/2009 12:34 PM
This goes to Eugene: my fellow south african, I would have referred it to the (p*** on da emblem)pre 1994 and by the way your name resembles everything that is pre 1994. You should have got the name from your grandfather and I guess you proud of the name....please do not name your son Piet or Dirk.... Luke or John will do , but you know what it's gud that we created this platform for you as well , is it nicer to be a South African after 1994. Having said that my obligation is to change your mindset haven't succeeded with your grandpa but will succeed with you thank you brother.
Tim6/17/2009 12:28 PM
Fikile you must be brain dead. Suprised you even know how to turn the computer on. Suppose you think AIDS was invented by whites too? What a complete moron with no brain cells... By the way look at 'your' continent and the mess its in. Not even Obama is interested in helping your black brothers in Grim, I mean Zim. You are probably one of the savages that burns old people with an iron and rapes babies? How civilised. Oh and don't worry i'm taking my BSc Honours degree and my fiancee her Phd in Science and we going somewhere where people respect life and human beings.
Megabull6/17/2009 12:26 PM
The whole world just looks brighter after reading this! P!$$ 0ff puke!
Peter6/17/2009 12:09 PM
Such a wonderful Christian-he was caught trying to circumvent the license requirements for his motorcycle driving license and despite being caught out, continued to ride his Harley-davidson sans license...He was a trouble maker at the Sharks as well, thats why they were only too happy to see him go....He is not a team player,everything for his own glory...goodbye.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 12:07 PM
"Fikile" u prick! When u are done feeling all sorry for your self and that the world owes u something, please look in the mirror and u will see someone that is no better that those people u are talking so fondly of. grow a pair of balls and stop blaming everyone but your self for your short commings, u racist scum!!!!!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 11:59 AM
Please will someone explain to me the something I do not understand. Cheecky Watson and his little Luke brat screemed and complained and and and about the NO transformation in rugby. So much that Lukie wanted to Pukie about this. But Yesterday Cheeckies francise rugby team played against the B&I Lions with a nearly ALL WHITE TEAM!!!! I do not understand their (Watsons) reasoning at all. He had the perfect opportunity to get a mostly black previously disasvantaged team, on the park but opted to go and fetch De WET Barry etc. And what about the coaching team...Alan Solomons...Robiie Kempston - whities. The Watsons does not care a crab about transformation - tey will play the political game for their own benefit. SO Pukie take your bag and GO GO GO, but please take your Chiwawa of a dad with you......
Viv6/17/2009 11:58 AM
Luke don't go, u have sooo much to offer the country! U speak your mind and that's more than I can say for many sportsman, Andre Maarkgraf used the K-word and he remains protected bu he's fellow Afrikaanse brothers. It's a double standard in this Country, attitudes will take a long time to change, don't give up, look how well WP plays under ure leadership, not saying anything about JDV. Whatever u do Luke, RSA has lost an asset whether most of us care to acknowledge it or not
Anonymous User6/17/2009 11:55 AM
"Johannes Labakaknee" so u dont like Duchman and u also want to puke on the bok jersey? So what makes u better than the racist scum that ran the country in the past? And to all the people that are getting personal on this blog.......Luke did insult a lot of people and he needs to apologise for that, as far as his rugby playing skill is concerned, he is defenately on form. "Johannes Labakaknee" u are a racist pig!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 11:20 AM
I dont like dutchment either luke. And i also want to puke on the springbok jersey. - Johannes Labakaknee.
frans6/17/2009 11:17 AM
luke, jy bly n poes en nou wil jy geloof in die storie gooi. speel jou game en los die groen en goud vir die mense wat geveg het om dit te dra. bath wag vir jou met ope arms. begin pak, jy sal SA rugby n moerse guns doen.
william6/17/2009 11:17 AM
@protea rugby. what an idiot...you talk on this forum just because no-one listens to you at home....go and support your banana banana ....oh yes there is no forum there because like puke noone cares about losers
met uysh!6/17/2009 11:17 AM
@Silver, maybe Luke should grow up and take responsibility for his actions and stop thinking the world is against him because of his father. I was a huge Luke fan (as a province supporter) until his true colors showed. If the guy does not see anything wrong with him being so offended by the Bok emblem whilst he wants to play for the national squad, or see anything wrong with his comments against his team mates, then why should I accept him? He can go overseas and maybe he will come to greater insights, mayeb a good thing that he gets away under his dad's influence.
Tim6/17/2009 11:16 AM
@George. Would love too to say it to his face, he really is not that imposing... Heard that he walks around with two body guards in case someone does.
Fikile6/17/2009 11:15 AM
Go with love my brother, all the best. I am rather sick and tired of all u moaners, Luke haters. SA haters, I am yearning for the day that leave our shores and forget about us (but then I guess we r stuck with u because no self respecting country wants u) maybe u can go to Britain (BNP want u) u whinge about everything including the weather and it’s us that is messing everything up. If u don’t like it just leave, it’s as easy as that. I urge u if u can. JUST LEAVE cause UR NOT WELCOME ANY MORE. Bob please take your scumbags back. Please don't worry it's not your country so can mess it up as much as we want to. South Africa was here long long before u came and will be here long after u’ve gone. You have a very dark and sinister history the 1st white people that arrived your forefathers, they infected the Khoisan people with chickenpox by (on purpose) giving them blankets infected with the disease(no apology required) I can go on and on and on of all the bad and terrible things you did being "civilised". Tell me who is the real criminal as u are still living off the spoils of your forefathers criminal pass. So don't come here with that better than thou attitude. We know history, and history does not judge you well. You r no longer the conqueror but a conquered people so accept that or Leave. AMANDLA VIVA LUKE VIVA VIVA South Africa VIVA.
Ben6/17/2009 11:10 AM
Ja oom Jaap ,oom remind my aan n' oorloper uit die Boere oorlog teen die poms
Vihaan6/17/2009 11:08 AM
Ja Luke, that extreme patriotism, that self confessed love for being South African, seems to have left you now that you won't ever play for the Boks again and are doomed to mediocrity for the rest of your rugby career here. Swopping your supposed love of our country for Brittish pounds does not seem very patriotic to me mate, it seems hypocrytical. But I am not complaining. I just wish you would take cheeky with you and burn your SA passports.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 10:54 AM
Some people will never change , Good luck Luke hope you will be back soon
Vuyisa 6/17/2009 10:54 AM
I think people like Horace is missing the point if we could forgive his forefathers for the ill of the past and want to crusify Luke for a statement that is debatable, then I do not know how to qualify his utterances towards Luke. Further I think Peter de Villiers (springbok coach) is a coward if Schalk is on injury and cannot find a way for Luke because he's afraid of being criticised by people like Horace it is quite a shame.
protea rugby6/17/2009 10:51 AM
Luke go for it and you do not owe anybody any apologies. The springbok jersey is a disgrace and i will wipe my arse with it any day.Believe me that you have more supporters in you're home country then any of those current springboks will ever dream to have.Best of luck
Tim6/17/2009 10:50 AM
Good luck Luke, even after your irresponsible comments you remain a solid player, go make some pounds and to all the haters...GET OVER YOURSELVES!!!
Eugene6/17/2009 10:41 AM
@Vuyisa..! Is that "emblem" you talking about full of p***..?
Anonymous User6/17/2009 10:36 AM
WHY SHOULD LUKE APOLOGISE TO ANYONE??????!!!!! He owe's you nothing!!!!!!!!!!!He was honest in his comment and believed in what he said and you expect him to apologise to you ***HOLES!!!!!!. EFF OFF MAN...and get a life. GO LUKE WATSON.........you a good captain and sportsman, These faggards are jeaous of you. Not worth thinking of them anyway.......they not your league. from you trillions of SA supporters.
Jason6/17/2009 10:31 AM
Sho...There is alot of childish people put there. People like Neville Howard should define hypocrite before we take his comment as credible. Who the hell are you to judge Willie - have another brandy and coke and to all the anonymous users that hate Luke it must take guts to not put your name behind your comments. Clearly Lukes "apparent" comments hit a sore nerve in many " old school" springbok supporters. Good Luck Luke...you deserve way better than this and hope to see you in a Bok jersey soon.
Andrew6/17/2009 10:29 AM
"preconceived notions about who I am" & "Taking a stand for something" Luke my boy, our notions are NOT preconceived, you were doing ok til daddy "forced" Jake to pick you and then your sad "puke" comments, the WP jersey hasn't changed since after '94 yet you value it? are you totally insane? Whats the difference? in my opinion, BOTH jerseys should be puked on in your eyes...why pick on the springbok one?? You have made this bed for yourself and you now need to lie in it, even if it is p*** filled..You mustn't forget Luke, you are a high profile sportsman, you cannot just say what u wish and expect no backlash..just as surely as u made your comments, I am allowed to make mine, call me judgemental but I am just doing as you did, one difference, I am PROUD to be South African..
Marie6/17/2009 10:27 AM
Run P***y Run....!
SPRINGBOK6/17/2009 10:26 AM
You are gorgeous, You are always so right, You are the best No.8 S.A. has ever seen, You are honest, You are such a world class leader - on and off the field. Now you can ask your daddy to take away the mirror. Probably the way both of you get turned on every morning! Antother reason why you should take daddy with you and please also make room for those two fully confessed racicsts - TITO and COLIN! Colin and Tito are intelectually so impaired that they simply cannot comment on anything without turning it into a racial issue.
Oom Jaap6/17/2009 10:23 AM
Luke luister nou vir oom.Ons almal het gesien hoe jy Spies in die grond in gespeel het in jou super 14 game.Geniet Britanje en mag oom jou sien in n' Ingelse trui een van die dae..soos KP ons kyk nie na ons beste spelers.
Louis6/17/2009 10:23 AM
Just reading the comments once again reinforces the fact that we live in a racist country where no one group is without fault. How sad! Luke, what you said was stupid and regretable. I can assure you that there is not one person out there who has not put his foot in it at least one time in his life and regretted what he said. My advice - apologise and move on. You are a good rugby player and Bath will gain what we lose. Congrats on your coming marriage, be blessed. To those who condem you read Matthew 7:1.
William Wilson6/17/2009 10:17 AM
Luke Watson factually, said the following - SA rugby is rotten to the core - SA rugby is controlled by dutchmen - that he would like to vomit on the rugby national jersey. If you cannot take the heat, stay out of the kitchen How stupid do you want to be? So many idiotic comments are condoning he`s pathetic statements. Let HIM apologize, or go. Good riddance Puke.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 10:16 AM
Russel if its a genuine concern perhaps you should ask him face to face what his comments were before you judge him like the rest of the worldly individuals here. Its a bit hypocritical to assume that he needs to request anyones forgiveness and apologise without knowing what he actually said and meant, given that he has been so misquoted in the past. The spin doctors have loved selling more papers, so dont be naive and hop on the train with the rest of those whose opinions matter little.
H6/17/2009 10:07 AM
Man, the only thing more satisfying than seeing this apple-cheeked mommy's boy leave our shores is reading the heart-sore comments from his 20 or so supporters! As the old saying goes: Cry me a river d**k-face! Oh, and George, I would.
Brett6/17/2009 10:06 AM
Seems Pukie has been busy on this comment board singing his own praises all the ANONO users must be him and Daddy trying to make it all right, George Please arrange a meeting with Twatson so i can tell him to his face that all he is, is a groot P*&S
Vuyisa 6/17/2009 10:04 AM
Luke u represent a principle and an emblem , goodluck chief you worth a pound. Further you do not owe anyone any apology. Go have fun and show the world why sensible South Africans love you. You go boy!!!!
Vuyisa 6/17/2009 10:03 AM
Luke u represent a principle and an emblem , goodluck chief you worth a pound. Further you do not owe anyone any apology. Go have fun and show the world why sensible South Africans love you. You go boy!!!!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 9:56 AM
Come on people. If GOD can forgive, who are we to judge. I believe we must give this man a fair chance, no matter what he said and did in the past. To all you afrikaans speaking people out there, being called a dutchman is not so bad. Just accept it and be proud of who you are. Us english speaking South Africans have been called souties, etc. and we must accept it. If the Lord Jesus Christ could accept ridicule and insults who are we to carry on like babies about 1 incident, which seems to have been taken totally out of context. Good Luck Luke and God bless.
Big R6/17/2009 9:55 AM
JAMES: Who the F$%* cares!
Bulls fan6/17/2009 9:52 AM
Forgive Luke? Ha ha ha. As far as I know forgiving is not a given. You have to ask for forgiveness or earn it. Unfortunately P*** face you still have not asked for it or earned it, so I will NOT forgive you. Go kots in Bath !!!
Willie6/17/2009 9:48 AM
YAY!!!!! This is good news!!!
James6/17/2009 9:47 AM
Some of these comments are so ludicrous and stupid. A man stand upto top what he believes. You bovine animals who sit and burp beer in front of the tv every saturday afternoon, is the most you have achieved in life (people like Richard), and believe that is all that exists in the world. You are disgusting. Luke will be missed in SA and the reason he is going is that he does not have to deal with this type of mentalilty.
Big R6/17/2009 9:45 AM
GREAT! P*** IS LEAVING!!!! AWESOME!!! Now let the dutchmen get on playing some rugby with their black african brothers!!
Russell McLaren6/17/2009 9:36 AM
Just show some chrisitan humility and apologise for your devisive comments Luke. Then all will be forgiven and we can move on and support you as a rugby player. Just put that silly pride in your pocket, remember God resists the proud and gives grace to the humble. God bless and I am praying that you swollow your pride and come back a better person soon!
boet6/17/2009 9:34 AM
you may leave now
Anonymous User6/17/2009 9:27 AM
All of you people that are against him are just cowards...If they had to change the badge of the jersey to something other than a springbok then you would also complain but luke had the guts to say something now because he has said, you people who are cowards are turning against him just to make yourself feel better but you know you wouldn't like the change. In my opinion 'The Springboks' is a legacy i would hate to have called them the Proteas they not a cricket team.
No Luke Fan6/17/2009 9:23 AM
And again we lose another good player to the mighty pound. Sad.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 9:19 AM
Cheers Luke & good luck! I think you are going to make a big impact for Bath. Your skills are going to be sorely missed in next years S14. Make some good money and get away from these racist bigots for a few years. It will do you the world of good.
Sparty6/17/2009 9:15 AM
Gee whizz , some of the comments here are just pathetic !! Good luck LUKE , you did us proud , dont listen to the haters who hold a Symbol/Jersey higher than basic moralls !! Sacred Jersey my ass , I have been a bok supporter my whole life having missed the majority of sanctions and apartheid but the Bok jersey is anything but sacred , as a matter of fact prior 95 the jersey represented hatred and aqartheid. Many of my family and family friends were bluntly told they will NEVER be good enough to wear that Jersey simply beocs of the color of their skin ! And now they should embrace the Bok ? Please Eff off u haters. Hide behind his daddy u all say ? Haa haa , if taht was true why is he leaving for Bath and not playing for the Kings ? Jealous louts u all are.
horace6/17/2009 9:14 AM
GEORGE give me have a chance & i will say it to his face, he's a coward for not being able to apologise.
Peter6/17/2009 9:02 AM
Good luck. I think you made a mistake. I have no doubt that those who are so nasty have also made mistakes and expected to be forgiven, even though they are unwilling to grant you that. Their opinions are worthless.
Luke's Fan6/17/2009 9:00 AM
Congrats Luke... Go and enjoy your rugby again. This racist rugby nation will never change. They know you are right & the best fetcher in the country. GO LUKE!!!
Johan6/17/2009 8:57 AM
Too bad his daddy bought him a place in the Springbok team all those years ago. Maybe P could have stayed in England and perhaps tried to play for their national team. Now he's not permitted and he'll never play for the Boks again. Sorry né.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 8:54 AM
U go look, to hell with all in SA fans and SARU, u will make it big in Bath.
Tito6/17/2009 8:39 AM
Luke you are a leader par excellence!!! The fact that a minority does not like what you stand for and believe in has not changed you. God bless my brother and may you be a blessing to the english as you were to us blacks who had lost all trust in white rugby fraternity of SA.Enjoy the break form SA Rugby and remember "all things work for the good to those who trust the Lord".YOU WILL BE MISSED!!!
Craig6/17/2009 8:36 AM
About time, he should have left long ago, lets see how long it takes him to become embroiled in another negative situation, should`nt take long. Bath will not want to renew this contract.
Willie6/17/2009 8:33 AM
Luke talks a lot about the "Lord's will" . Would his unsavory remarks about others, when he thinks he is not on record, also be in accordance with what he regards as the "Lord's will"?
Anonymous User6/17/2009 8:29 AM
Bye-bye and don't bother coming back.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 8:27 AM
SA rugby is better off without a total 24 carat doos like you Puke, when I see you on the field I just hope someone takes your infantile little head off your shoulders, you are really not a rugby players arse but you have Daddy looking after you, together with your radical left wing political views you WILL get booed at bath and you will never be forgotten as the arsehole of SA rugby, the quicker you get over there the better for SA.
colin6/17/2009 8:24 AM
The guy is 25 years old and still have allot of rugby in him and I am sure he will play himself back in contention for the Bok team no matter how hard certain people works to keep him out of the team – Good Luck Luke I will follow you closely and I know you will an asset to Bath rugby.
Hilton6/17/2009 8:22 AM
Perectly..said "Met uysh"...Springbok Rugby need men. Not little boys that hide their daddies history. Unfortunatly, you will never ever be forgiven for what you said about that sacred jersy. Politics "Bought you a Springbok Cap" both you and daddy know that. Enjoy your stay with Bath...and oh secondly... forget about ever winning the Curry Cup with Privince..
Kosie6/17/2009 8:21 AM
You will always be D##S! And that goes for your useless daddy and your supporters too!
Len6/17/2009 8:21 AM
I just hope he refrains from p***** on Baths jersey. Good riddance
Anonymous User6/17/2009 8:06 AM
Wish u luck as we wave u good bye! Goed jy besef jy's nie welkom nie.
horace6/17/2009 8:05 AM
Do not pretend to be a christian
HORACE6/17/2009 8:03 AM
You will forever be remembered for your remarks & do not think that English rugby fans do not know about it. You are a disgrace!!!
Mike6/17/2009 8:03 AM
Ja Puke, next time think who pays your salary before biting the hand that feeds you. We will not miss you.
Mike6/17/2009 8:03 AM
Ja Puke, next time think who pays your salary before biting the hand that feeds you. We will not miss you.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 7:59 AM
I can't believe someone will actually marry the t***! I bet his best friend in the UK will be KP - they are both big-headed and arrogant and speak before they think.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 7:56 AM
Getting married?? Who in her right mind?? Some desperate people out there!
Clint6/17/2009 7:40 AM
With 600'000 and more South Africans in the UK do you really think you can get away with pretending you are on a clean slate! I don't think so!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 7:36 AM
The best move you can make. Loose lips sink ships Luke. Take a lesson from your past actions.
dumkofp6/17/2009 7:29 AM
thanks for leaving and please take your old man with you. stop using the name of the lord as some kind of a shield. you have shown everybody who and what you are. hopefully you will be happy in england and stay there..........
Anonymous User6/17/2009 7:27 AM
Luke you will be greatly missed in WP & I'm one of your biggest fans. You are a great leader & you got all the necessary tools to bring the Cup Home. Dont mind the haters because there's a lot of them trying to be like you do or do what you can do but unable to do so. I also see that you are a great religious person & that's a good thing. Always put GOD first in whatever you do. Finally Let me say Good Luck to you & Elaine on your upcoming wedding & the best of luck with you to further your carreer at Bath.
Anonymous User6/17/2009 7:24 AM
Tradition that goes with the jersey. Hmmm, so no p***** on the disa, then?
Anonymous User6/17/2009 7:22 AM
Getting married?? Shame poor woman
Anonymous User6/17/2009 7:12 AM
why luke is it so difficult to appologise first for your dutchmen comments and secondly for wanting to puke on one of the worlds most respected emblems in rugby. If you want people to forgive you at least make an effort to appologise. Nobody disputes that you are a good player but show the same courage and appologise to those that you have offended. good luck with bath.
Kosie6/17/2009 7:05 AM
Moenie dat groet jou ophou nie... Dit sal glad nie `n verlies wees om jou nie meer te sien speel hier op nuweland nie... Gaan bath, hoop dit was al die kots van jou af!! Go stormers!!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 6:42 AM
Sorry lukie, your time is up. Go
Gavin6/17/2009 6:41 AM
This Guy has brought the pressure on himself, can somebody tell me what the difference is between the province streep truie and the Springbok jersey, they were both racist jerseys surely he should have felt the same thing about the province jersey, that he felt about the Springbok jersey, yet he values the tradition, how can he value a racist tradition. He is a contradiction and I hope he finds peace in the UK, because he will never find it here!!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 6:31 AM
For about half a day, then his natural character will kick in and he'll be on his way creating baggage at Bath for himself. Good luck Bath!!
TC6/17/2009 6:30 AM
Luke has been a devisive force. It is the right decision for him to leave. Regrettably he will be remembered for his 'puke' statement and for the 'dutchmen' statement. If these statements reflect his "standing for something", then we have to say "go well Luke, go take a stand somewhere else."
Cliff Bradley6/17/2009 6:25 AM
I Was Also Disappointed At What You Said, But A Person Should Stand Up For Your Beliefs,You Have Played Your Critics ( Except Those Idiots From North Of The JUKSKEI) Still. All The Best
Neville howard6/17/2009 6:16 AM
hypocrite
Hein6/17/2009 6:12 AM
Who are you guys not to forgive & forget? Luke obviously received forgiveness from The Lord God - so come on give the guy a break. Quick to pick up the stones to throw at Luke, how are your own lives? Flawless? Good luck & God bless on your "new" career.
Jim Jones6/17/2009 2:19 AM
Nothing is gonna change while you gone P*** Watson ... Maybe your Lord will forgive you, but the South African rugby fans sure aint!!
ouklip6/17/2009 2:14 AM
Rest assured he will meet some dutchmen in the UK.
jrs6/17/2009 1:18 AM
Luke didn't make any bed, he just said what he believed. In this country of course, its a crime for a white person to utter anything that goes against the majority laager mentality. Luke has nothing to "make right" - he simply has a different opinion to most. The day the average white south african realises and accepts that people can have alternative opinions, is the day we start coming right. I for one sincerely hope his words never fade away.. Good luck Luke!
jenny6/17/2009 12:27 AM
bye bye Luke the P***, we South Africans who are proud of wearing the SPRINGBOK jersey will definitely not miss you, no never ever!!! Good Luck to your wife, she might have to put up with all your puking, just hope you will puke on you new jersey!
Anonymous User6/17/2009 12:11 AM
please stay in Bath for a long time Luke. We'll be fine without you....
Silver6/17/2009 12:10 AM
bakkies en met uysh. Hoe oud is julle ? Julle sal eendag groot raak ouens. Dis tyd om daai nat panties van julle uit te trek en n droe skoon onnie vir mans aan te trek. Dis ou nuus , kom oor dit.
nic6/17/2009 12:05 AM
good riddance you idiot. please stay there....
Time to wakeup6/16/2009 11:54 PM
Good luck Luke, sorry for the behavior of so many idiots who can’t read and understand contents of words, most probably because most of them are failure in life and sit Sundays all in church and still think they have the right to judge. Unfortunate Western Province created a loosing culture and it will stay with them the next few years and loose one of their few positive players. Maybe most of this WP/anti Luke supporters must start learning what rugby is all about. Good LUCK LUKE.
Jamie6/16/2009 11:51 PM
Luke, if you were "God's" child like you say you are by following him so much then man up and opologise to the SA nation about your silly comments. thats all what people want is an opollogy!! Show us your real guts and you wil see SA back you 100%. jamie
Anonymous User6/16/2009 11:37 PM
I guess then that we should thank the Lord that he is going!
George6/16/2009 11:32 PM
I wonder if any of you guys will have the guts to give all these comments while facing Luke one on one....?
Anonymous User6/16/2009 10:54 PM
So, now we have "preconceived ideas" about Luke Watson. The only ideas we have about you, is that you are way to big for your shoes and ride happily on Daddy's "struggle credentials", whatever that means. Just because desperate Province fans accepted you back in the fold in the hope of winning something - anything, even just one game! - does not mean that most clear thinking people now believe you are the clean kid your portray yourself to be. Go to Bath, play rugby there, and then pretty please, STAY THERE!!
Anonymous User6/16/2009 10:48 PM
Luke, nevermind what anyone says. God forgives everyone of us. Best of luck for the future. Keep God first
met uysh!6/16/2009 10:24 PM
nothing preconceived luke. you made your bed, sleep in it. don't think your words will fade away and all will be forgotten when you return. make right first and then the public will forgive you.
Lefty6/16/2009 10:21 PM
Good luck Luke. Mag die WP indunas ook besef dat dit nou die tyd is om 'n ander kaptein aan te wys omdat Watson op pad uit is. Tiaan Liebenberg en Peter Grant is manne wat van voor af lei en die ding kan doen.
bakkies6/16/2009 10:14 PM
jy het daai bed opgemaak, so jy moet op hom slaap ou mater. the "preconceived notions" is of you own making.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If current Springbok coach Peter de Villiers were to be fired, who would you like to see take over?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide